We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A extraordinary place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Davenport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Davenport Hotel to your Saves list
The Historic Davenport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Wenatchee, WA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A extraordinary place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A special stay...we were in the historical hotel part for two nights. Way fancier and way more money than our normal places to stay, but it was a special occasion and worked super. What a grand "old" (completely remodeled in 2002) place.

Loved the "museum" feel on the mezzanine. So may old pictures and items on display from the "old days."

One of our simple pleasures is sitting in the lobby with an expesso while reading and people watching.
The Safari Room bar in the tower has drinks and flatbread items at half price seven days a week from 4 to 6 p.m.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    255
    82
    31
    26
See reviews for
257
480
70
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It was my first time in Spokane and I would definitely stay at the Davenport when I go back. It has two sections, the classic and historical Railway hotels of the past which is the original hotel and across the street it is the tower designed in a safari theme. Took me some time to get used to the motif in the tower but I got over it when I crawled into the bed. One of the best sleeps I had had in a long time in a very comfortable and large size room. They even sell the bed and its accessories if you want. They have a very good Spa, excellent restaurant and the service was exceptional. If you are there for business or pleasure it is the place to stay. Location cannot be beat and I think it is the best and nicest hotel in Spokane.

Room Tip: The tower side has the larger rooms and you can check in there as well. The cab will drop you off i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We are here visiting colleges in the area. We were told to stay downtown and get a feel for Spokane. The davenport was recommended and it is really pretty. Unfortunately they put us in a room with five compressors outside. The people down the hall were having a noisy open door party. Security came twice but I was told I was the only one who complained. Funny thing is I wasn't the one to make the call. The manager assumed!! Also she could have cared less if we stayed or not and graciously didn't charge us for an early departure fee. Now we are stuck trying to find a new hotel for the night

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our lobby! I am very sorry that your first impression of us was less than favorable. We should have been more proactive in our response to the noise you were experiencing. I am glad to hear that you were not charged and early departure fee. If coming to Spokane more frequently, we do want to ensure that we are the hotel of choice. Please know that what you experienced is not typical of the service offered, as most times, if available, a room move is offered. We do appreciate this constructive feedback, and do hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind Regards ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medical Lake, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in the main hotel for my wifes work party. Upon arriving we used the Hotel Vallet service, because at times it's hard to find parking downtown. Check-in was quick and painless. Hotel was very clean and every employee we encountered was kind and courtious. The room was awesome the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on in any kind of hotel. You can actually purchase one of the bed's from Northwest bedding (the Davenport). That evening we enjoyed the soft peanut brittle that we were given during check-in. All attactions are with-in walking distnce from Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed at this hotel in the original hotel (we stayed at the Tower across the street a couple of years ago. It too is quite spectacular.) As you know, the Davenport is an elegant property and service is top notch.

We booked a double room. The beds are sooooooo incredibly comfortable. The furnishings in the room are elegant and harken to an old-world feel, as if in Europe. Just loved it! The room was really large and spacious as was the very modern bathroom. We had some trouble with the TV. It just simply froze while on. The remote didn't work, neither did the controls directly on the TV. Finally, I took a chance and unplugged it from the wall (just as you might do sometimes with your computer.) I waited a minute or two and then plugged it back in and voila! The TV worked fine after that.

All throughout the hotel and our room the wood seems to be polished, carved cherry and teak and walnut. Just beautiful! I've included a number of photos to show this.

Very friendly and efficient at check in and check out. Very helpful about how to get around downtown. The location of this hotel is superb. Its a short walking distance to shopping, parks and restaurants.

Please be sure to go into the lounge. The stain glass above the bar is soooo beautiful. Food and drinks in the lounge were delicious.

We used valet parking. Its really such a great convenience and the valets are very courteous as well as helpful with directions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is so amazing it is difficult to describe in words. There is no other hotel in Spokane that can measure up to the Davenport. Whether you stay in the historic building or the new tower, you will have the most luxurious experience imaginable. The beds are amazing and the decor leaves nothing to be desired. Even the shower will impress you. The location is also wonderful since you are only two blocks from Riverside Falls Park and Mall. Be sure to have a coffee at Atticus near the falls. Do not feel this is a place just for couples. Bring your children and introduce them to beautiful architecture. There are plenty of restaurants in the area you can take them to and parks for them to visit. There is something for everyone at the Davenport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street if you would like a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McBride, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is one of the best in the US. The services was beyond any other hotels. The beds are fabulous which gives you a wonderful nights sleep. Fantastic valet service. You can see the staff is happy and enjoy working at the Davenport which give the us great service, Treat yourself and stay at the Davenport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport Hotel

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Family Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Historic Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Davenport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.