We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Davenport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Davenport Hotel to your Saves list
The Historic Davenport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Escondido, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely historic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Recently spent three nights in the main historic hotel. As always, was a terrific experience.
So nice to come into the grand lobby!
I was lucky enough to be upgraded (thank you!) to a deluxe room; was a bit surprised to find no refrigerator, windows do not open.
Bed was comfy, pillows a bit flat, enjoyed hearing the trains pass by at night.
Ample space in room and marble bathroom, safe in vanity area.
Peacock bar was animated at happy hour with complimentary cashews.
I had read on TripAdvisor that one could purchase Davenport gift cards at the local Costco, which I did ($100/for$79). Was a bit dismayed to be told at checkout that I could not use the Costco gift cards since I was booked under a discount program! So caution: must be paying full price to use those cards.

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms near elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    255
    82
    31
    26
See reviews for
257
480
70
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Denver BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Davenport Towers is across the street from the lovely old Davenport Hotel and seems to not have much connection to the old Davenport. If you are looking for the Davenport experience its probably best to skip the towers. The Davenport Towers is a modern high rise Hotel. Certainly clean and well maintained in a downtown location. The restaraunt and bar are right in the lobby, noisy, and open to the bustle of the lobby. If you are looking for a better dining experience go elsewhere...maybe across the street to the real Davenport. The room was rather disappointing, smaller than I would have expected and not up to 4 star standards. We were hoping for a special 4 star experience when we checked in but instead got a noisy sterile middle of the road chain hotel expereince.

Room Tip: don't be fooled...go to the real Davenport
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

i really loved this place. grate value , very clean , excellent staff, grate location. i have traveled a lot , eaten in many restaurants , but this place has best food. best of all , local girls were very friendly ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in the historic property 2 nights. Room and bath were spacious and well appointed. Nice walk-in shower. Bed was very comfortable. Lobby is gorgeous. Had dinner in front of the fireplace - great ambience. Service was outstanding. Room had a safe and was very secure. No coffee in the room but plenty of good coffee downstairs (Starbucks and in the Grill).
You don't know whether you will be in the historic building or the newer tower which is catty-cornered across the street, so drive into the porte cachere of the historic building and a doorman will tell you which building you are in. My only complaint was that my room had an adjoining door (locked from both sides) and I could hear the people next to me and their dog very clearly. However, this is a grand hotel and I would definitely stay again if back in Spokane.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 12th floor which gives great views of downtown and the surrounding hills. Also, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked through a internet hotel website. We got a room in the Towers for a very good rate. We were a little thrown by the Safari motif but quickly decided to have fun and go with it. The room was large, comfortable and well appointed. We enjoyed the cozy terry robes and huge bathroom, The food was good. People were especially helpful, including the other guests. All in all it was a great find. Expecially for the the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherd
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A must see in Spokane, WA. There are many pictures in the dining area and also on the walls in the balcony of Spokane's history to peruse. The dining area is elegant and the food delicious. The staff is warm and very hospitable.

Room Tip: We didn't spent the night this time but dined in the beauiful diningroom. Next trip we definite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have been to Spokane many times but we had never stayed here. Now, we will never stay anywhere else. This is a wonderful, warm, first class property, extremely comfortable, with superb service and at tremendous value. We stayed in the Tower, but went for a drink at the historic property. Our room was spacious, and comfortable and the common areas of the Tower were very classy. The historic property is exquisite. The lounge was classic and the service good and prices reasonable. This is one of the finest properties I have stayed at anywhere. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport Hotel

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Historic Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Davenport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.