We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Davenport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Davenport Hotel to your Saves list
The Historic Davenport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Nanoose Bay, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

While quite pricey the Davenport is worth the extra dollars. Beautiful room resulting in a quiet and restful night. Restaurants are fine although hotel food rarely us our choice. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    255
    82
    31
    26
See reviews for
257
480
70
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We knew the Davenport as the Grande Dame of Spokane and had visited the restaurants - Safari Room and Peacock Grill-- many times for nice food and decor. We recently had the chance to stay at the hotel for the first time and found it to be first rate. We stayed in the Tower, which offered large rooms and super comfy beds with spotless white Frette sheets and pillow top mattresses. The walk in shower was great. Although we had a view of the trains going by, the room was super quiet and serene. The fitness center and indoor swimming pool were never crowded during our four night stay and a pleasure to use. We admired the historic part of the hotel, but we'll be back at the Tower thanks to the comfy beds, spacious, quiet rooms, and convenient fitness center. Someone mentioned the parking was expensive, but being from NYC, we found $15 a day for indoor parking perfectly reasonable. We would be happy to find this hotel in any city, but are especially delighted to find it in Spokane which we visit a few times a year.

Room Tip: Don't be concerned if you get the rooms facing the railroad tracks. The room was quiet and over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have had the privilege of staying at the Davenport Hotel & Tower for both business & pleasure! From the minute you are greeted at the door by the bellman to checking in for your reservation, the staff are always friendly, professional and eager to make your stay pleasurable. The rooms are well appointed with beds that provide a restful night's sleep.
The rooms do not provide coffee makers so I always take advantage of ordering room service with coffee and juice first thing in the morning.
I appreciate the location of the hotel, right downtown within walking distance of Riverside Mall and several really nice restaurants and wine tasting bars. Spokane is a lovely town and I always look forward to when I have business there. Because of the level of service, clean rooms and the professional staff, I have gone back to the hotel to spend a "girls" weekend with my sisters! We took advantage of the spa services and felt especially pampered. We reserved a deluxe suite as they are larger and we all had a marvelous time. We plan to make this an annual event!

Room Tip: I personally like staying at the Davenport Hotel as I love the old world grandiose charm as oppose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

What can I say? My wife and I enjoy a hotel with a classical perspective, yet modern amenities. The Davenport Hotel delivered on both. We were on a seven week retirement vacation and made a point of stopping in Spokane just to stay at this hotel. The hotel has the look of old time elegance from the beautiful lobby to the mezzanine that surrounds it and affords views of the goings-on below. The hotel was rescued in 2000 and reopened in 2002 after falling into disrepair over the years. The hotel was restored to its former glory while installing modern electrical and plumbing. The rooms are gorgeous and large with beautiful bathrooms. I found that the valet parking was a bargain compared to other cities and the staff extremely courteous and accommodating. The hotel is in the heart of a city that is vibrant and reinventing itself. It's within walking distance of great restaurants, a fantastic brewery and Spokane's marvelous park. I will stay there again if given the chance and recommend it for anyone who's not looking for an overnight stay in a cookie-cutter motel.

Room Tip: The deluxe king rooms are a good value. Stay in the main hotel rather than the towers that are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spokane does not appear to me to be a "destination city" as it appears a bit worn to my eye, but a stay at the Davenport is a worthwhile "cocoon" in the midst of the seedy city. For the price I paid, I was in a tower suite with a huge walk-in shower. I think the hotel's parking fees are a bit outrageous for a city such as Spokane. If you enjoy historical perspectives when you travel, then include a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have lived in or around Spokane during various portions of my life. I always knew above the Davenport Hotel, but had never stayed here before. Just by chance I had to stay over night. There was a mix up in my reservation. However, the staff was awesome to saw the least. They gave me an upgrade for the same price. Also, every staff member that I interacted with were very professional. They made staff members at the usual brand name hotels look like amateurs. I'm sure that this is no reflection on staff members at brand name hotels, but more a reflection of the care and dedication to customers which is instilled in Davenport Hotel staff.

The room I stayed in was well appointed and very comfortable. Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Davenport is a fantastic hotel. We stayed in the Tower with it's unique "safari" motif. The Davenport is truly one of the few old fashioned hotels which focuses on comfort, service, attention and value. I recommend the restaurants especially the Safari room which has specials both for lunch and dinner at an unbelievable value. The happy hour is fantastic and do experience the Sunday Brunch held in the main hotel. It is elegant and the spread and choice of food and drink will overwhelm you! If you are flying into Spokane I recommend using the Davenport's airport transportation. Can't beat it! The Davenport is truly at the top of the list not only in Spokane but worldwide.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower where it seems the rooms are a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport Hotel

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Historic Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Davenport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.