We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at the Towers addition to this fine hotel and was very pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Davenport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Davenport Hotel to your Saves list
The Historic Davenport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“First time at the Towers addition to this fine hotel and was very pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Business trip to Spokane and our group stayed at the Davenport. I've been many times over years but this was first time I stayed in the Towers addition and it was great. The rooms are large, modern and the bed very comfortable. On check in was offered upgrade to suite for $50 per night more. I declined and glad I did as the standard rooms are very nice. The staff at the hotel cold not have been better. They really are super. This is great location. While I worked my wife shopped. Large downtown shopping center is three easy block away and the Riverfront Park was getting ready for Hoopfest - all decorated and looking great. Had one dinner and breakfast daily at their restaurant and food was great and prices good too. All in all this is great hotel. I love the "old" Davenport but this new addition, right across the street, is excellent. Definitely will go there again. Even got government rate. Tip- ask for quiet corner room as high up as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet corner room and as high up as possible. All the rooms are great but better views up h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    255
    82
    31
    26
See reviews for
257
480
70
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed in the Tower to get a more modern room. Very nice room, not exactly modern decor, more of a safari theme. Still, was very nice and I'd go back for sure. Incredible staff, extremely polite and able to give excellent customer service. Swanky lobby, great restaurant. We happened to go on a very busy weekend and got a room next to the elevators, which were a bit noisy. Next time I'd request a room far from the elevator area. We also got a wheelchair accessible room, so maybe bathroom was not quite as nice, with the hand bars and so on. But all marble, so was still lovely. Huge room with king bed, loved the chaise lounge area, excellent sheets and towels, all spotlessly clean. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. Some room have connecting doors and some are wheelchair acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We live here in Spokane and stay at the Davenport at least a few times a year! Just after Thanksgiving the hotel is ALL DECKED OUT, no detail left behind! Snowy afternoons are best for hot chocolate and people watching in the lobby by the fire =)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Beautiful rooms and wonderful service. We recently stayed here on our recent cross country trip from Seattle to Boston. They have 2 properties; the old hotel and the new tower. Both are great but the old hotel has a wonderful atmosphere. The bathrooms are fantastic and enormous. Their service desk and room services are super fast. If I have plans to be in this area again I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After our previous two disappointing nights in Polson the Davenport was a delight. Everything about the hotel is top class, staff, rooms and the restaurant. The only criticism is that there is no coffee/tea making facility in the room. I had to get dressed and go downstairs for an early morning cup of tea to take back to the room for my wife and I; being from England we need our morning tea. A small quibble compared with all the pluses of the hotel; we wonder how it survives in what appears to be not the most prosperous town in Washington state.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deurne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very nice hotel, in the middle of the city centre. The hotel is suffused with a nineteenth century atmosphere. Room was excellent. Great to stay in such a authentic place in a city that is really cheerful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights one week apart at The Davenport Hotel in Spokane. The hotel is old and historic and beautiful. The first night we stayed on the 4th floor and thought the room was wonderful. The second night, one week later, we stayed in a 14th floor room that was better, that was huge and had a fireplace too. With the 2013 Break Away and Stay rate we also received free valet parking and a $75.00 dining credit. The restaurant is wonderful and has a great selection. But if you don't want to eat in the hotel, there are many fine restaurants within 2 blocks. Don't miss the photos and memorabilia on the mezzanine level that overlooks the lobby area, it is a rich history lesson about the local area. The Peacock bar is also a great meeting place and very lively. The hotel is only 8 miles away from the Spokane International Airport. They also own the Davenport Tower hotel across the street and another hotel across the other street.

Room Tip: Most any room will be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport Hotel

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Family Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Historic Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Davenport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.