We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Davenport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Davenport Hotel to your Saves list
The Historic Davenport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed one night in the Tower (Deluxe Queen), and two nights in the main hotel (Queen and Deluxe Queen). The hotel is historical and beautiful. The staff is more than accomodating and extremely pleasant. We scheduled the car to pick us up at the airport and the driver came into the airport to help us with luggage. He was also very knowledgable about the area and the hotel. He started our experience on the right foot. There is not a coffee pot in the room, but there was a Starbucks in the lobby. We prefered the room in the tower and the deluxe queen room in the main hotel to the main hotel regular queen room because the dressing area was separate from the shower and toliet. The pool is a typical indoor pool, but we enjoyed the mezzanine deck. Make sure you watch the history of the hotel video on the television and then take a walking tour.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    255
    82
    31
    26
See reviews for
257
480
70
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

I almost didn't choose this hotel because of a few really bad reviews. Then I noticed that most of those reviews recommended one other hotel just down the block. I figured the reviews were plants and I think I was right. I think Tripadvisor must have discovered the same thing because most of those reviews have been removed.

We had two rooms in the original section of the hotel. Large, elegant and comfortable. The staff actually made me something special for room service that was not even on the menu. That's service! All the staff were very friendly.

I look forward to my next overnight visit to Spokane so that I can stay at the Davenport again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Beautifully retored hotel with very nice staff. Rooms are very well-appointed and were very reasonably priced with my corporate discount. The other things like the food, etc. were very pricy, however. Great location, but the parking is a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed at the Davenport Hotel in Spokane for one night. This was our third stay and third different room. This time we stayed in the Davenport's Standard King room in the main hotel. This hotel continues to be an enjoyable place to return to time and again. We ate at the Safari Room, which is across the street in the tower building. It was very good and we had the whole restaurant to ourselves.

We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Spokane and will continue to return to the Davenport.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

My sister's wedding reception was at the Davenport and we checked in at 4:30 pm. When I went upstairs at 6:30 our bags were gone. My babysitter and two very tired children sat in the room while we searched to replace diapers, pacifiers and pj's so they could finally sleep after a very long day. After missing an hour and a half of the reception we found that housekeeping thought the bags were from a previous guest and they were returned to us. We were back at the party by 8:00 but the $60 they credited us didn't make up for lost memories with family and friends. I was VERY disappointed. Make a big mess in your room upon check-in and maybe housekeeping won't take your stuff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

This was our third trip to the Davenport and still feel it is a great place. We stayed in the tower last time and it just wasn't the same so we came back to the original hotel this time. The service was excellent. It was a busy weekend but we still had prompt, cheerful service from the bell staff, valets, front desk staff...everyone. The mochas from the espresso place in the lobby were excellent. We ate at the Palm Court for dinner our last night and the service and food were very good. The room was exceptionally clean and the bed as comfortable as we remembered. After watching the hotel documentary we asked to see the Circus Room and the bellman took us right up. Take a few minutes to see it if you get a chance. The evening turn down service is a nice touch. A note about the location - the transit station is kitty-corner from the Davenport and there are some sketchy people hanging around. It is not the Davenport's fault but beware if you have a family and want to walk to the mall or out to dinner. The language can be pretty harsh. By the way we visited three malls over the weekend and the one downtown is the best because it has a nice combination of big name and local stores. The Davenport isn't cheap but it is luxurious. Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

What a goregous hotel and so rich with history. We stayed in a king penthouse with a view and the room was incredible! We ate across the hotel in the tower at the Safari Room which was very good. The service at this hotel is wonderful. and gracious. My only complaint is paying for parking when we're paying top dollar per night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport Hotel

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Family Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Historic Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Davenport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.