We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Davenport Hotel & Tower

Save Saved
You added The Davenport Hotel & Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Davenport Hotel & Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersGold level
Folsom, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beyond Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This by far is one of the best Hotels I've stayed in! The ambiance is amazing and the upkeep is meticulous. The staff is very accommodating and extremely friendly. The rooms are spacious and luxurious! The amenities are excellent! The bed is so comfy!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    222
    72
    28
    21
See reviews for
226
432
65
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Every now and then we spring for a fancy-schmancy hotel, and The Davenport Tower certainly delivered! Located adjacent the the historic Davenport Hotel, the Tower is just as nice as the original with easy access to the fabulous restaurants in the Hotel. The bed... oh my! it was like sleeping on a cloud! (You can actually purchase one to take home... I was tempted!) Roomy bathroom, comfortable temperatures. I would stay there again and again for any trip to Spokane!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My family used to come here all the time when I lived in Canada, and we never tried this hotel. We booked a suite for about $200 (incredibly cheap) and stayed for the weekend.

The hotel is a classic, and a centerpiece in the CBD. We stayed in the older one, but ventured over to the newer addition, which is just across the street. It seems to have a completely different atmosphere, but still shows signs that it is indeed connected to the original. The bar is definitely a much needed addition to the downtown area, as we couldn't really find anything aside from restaurants that had a decent bar.

If you are on the top floor (where I imagine all the suites are situated) the wifi doesn't really work well. We were visiting from out of the country, so we didn't want to use our data plans, making this rather annoying.

The restaurants didn't seem to be that appealing, so we went elsewhere in the downtown area which was great. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance and some much appreciated park space, too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at the Towers for the first time. Less expensive than the main hotel. and for a younger crowd (had sports bar-like eating place as you walk through the lobby. The room was very spacious and bed very comfortable and sheets quality, no slippage. The room had no funny smells. They were full so by the time we checked in there was only a king-size suite that was for special needs - which meant the cool mirror off the wall in the bathroom was very low.I thought the counter was very small - even though the room was large (probably for wheelchair access). Disappointing was that we were right by the elevator. Always request a room away from the elevator when making reservations! They noted that in our profile when I mentioned it. I think our room faced north - floor 5 - with a view of roof top but over that you could see part of Spokane in the distance - nothing special - but there was no noticeable noise except when a car/truck below drove by with radio/speakers on super loud base! I would stay at the main hotel if I had my choice, but this room was more affordable. We ate at the Palm Court, nothing special. There was no coffee maker in our room and no refrigerator for dinner leftovers; however you can get Starbucks in the lobby. My husband and I enjoyed the hottub jacuzzi - it was plenty hot enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have been staying in Spokane for business for 20 years and have never stayed here, so I decided to give it a try.

Overall I was very pleased with the room. It had a very comfortable bed and roomy walk-in shower and free wifi. Nicely decorated. Good location in downtown Spokane. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You will not be dissapointed staying here.

One major complaint is that there is no in-room coffee maker. I had to order a pot from room service, which came in minutes; perhaps the fastest service I have ever had; however, it adds $20 to the bill and after the $16 self-park bill the invoice is very much higher than quoted. This is typical for this type of hotel.

I may stay here again, but most likely return the Marriott Courtyard or Oxford Suites. If they had a coffee maker, it would probably be my go to hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Boy, the Davenport is certainly an unexpected pleasure. My son and I travelled to Spokane for a Gonzaga basketball game and were really surprised at our accommodations. Our room, in the old hotel portion was very nicely appointed and much larger than I expected. We had breakfast in the Palm Room, and it was also very nice. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Spokane.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This Hotel is a MUST for anyone visiting Spokane. The surrounding area has everything within walking distance. The prices were comparable to many hotels I have stayed in and far superior to many major chain hotels for the same price.
Ask to stay in the main hotel - the historic aspect is preferable but the Tower is also very nice. The staff exceeded my expectations. Checkout was a breeze. Room service was exceptional and the food was delicious.
The bath amenities provided included a comfy robe, shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel in the bath. No need to have to pack these items anymore !
Beds extremely comfortable.
The staff was courteous, professional, and prompt.
I would definitely recommend it as it is one of the most beautiful Hotels I've ever seen. I have recommended it to a friend for her wedding and anticipating that trip next year.

Room Tip: Request the main hotel rather than the tower. It is Beautiful. There are great views on every side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Davenport Hotel & Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Davenport Hotel & Tower

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Family Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Davenport Hotel & Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Davenport Hotel & Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Davenport Hotel & Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.