We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disaster. . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport to your Saves list
Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1508 S. Rustle Rd, Spokane, WA 99224 (Formerly Knights Inn Spokane Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Spokane
Stayton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A disaster. . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a Knight's Inn when we made the reservations. Admittedly I've never stayed in a Knight's Inn but made the reservation based on reviews here. Imagine my surprise when we arrived and it was Motel 6 as of a few days earlier! The room looked like it was always a Motel 6 with the same tiny corner shower. To be fair, it looked like a newer shower and worked fine. Room wasn't ready but another one was (they said) and gave us the key. Maid was still working in the room but was nearly finished. Bedspread had stains and my wife asked for another. The replacement was clean.

The satellite (or cable) TV went out the night before and the service guy was working on it, so no TV until about 8pm or so and then only a few channels. But why bother? They still have tiny low-res CRT TVs from the '70s. Internet was spotty, sometime would connect, mostly would not. Even when connected I couldn't do anything, not even check email. Staff in the office said they were connected (though they didn't actually try to do anything) but I couldn't connect my laptop even in the office. The telephone on the desk in the room was missing the faceplate around the dial pad and otherwise looked disgusting.

With all the issues I would have thought management would have been apologetic and maybe even offered some perks, but nary an apology.

I've been a Motel 6 user for years but have outgrown them. For $5-$8 more I've found other national brands that have digital HD TVs, reliable wifi, better soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, refrigerators, and microwaves in the room as standard fare. Also free breakfast, though the quality varies. It could just be this Motel 6 was going through "transition pains" after taking over from Knight's Inn, the latter who may have let the property deteriorate.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSN, Consultant at Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We apologize for the poor stay you experienced and yes we were in a transition phase at that time. The standards for Motel 6 are being implemented and wtih these upgrades. Our TV service is now up and running and we are exploring the rooms to fix any mishaps. Our goal is to upgrade the property without significant increases to the rates.

We do appreciate your comments on the newer shower and would appreciate the opportunity to have you stay again. Please mention your prior stay when making a reservation. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
8
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We didn't pay much for a 2-star hotel, and it had its hits and misses.
HITS: Consistent room temperature with a quiet heater/AC unit. Consistent water temps and pressure. OVERALL CLEAN. A mostly safe, quiet environment for sleeping. All Appliances worked: TV, Microwave, A TV with many channels.
MISSES; Slightly sketchy area, door wasn't super secure in its frame. Housekeeping never came in past the bathroom! Could see someone did a great job on the towels in the bathroom, then left everything unmade, garbage full, in room. Wifi was not great
NO SHAMPOO, CONDITIONER OR HAIR DRYER
BEDS were not great. Everyone over 5'6" (three of four of us) had their FEET HANGING OFF! Also, the mattresses were like rubber with only a thin sheet over it.
Family had the hardest time with the beds. They were the yukkiest part. That's pretty major :/

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSN, Consultant at Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for stay with us. Your feedback will be addressed and appreciate that the rooms were clean with a quiet ac unit. Our transition to Motel 6 was a few weeks ago and we are continually upgrading the property and your comments will be taken into account. We hope when you travel to this area again you stay and see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Mold in shower stall mold on ceiling door down the hall kicked in posted pics on yelp.com also Internet not working the office claims there's work but 4 different rooms same problem. TV can choose 3 channels others no signal. Stinch when opened first 2 rooms manager said they havn't been used much. First one smelled like someone peed the carpet. Stay at Valley location no complaints

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSN, Consultant at Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2015
We apologize for the poor room condition you experienced with us. Your feedback is much appreciated and will be looking into to rectifying those rooms.

We are a recent conversion to Motel 6 as of about 3 weeks ago. Converting from a Knights Inn we are now making positive improvements to the property and will continue to do so throughout the year. Our hope is that you can come back and see the changes we have made for a positive guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

This motel has an awesome staff. The gentleman on duty when we checked in and also when we checked out was Mike. We had originally booked a pet friendly room, which is ground floor. Since we ended up not bringing our dogs with us, he went out of his way to change us to an upper floor room with a microwave and small refrigerator. He was very helpful in suggesting various places for dinner and breakfast, plus local attractions. The room was clean and comfortable with very comfortable beds, nice bedding and linens. There were some issues that need attention, but that did not interfere with the comfort of the room. Mike assured us at check out that that particular room is scheduled for upgrading. We feel that he made our stay there very worth-while and because of that, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper floor room are quieter and more relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSN, Consultant at Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Your business is appreciated. Its great to hear you had a good experience and that you would stay with us again. We are continuing to upgrade the property while keeping our rates reasonable. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omak, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

The young man that checked me into my room was great. Very friendly. The motel itself needs work. Shower curtain was repurposed and very much too large for shower so it was folded in half. Internet was spotty and kept resetting. Whoever had vacuumed the room must have had their eyes closed - there were little pieces of a fake flower under the table and the edge of the bed.

Room Tip: If my wife had been traveling with me we would have NEVER stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSN, Consultant at Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport, responded to this review, February 16, 2015
We apprecaite your business and thank you for your kind words about our front desk clerk. Your comments will be reviewed about the condition of the room. We make improvements based on guests comments such as yours. Though we are budget hotel we strive for clean, comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. Again thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

First and probably the best thing about my stay here was the amazing staff that greeted us and saw us off. Friendly and down to earth my very late night check in was handled quickly and courteously and with a much welcome smile after a full day of driving. Morning staff was also polite and friendly. You get what you pay for in the world of hotels andi paid 53 dollars including tax. So my standards were not high. The room could stand to have some pleasantries such as pictures and fresh paint and new carpets. But was otherwise exactly what one would expect for a 50 dollar night. I would like to point out that there were a few, uh, addict looking young ladies hanging out in the smoking area .

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSN, Consultant at Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport, responded to this review, February 16, 2015
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the the positive comments about our staff. Your feedback is taken back to our managment team to determine what areas we can improve upon. While keeping out rates reasonable. Hope you can stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

The staff were very helpful, the rooms were nice and clean, and it was quiet. It was a peaceful night. I will definitely stay here again. Brandon, the on duty staff member, was very concerned about our stay and made sure that we were happy.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room. It was quiet and we felt safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSN, Consultant at Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Thank you for staying with us. We strive for a clean and comfortable rooms with our happy hospitality. Hope you can stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport

Address: 1508 S. Rustle Rd, Spokane, WA 99224 (Formerly Knights Inn Spokane Airport)
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport is located in a quiet area between downtown Spokane and the Spokane International Airport. Restaurants and shops are nearby. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in all of our guest rooms, a seasonal outdoor heated pool, and truck parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport Hotel Spokane
Motel Six Spokane
Spokane Motel 6
Spokane Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Spokane West - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.