We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion River Inn to your Saves list
Red Lion River Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 N Division St, Spokane, WA 99202-1613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
State of WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed here July 9th. Good location with ready access on foot to downtown. Front desk staff very freindly, very helpful in answering questions regarding directions to local destinations. Room was on second floor (there are only two floors) with lovely view of river. Had lunch outdoors on patio of resturant overlooking river. Again, great service. Pool area could use some tidying up. Overall, a nice place for the price, and they don't charge for parking like their sister facility a block further down the river.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    140
    99
    34
    25
See reviews for
152
100
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel had great staff from the person who checked me in and to the person who checked me out. There was one day that my room didn't get cleaned. They don't have elevators so If you dont wat to haul you luggage request the 1st floor but I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at the Red Lion River Inn the last weekend in June for Hoopfest. The hotel was full, with lots of families and basketball players. Despite the crowds, the staff was fantastic, even coming to personally check if we received proper room service. The hotel is located just outside of downtown, but the river pathway is accessible from the hotel and it is a quick 10 minute walk, or 5 minute bikeride to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I generally do not write bad reviews but from the time my husband and I checked in, we were given the option of a room on the 2nd floor...(we are both have limited mobility) yet the hotel has no elevator when we declined upstairs...we were immediately ushered to room 324... which was in bldg VI (at least an 1/8 of a mile away from the front desk.) Wasn't able to get to the restaurant in the hotel because it was so far away...literally. Another major complaint I had was while while most of the staff was very pleasant...when we checked in, a staff member was using objectionable language...albeit to himself...Overall, the stay was just alright. Certainly NOT the three stars Priceline gave it. BUT that was the only disappointment in Spokane...I LOVED everything else about the city!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We only got to stay here one night we were in town to see my sister graduate from Eastern Washington university . And it was pretty close to Cheney and did not take us long to get there from this hotel.. The staff was very nice, the lady who checked us in was very friendly, and helpful in offering some advice where to eat, etc.. She also gave us a pleasant surprise in letting us know that since we were members of red lions club our dog got to stay for free:) I never knew that so she totalyl could have charged me for our dog! they also were very friendly to our dog they bent down to give her a pat on the head and told her she was a pretty girl ;) lol.. my dog eats up attention.. The room was modern and and nicely decorated, they had nice shampoos and toiletries . room was very clean. all the staff was very nice. if we ran a crossed housekeeping in the hallways they always smiled and said Hi. the location was nice they had lots of restaurants with in walking distance and it was right by the river.. all in all I was very pleased I dont' have a single complaint expect the fat I wish I had more time there to check out the pool and stuff! :) If I'm back in the Spokane area again they will be getting my business! Red Lion never disappoints and this one was no exception!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The property is very spread out and along the River Walk in Spokane. The distance is within walking distance to downtown Spokane. The Hotel offers a shuttle within two miles of the property which provides a variety of dining opportunities.

Room Tip: Tips insured prompt service for shuttle drivers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

The service at the front desk was frustrating and down right horrible. Be sure you get everything they state to you in writing because if you don't they will screw you! We found the rooms to be dirty and unkept. They had not been vacuumed as my husband found a large clump of hair on the floor. The carpet has rough dirty spots on it. The showers are awful. The temperature was never consistent and the mat that sits in the bottom of the shower is a breading ground for bacteria, not just your bacteria but the bacteria of the previous occupant. Don't even attempt to use the toilet. Ours clogged for no reason and then water started leaking out of the tank. The "Spa" area is a hot tub that is not hot and the jets are non-existent. They tout having a pillow top mattress, but at this hotel it is simply not true, therefore the sleep quality is not what one would expect. Service in the restaurant and the front desk is slow and without regard for you valuable time. I will NEVER stay at the Red Lion River Inn again. Stay at the Park Inn in Spokane. It is basically right across the street and everything about it is a million times better. This is one of the worst travel experiences I have ever had. The best part was they charged twice, yes double charged me. Crooks!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion River Inn

Address: 700 N Division St, Spokane, WA 99202-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#12 Family Hotel in Spokane
#17 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion River Inn is a quiet urban hideaway nestled along the beautiful north bank of the Spokane River in Spokane Washington. Just steps from Riverfront Park and the Centennial Trail, our guests have easy access to Gonzaga University, the Convention Center, and the INB Performing Arts Center as well as Spokane's best shopping, entertainment, restaurants and the downtown business district. We are also close to Spokane Veterans Arena and 10 miles from Spokane International Airport.Each of our guests can be assured of friendly Northwest hospitality and exceptional service. We offer 245 tastefully appointed, contemporary rooms and suites furnished with comfort in mind. Other comforts include Red Lion's signature beds featuring Sealy pillowtop mattresses and Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP). Deluxe rooms feature king-sized beds with beautiful river views. All rooms include complimentary wi-fi and also complimentary parking and airport transportation.If resort-style fun is what you're looking for, activities abound with two seasonal outdoor pools and a fitness center as well as volleyball, tennis and basketball courts available for your pleasure. For your next event, our 2,800 square feet of meeting space can accommodate groups of up to 250.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion River Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.