We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over rated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane

Save Saved
You added Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 W North River Drive, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off - Book Direct
Ranked #3 of 43 hotels in Spokane
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My first stay at this hotel. I felt the reviews and reccomendations are over rated for this hotel. I think it is a bit in need of some updating in the rooms. My check in was delayed as I was listed under a male name, not even close to my name, had to go to my car (it was a very cold night) to get my confirmation information. The breakfast bar was good but have had better. Children said the hot tub was too small for the number of guests, however there was several hockey teams staying there. Probably will stay at my usual hotels in the area. But glad I tried, could have had better or equal for less price. Also charge for toothbrush!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    113
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
112
94
9
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
libby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

From the pleasant (and patient) front desk, to the absolurely wonderful schuttle service, to the good breakfast - all this and impeccably clean rooms, we had a most enjoyable stay.
Very convenient to downtown and North area schools, shopping etc. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED

Room Tip: Higher floor was very quiet Front desk/reservations clerks were very helpful-visit with them if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I decided to stay at the Oxford Suites on a trip with my girlfriend and mother to visit the WSU Spokane Campus. The hotel advertises a 24 hour convenience store, so my girlfriend and I went down to the lobby at around 10:30 PM to buy a bottle of water. When we walked out of the elevator, we were met by an irate concierge, Devon. He informed my girlfriend and me (both of us are 22 years old) to return to our rooms immediately because the convenience store was closed. He told us that all children need to be in their rooms unless accompanied by an adult. I tried to explain to him that I was, contrary to his immediate assessment, a legal adult. He rolled his eyes and told me that I need to get back to my room. When I replied that I couldn't believe this was how I, a paying customer, was being treated, he told me "if you don't like it, then you can leave." Well thanks, Devon. We are leaving. And contacting your supervisor. To make matters worse, Devon continued to disrespect my family when he spoke to my mother in a short and condescending manner. He tried to justify his unacceptable behavior by stating that he has seen my girlfriend and me walking around, which is apparently a crime at the Oxford Penitentiary, er I mean Oxford Suites. He refused to apologize to any of us. This sort of behavior has no place in the hospitality industry, and I sincerely hope that my family and I are the last customers Devon has a chance to disrespect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our General Manager, Tim Peterson, has attempted to contact your mother to offer our apologies in person. Please ask her to call Tim, at her earliest convenience, at 800.774.1877. We want each of our guests to feel welcomed and clearly, we did not do so in this situation. Thank you, again, for the feedback and for choosing Oxford Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've been here for a few days and it is an awesome place to stay. The room itself is perfect with a view of the river. Every Night they give you vouchers for free drinks at their bar that serves food as well as free appetizer I think. I'm glad I am calling this place home for two weeks!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived very late at night on the Amtrak train and were quickly checked in. Our room was large and clean. We pulled the solid curtain shut and went to sleep. In the morning we enjoyed the free breakfast and good coffee. During our stay, we used the self laundry room several times which was wonderful and we bought our detergent in the lobby shop. The location is fabulous and we walked downtown several times and to a basketball game at Gonzaga. The hotel is right on the river and the walking paths. It was truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Another great stay! Great customer service, clean rooms, good food. Love the shuttle service. Only downside was the large group of hockey players.......added quite a bit of noise and chaos to the hallways and the pool which was overwhelming for our small children. They did quiet down at night and we were able to sleep well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Clean rooms, pleasant staff, bouncy, booming floors with kids running the halls at all hours...So don't plan on sleeping in at this place. Seems to cater to the sports-crazed set and the hockey moms taking their kids on tour.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, but you could hear everything on the floor above and below us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane

Address: 115 W North River Drive, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Spokane
#4 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#4 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Overlooking the Spokane River, you’ll enjoy easy access to Downtown Spokane and River Front Park. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, Sauna, Steam Room & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane Hotel Spokane
Oxford Hotel Downtown Spokane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.