We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wunderbar!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Das Stein Haus

Das Stein Haus
1812 W. Francis, Five Mile Shopping Center, Spokane, WA (Formerly Chic A Ria)
509-326-2214
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 701 Restaurants in Spokane
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wunderbar!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Ate here twice during a long stay in town. The combo plate gives you a nice taste of a few different dishes. Don't miss trying the apple strudel. It's not kitzish on décor or staff costumes...just a normal looking restaurant with fantastic food!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, and basic layout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The food was good, but not necessary fully German but still good. There were domestic and German beers available for purchase. We tried two of the German beers and enjoy that experience. All the food was good. It was a nice place to share a good time with our friends and to celebrate a birthday without any hassles.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I enjoyed the bratwurst sampler and my wife tried the tomato feta schnitzel.. both excellent and authentic German. Will definitely make a return if we ever make it back to Spokane!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Can't get more authentic than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I'm 62 years old. Lost my German mother at 11. This Wednesday I tasted my mothers soup, sauerbraten and strudel again for the first time since she passed. Anyone who says Das Stein Haus is not authentic is ignorant. The food is so good it made me cry.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Had great service, good portions, everything freshly made. Great beer! What more can you ask for? We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, Owner at Das Stein Haus, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for the four stars and the kind words!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Stein Haus also viewed

 

Been to Das Stein Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Stein Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.