We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Davenport Hotel & Tower

Save Saved
You added The Davenport Hotel & Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Davenport Hotel & Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family and I booked a room at the tower for three nights in late December. On the third night we had decided to stay at the old hotel. The tower has a very small lobby so there's little to explore. But it was nice and clean. The service was good but not excellent. Front desk was very friendly. The vallet staff on the other hand was not as friendly as I would have expected. The room was also nice and clean and the beds were very comfy. I didn't care for their custom furniture counter/dresser and mirrored headboard. Looked tacky to me but over all I still think its aesthetically pleasing. The toiletries were wonderful. Shampoo and conditioner were a higher end product that made my very long hair feel so clean and soft. Even my 11 year old son noticed how good the shampoo was. The old hotel was elegant. Had a lot of information displayed around the hotel on its history and how it was brought back to life. I thought it was very interesting. Beautiful room and furnishings and the bathroom was also grand. The only thing is that I felt a bit creeped out in there. Maybe the old victorian style or just cause I knew that it was an old hotel. Both tower and hotel were quiet in the rooms and the pool was enjoyed by our kids. As far as location, it's walking distance to the mall so thats a plus for the ladies. It's downtown so surrounding streets seemed sketchy. Overall, I enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    783
    215
    71
    28
    21
See reviews for
219
416
62
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed for a month on business in one of their "standard" rooms that was above and beyond other hotel's superior rooms. Everything you need and things you did not know you wanted are provided in the midst of historic luxury. A real gem in this city I always thought of as a college town. The staff is friendly, helpful and professional. I felt "at home" and treated well. I had most of my in house meals at the bar or by room service and all were excellent. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We originally booked at the tower not knowing the difference, but we got into the historic hotel with no problem.

Our rooms were beautiful, and the beds were very clean and comfortable.

We enjoyed looking over the artwork and decor, and especially enjoyed our visit with John, the beefeater. He has been there through the history of the hotel, and is a wealth of information.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelan, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

There are two components of the name Davenport Hotel in Spokane, one the towers and the other one the original edifice. I stayed on the towers.

I had send a special request of additional pillows when I booked thru their website.

Arriving to the hotel , I avail of their valet parking service. Greeting and formal recognition of a guest is very important in valet service which I found on this case I found it lacking and gives me a "meh" first impression on the hotel.

Check in was fast and efficient. There was a significant activity on the lobby on that day and where the restaurant was also located. In spite of this, everything was in order and the chaos manageable. However, it is not a big lobby and if one wants a larger area to lounge around, I would suggest book a room in the Original Davenport building where the public area seemed to be more spacious and had a historical feel to it. There is a limited number of elevator so it could take awhile to get everybody to their destination especially on the days like that where the hotel is busy.

The safari themed permeates the whole hotel and into the room I stayed. Personally , it just not my cup of tea but I just had to state that I had stayed on safari themed accommodations before , this could had been executed better. However , the decor is consistent and other guests might appreciate it. If one felt the disconnection between the decor and the Spokane area which how I felt, maybe the most plausible explanation would be based on the function balls of the old davenport hotel where the Elizabethan, Venetian, Italian etc, themed illustrates. It is consistent with an attempt to provide a different environment to the guest. The towers had a pool facility at the basement which unfortunately, I did not use.

The room was spacious and the bed was nicely dressed and very comfortable. My request for extra pillow was executed. The bed linens were nice to touch. The chaise lounge was very comfortable. There was a writing desk and magazines are provided regarding the area. WiFi was complimentary but bottled water is not. There was complimentary cookies .The room is quiet and boost a view of downtown Spokane.

The shower is roomy and it could fit more than five people. I am surprised to see a hotel in this presentation to have wall canister for their liquid/semi solid toiletries. Totally unexpected. I carry my own toiletries but I did notice that the conditioner canister was empty. The water closet, shower and the lavatory are clean. Small touches such as folded monogrammed towel on the shower was nice.

I would suggest to visit the lobby of the old Davenport Hotel and browse the old photos and objects of the bygone era. It was fascinating and nostalgic. The lay out of the lobby reminds me of Fairmont Seattle.

During the check out I did try to call the front desk early to prepare the bill and have the car ready. No one answered. I did speak to the front desk during the check out about this and she was courteous and apologetic. To end it all let just say that it strengthened my position that the hotel's valet service needs coaching.

Being included in the Conde Nast johansens recommendation and just the name itself , I do carry certain expectations. This was a very comfortable hotel and I would recommend it to anyone who will be visiting Spokane Area but its service is inconsistent but overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I spent a night in the tower last Friday...it was a jam-packed city due to volleyball, let alone a packed hotel! Still, the elevator wait was always short, and we didn't hear our neighbors the entire time.
Having stayed here once before in 2008 I expected a great experience, and it was just as I expected! My fiancé was impressed and of course the location is fantastic, I showed him what I love about downtown Spokane.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in a King Deluxe room at the tower, and the room was very nice, and comfortable, but it is a little pricey. The restaurant in the lobby is pretty resonable as far as price goes. I did expect it to be priceier because of the hotel. Although we did not get room service looking at the price of that, it was not too bad either, no $20.00 for a bowl of cereal. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

My family decided to throw me a birthday party here and to be honest it was the greatest day of my life. I was no longer stupid an sick, I was a princess in a castle. The hotel is gorgeous and all of the ballrooms are open all the time so one can look inside and dance if one feels so obliged. This was everything I wanted and needed. I felt like a princess in the Hall of Doges and for the staff to turn on the lights and let me spin around and take it in. Well bless them. There is nothin better.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Davenport Hotel & Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Davenport Hotel & Tower

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Davenport Hotel & Tower 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Davenport Hotel & Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Davenport Hotel & Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.