We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Spokane” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Davenport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Davenport Hotel to your Saves list
The Historic Davenport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best in Spokane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came to Spokane on the front end of a week in Washington focusing on photographing the Palouse. We booked a night at the Davenport and found it to be ideal. Our experience began with a courtesy pick up at the airport in the hotel's Town Car. The short ride was made interesting thanks to our driver who happily shared some info about the area.
Check in was a breeze at the Tower, which is the more modern of the Dav's properties. The whole place has an African Safari theme...done very tastefully. The location is ideal. A short walk to plenty of shops, restaurants and the Riverfront Park, which is a must-see. Our room was clean, spacious and well appointed. For the rate we paid it was an incredible value. Our king had a large shower (no tub).
We needed lunch and the front desk staff gave us a super recommendation for "Fire" the nearby pizza bistro I'll review separately. The bed is to die for (it is the Davenport after all!) The following morning we dined in the Safari Room and had a delightful breakfast. Our waitress (Gale I think) even brought over a sample of their sausage gravy to assist my decision.
The Hotel Davenport will be our choice for any future trips to Eastern Washington. If you stay in the tower, DO cross the street and at least walk through the historic older building. Magnificent!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    255
    82
    31
    26
See reviews for
257
480
70
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tierra Verde, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I visited Spokane and our friends suggested we stay at the Davenport. They knew we had an appreciation for fine, old hotels but thought we'd enjoy the amenities of the new Tower. The restored old Davenport was beautiful and walking through the lobby was like a trip back in time. However, we were very pleased to have chosen the new Tower because of the spacious rooms and shower and the modern conveniences. The bed was very comfortable, in fact, so comfortable that our friends reported that they have ordered the entire set for their new home, currently under construction. The activity in the lobby bar and Starbucks coffee shop was really hopping, opened early and closed late. Spokane is a very walkable town and the Davenport is the perfect place to stay. The only negative - a minor one - occurred upon bag delivered. I asked the bellman if there was ice and instead of offering to get it, he said I'd find it down the hall. A minor issue, but not the mark of a well trained service staff.

Green Features: Very impressive efforts to be a "green" hotel, including the shampoo, soap, and conditioner dispensers that eliminate the need for individual plastic bottles.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a beautifully restored hotel! Treat yourself to a beautiful room in the original building. The Tower was added after the extensive restoration of the Davenport as it was in it's day of glory in the 20's & 30's. Dinner served in the beautiful lobby is a treat to be able to take in the original decor. Rooms are elegant with granite bathrooms, specially designed beds, a selection of soft pillows. Staff is warm & friendly. The hotel is located in the center of downtown with easy access to theaters and shopping. Many people in Spokane drop in for weekend 'get aways'. We love this hotel!

Room Tip: Stay in the original building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Whenever we are in Spokane this is where we stay, in the historic section of this hotel (not the tower or the new Luzzo place).
It is worth every penny. They make you feel like royalty. It's one of those early 1900's "Railroad Hotels" and I would characterize it as being in the same class as The Empress Hotel in Victoria, BC, Canada, or better.

Room Tip: Rooms with one bed only have one monogrammed terry bathrobe, so if two stay there you'll need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a beautiful hotel with very friendly, yet not intrusive, staff. Do watch out for 2 for 1 happy hour in the late afternoon...wickedly strong margaritas! And the beds are incredibly comfortable. Great stop en route to Montana from Seattle.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are larger with an interesting African theme. But the historic hotel building is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville,Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. It is very historic and has been updated. The room was large, the bed very comfortable. The shower was a very large walk in. The check-in/check-out process was fast and easy. We enjoyed staying here and were able to walk to the park area. We would stay here again. We thought the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My son and I recently went to Spokane for a celebration weekend. We had paid for another hotel but when it turned out to be unacceptable we left and booked the Davenport, which was our first choice anyway. The desk staff were most pleasant, we stayed in the newer tower building. Our room was beautiful, the 19th floor overlooking the city. The beds and pillows could not have been more comfortable. I will always splurge when I visit Spokane and stay here!

Room Tip: I liked the new tower building, all the rooms are large and well designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport Hotel

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Family Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Historic Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Davenport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.