We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eats and beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Das Stein Haus

Das Stein Haus
1812 W. Francis, Five Mile Shopping Center, Spokane, WA (Formerly Chic A Ria)
509-326-2214
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 767 Restaurants in Spokane
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good eats and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Was skeptical about the place since it was in a strip mall. Good German weissbier and the sample platter knocked it out of the park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good German- American Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Das Stein Haus is in a strip mall-so there is no view but the staff and food make up for lack of view. Authentic German food but menu also has a number of American favorites. We have been there 3 times with 4 to 6 other people. Staff handled our needs well and continued to check back. Our daughter has food intolerances and they accommodate her needs. The portions are very generous. An entrée serves two adults nicely. Their Strudel is made on site and is delicious. Their Black Forrest Cake is Wonderful.. The prices are reasonable. Das Stein Haus takes reservations which is nice. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very authentic German cuisine ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had the sauerbraten and the bratwurst. Both were delicious. Be sure and have the spatzle as well. They also have a pretzel appetizer with house mustard.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised and would return again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great menu, great german beers, huge portions, very good dessert and attentive wait staff. True german food and a very nice find. Very few diners there on a Tuesday night.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Enjoyed dinner with 3 couples on a busy Friday night. Food a bit pricey, but good portions made it worthwhile. VERY AUTHENTIC German food! Loved, loved, loved the red cabbage! All of us were very happy with our meals and plenty to take home for leftovers. Even thought the place was busy, we didn't feel rushed out--thank you, for we truly enjoyed our evening there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Stein Haus also viewed

 

Been to Das Stein Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Stein Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.