We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a beautiful hotel, good experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Davenport Hotel & Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Davenport Hotel & Tower to your Saves list
The Davenport Hotel & Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overall, a beautiful hotel, good experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I was at the Davenport 2 nights for work. Since I didn't pay for it, I can't rate the value. I ate at both the Palm Court and the Safari Room. The Palm Court is much better. I really wish I could have been in the original, older hotel, but my room was in the Tower, the newer portion. The room is nice, very clean and comfortable. A huge shower, and nice amenities. I am also pleased with the FREE wi-fi! So annoying to go somewhere and have to pay, as a guest for wi-fi.
I did have a less than great experience with my breakfast I ordered, where my order got lost and so I had to re-order it and it was late. Also, it wasn't the best... but everything else here has been great.
If I was getting married, the ballrooms in the older hotel are just amazing...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    241
    77
    29
    24
See reviews for
239
461
66
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

We have used this property a number of times on our tours, and it is always a wonderful stay. Our clients always LOVE it! The WOW! factor is off the chart! The restoration of this hotel is exceptional and it exudes the feel of a very elegant time and place in the history of Spokane. The service, rooms, food and staff are all excellent. You feel spoiled by them. The hotel's group reservations office is very friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. The on-site restaurants, as well as their nearby properties provide excellent food. It is convenient for downtown shopping and touring and not a far drive to Spokane's amazing old neighborhoods and city gardens. I recommend this property to both groups and individuals. It is a special place.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

My excitement to stay at The Davenport was quickly dashed to disgust! A dirty rag in the shower left unremoved for 2 days. To make up for it - a small adjustment to a dinner bill BUT the manager couldn't be found to adjust teh bill. So many levels of disappointment left unresolved! Nobody cared.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Daveport Hotel and Tower in early October, 2010, but only for 1 night. Actually, we stayed in the Tower. The African motif was beautifully done and we enjoyed trying out all of the unusual chairs in the lobby! The staff were exceptionally attentive. The beds....oh, the beds were INCREDIBLE!!! This hotel has every right to brag about its wonderful beds and linens.

There is a lovely lounge in the Tower, but do walk across the street to the elegant Davenport Hotel. It's like stepping back in time: back to another century. A grand, grand hotel.

Wish we could have spent more time here !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Excellent Hotel, make sure you got money though, everything cost from coffee to shuttle service from the airport. Service is excellent staff is great, and the rooms are beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

This is a wonderful hotel. The room we stayed in (Tower) was very nice, the bed was comfortable and it was quiet. The hotel staff is very helpful - all of them, valets, reception, housekeeping. We had orginally planned to stay one night, but we stayed two because the experience was exceptional. We ate in the main restaurant, initially because we received a dining credit with our rate, and had excellent meals. The prime rib was fantastic. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed it. It left us looking for excuses to visit Spokane just so we could go to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I would definitely stay in the old Davenport. Didn't see the towers, but the old part is wonderful. The room could have used a comfy chair -- other than that, it was grand. Heavy wooden doors, terrific bedding and a staff that is attentive to your needs. The room service is way above par. The hotel is supposedly haunted, but we missed the ghosts -- alas. A great place for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Davenport Hotel & Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Davenport Hotel & Tower

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Davenport Hotel & Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Davenport Hotel & Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Davenport Hotel & Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.