We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome on the big things, weaker on the small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Davenport Hotel & Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Davenport Hotel & Tower to your Saves list
The Davenport Hotel & Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome on the big things, weaker on the small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Davenport for one night on a business trip. Check in went smoothly. I was given a nice corner room along with a breakfast voucher. I requested an AM newspaper delivery to my room. The next morning, no newspaper. I inquired at the front desk and was informed the newspaper would be $3. This was inconvenient and petty. The breakfast voucher was for one menu option only. They wouldn't substitute a less expensive option. The conversation with the server made me feel petty. It would have been so much better to give the newspaper for free and have me buy my breakfast in the normal manner.

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings. The romantic rooms are in the OLD building.
See more room tips
Green Features: It appeared that they were environmentally conscious.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    241
    77
    29
    23
See reviews for
238
460
66
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent one night in the Davenport Tower before travelling back to Missoula. Our room was beautifully furnished in a Safari style and all the facilities were excellent. As we were eating out with friends we didn't try the restaurant save for a quick coffee and a sandwich in the morning. Reception was very efficient and the staff were always helpful. We would have liked to have stayed longer had we had the time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I were in Spokane recently and stayed at the Davenport. We were originally booked at another hotel, but a friend suggested the Davenport. Loved it! If you are into old, grand hotels, you need to stay here. The hotel was opened in 1914. It closed in 1985, and was closed for 15 years. At that point it was gutted and rebuilt to look like it originally did, but with modern amenities. Throughout the hotel, there are pictures of parties and dinners from the early 1900s, and the cool part is you can then see all the ball rooms that were restored to look just like the old pictures. Pricing was very competitive, we spent $149 a night, but there are additional parking fees, taxes etc. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Probably the first time I can say that the hotel was the highlight of my trip out of town! If you are thinking about staying in Spokane, Google the Davenport (But stay in the old original building, not the new towers.)

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love The Davenport! Have stayed on numerous occaisions and have always felt like royalty. Some how that seems to have changed. When one pays for luxury one expects a certain level of cleanliness. Finding hair in the soaking tub and a dirty used washcloth in the closet does not make me feel like I'm staying in a luxury hotel. I can get that at the HoJo for less than half the price. The staff while polite was not what it used to be. I am disappointed in my stay and booked my next stay in Spokane at another hotel.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Front Office Manager at The Davenport Hotel & Tower, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our guestrooms and the experience you described is not typical of the hotel. I hope that you were able to alert us when you checked in so that we could address your concerns or offer a new room.

Best Regards ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As Spokane locals with gift cards to the Davenport, hubby and I decided to enjoy the holiday season and christmas sparkle downtown at the Davenport Tower. Have stayed in both the main Davenport Hotel and the Tower. If you are trying to decide between the two, the Main hotel is more antique with vintage elegance and the Tower is more modern/contemporary with a safari theme. Both are excellent. They are across the street from each other so easy access to both the valet and self-parking garage. The parking garage and two hotel buildings are in a triangle each at one of the corners of Post and 1st Ave. Personally, we tend to choose the tower based on personal preference for the modern vs. antique. Things worth noting if you are looking to stay at either:
--Valet and self parking available. The self parking garage for both buildings is across the street and not connected to either hotel, so you do need to go out in the elements to cross the street to reach your hotel. Fee for self parking is $15. Each hotel building has its own valet parking entrance and fee for valet is $20. For the $5 dollar difference and some tips, we choose the valet for quick entry into the building.
--as others have noted, we recommend in both hotels to ask for rooms on higher floors for city views and less lobby noise and north facing because of train tracks. The elevators in the main Davenport seem noisier than in the Tower so also request a room not near the elevators there. The Tower has more floors therefore better city views higher up.
--shopping, eating, Riverpark Square mall, movie theater, etc all close and in walking distance (3 blocks north to the mall)
--Showers in both hotels are big and spacious and come with L'Occitane shower gels, lotion and shampoos. Smells wonderful and not too feminine for the guys. NOTE - if you want a tub, no tubs available, only showers. If I remember correctly Davenport showers are the larger of the two with glass and tile walls.
--rooms do not have a refrigerator, microwave or coffee maker. According to their website, these are available for an additional fee. If you have a family member with food allergies and need to bring your own food, I would recommend making arrangements for these items to be in your room.
--that being said, we had breakfast room service at the Tower and it was very impressive. Cost was about $12.50 for a large denver omelet, hash browns, and english muffin and water. 18% gratuity and $3 service charge added. A bowl of raisin bran will run you $6 so choose wisely. We ate dinner at a favorite downtown restaurant so can't speak to the Davenport restaurants, but there are several to choose from. I recommend deciding based on reviews here on trip advisor or Yelp.
--If you are a history buff, no matter which building you stay in, definitely check out the ballrooms in the main hotel and the historical photographs in the hallways. There is a lot of history to explore in the main hotel. Tourists who are travelling through spokane should stop for a "mini museum" experience at the Davenport. You won't find the history at the Tower, but a quick hop across the street gets you there.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The checkin was fast and friendly. The room was clean and nice. The hotel property is one of the nicer hotels that I have stayed in. The restaurant had a decent menu, and the food and drinks were good. I would have expected a bit higher food quality from such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The artwork in the hotel (a lot of stained glass) is eye-catching an warm. The rooms are comfortable and new. The price is reasonable. The staff is overall very helpful. The food from room service was good but not spectacular. I do have trouble with hotels that don't offer in room coffee makers.

Room Tip: Look for a corner room. Extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Davenport Hotel & Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Davenport Hotel & Tower

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Davenport Hotel & Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Davenport Hotel & Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Davenport Hotel & Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.