We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Non smoking' room smelled of smoke! Overpriced, outdated, parking fee” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel at the Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel at the Park to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel at the Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 W. North River Drive, Spokane, WA 99201 (Formerly WestCoast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shopping Package
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“'Non smoking' room smelled of smoke! Overpriced, outdated, parking fee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were really disappointed with this hotel. We checked in on a Friday and the line stretched all across the lobby, took 30 min standing in line. We got a standard 2 queen room and as we entered, the over powering smell of cigarrette smoke was terrible and overwhelming. We asked for another room and the front deak clerk gave us an obvious annoyed looked and said 'there is no smoking in our hotel'. We realize their policy but people DO break the rules and smoke in their rooms. The smoke smell hit us a like a brick wall and I'm shocked the maid service wouldnt report this and have the room properly aired out/cleaned before allowing guests back in. There was a convention in town that weekend so there were no rooms to swtich or any other hotel in town available so we had to spend an unbearable night in this place. In the morning, we opted for their breakfast buffet at $13 per person. The selection was so disappointing. The food was no more than glorified 'complimentary breakfast' choices. Juice, toast/bagels you toast yourself, cereal, stale muffins, rubbery egg beater eggs, overcooked, dry bacon and fruit that was swimming in juice as if if it was cut the night before. This is the usual quality you see with free breakfasts in hotel, not for a paid buffet. I do not mind payiing at all but please offer quality food. There was also a breakfast menu where you could order ala carte items and I noticed the food coming out for other guests was much better than the more expensive buffet. Overall, this placed is overpriced for a hotel that needs much updating. Plus there is overnight parking charge of $9! We paid total of $192 for a small standard room--crazy price for a hotel lacking in so many ways. On the way back into Spokane, we stayed at the newer Oxford Suites right next door for less money that includes an amazing FREE breakfast, clean, smoke free rooms and amazing staff service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel at the Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review! All feedback, good or bad, assists us in making our guests stay more comfortable. I would like to truly apologize for the lack of having a smoke free room. This is definitely not the type of stay we want our guests to have! We value you as our guest, and look forward to having you with us again soon.


Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    312
    178
    100
    52
See reviews for
326
151
40
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have stayed here for business for years. This time I was able to bring the family and experience all this hotel has to offer. You will not find a better bed or mattress for a good nights sleep anywhere. The rooms are nice and clean, ours had a view of the pool and patio, which was a nice bonus. The outside pool and waterslide is amazing, inside pool is dark and unattractive. The workout center is well equipped and perfect for a short workout. Business center is really nothing but a couple of computers next to the barista. This isn't a chain hotel on the side of the highway so don't expect a free continental breakfast and microwaved cookies at the desk. There is a full restaurant and bar to use. We skipped eating at the hotel and walked across the park (don't miss this) where there are numerous choices there.

Only complaint is our check-in took 25 minutes because of a huge line. There was an Amway meeting and another conference just getting out when we arrived. That stunk but it was nobody's fault.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on floor #1. Rooms are older and darker as it is one level below ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed one night with our dog in a tower premium room. The room was very nice and the beds were clean and comfortable. The hotel location can't be beat. I was underwhelmed by the outdoor pool that appears outstanding in the website photos but was crowded, with not enough seating nor towels. We purchased the package with the breakfast and parking. In the morning (a Monday), we went down for breakfast at 9:00 am and found ourselves with a 30 minute wait along with about 40 other people, for a buffet that was mediocre. Two of us ordered off the menu with much better food. I may stay again if the price was good versus the many other nearby alternatives.

Room Tip: Some of the tower rooms face west. I think those would have a good view of the park and waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

2 adults and 2 kids (6, and 8) approx $300 for 2 nights included parking and buffet breakfast.

outdoor pool was nice, not enough shade though. and TOO MANY CHAIR HOGS. people would put their [--] on a lounger and leave (to reserve it) and come back hours later. that was [--]. hotel staff needs to better manage the chairs and loungers. pool is okay for small kids (the water slide part is about 9-10' deep)

hotel was clean, rooms where a bit small, nice tv's, VERY friendly staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a couple days and had a great time. The staff is excellent - whether at the front desk, restaurant, cleaning crew or the drivers - they're all great! Service was pretty quick and the accommodations very comfortable. We absolutely loved the downtown location, since it was just a couple of minutes walk to everything. All in all we had quick complementary airport pickup, wonderful service and quick check in and a smooth stay. The only downside was the very monotonous buffet breakfast that is complementary depending on your room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was an ok experience, although our previous stay at another Red Lion was much better in terms of service. The pool and water slide was great for the kids. But we booked in based on the availability of a certain type of room, that would have included breakfast for half our family, and after booking we we told it was not available, so we ended up with two rooms at almost twice the price, with breakfast not included for anyone. I was confused as too who was actually booking my room, as someone was in training, and there was simply a lack of good and clear communication.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I am used to a really soft bed, so I found the bed too stiff. I was really disappointed that they did not offer even a continental breakfast, just because we were travelling on such a tight budget :(

HOWEVER, the service was absolutely amazing!! I have never been treated better at any hotel :)

The excellent customer service made this hotel worth every penny!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel at the Park

Address: 303 W. North River Drive, Spokane, WA 99201 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Spokane
#9 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel at the Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the edge of Riverfront Park, on the banks of the cascading Spokane River, the Red Lion Hotel at the Park is situated just over a footbridge from downtown Spokane’s biggest attractions. The INB Performing Arts Center and Convention Center, all the best shopping and restaurants and the business district are all just steps away. We are also the closest hotel to Spokane Veterans Arena, within walking distance of Gonzaga University and 10 miles from Spokane International Airport. The lobby features a slate stone entryway, granite fireplace and rich décor, accented with Honduran Mahogany. It invites you to sit, relax and enjoy And, as with all Red Lion Hotels, our staff – from the front desk to room service – is there to ensure that you receive the ultimate in customer service. We now offer business center service in our lobby next to the barista station. Our business station features 3 flat screen computers and 1 printer. Boarding passes and Google map searches can be printed for free.Our deluxe guest rooms and spacious suites are some of the finest in the Inland Northwest. All guest rooms include triple-sheeted, "Stay Comfortable Beds," featuring Sealy Pillowtop mattresses, ergonomic workstations, microwave, refrigerator and free Wi-Fi. Hotel shuttle service is available 24 hours a day. Shuttle service is scheduled according to our guests needs and is subject to availability.For your dining pleasure, we offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult, the Atrium Café & Deli, Park Place Lounge and a deck overlooking the Spokane River and Riverfront Park.We also make it easy to stay fit while traveling with our top-of-the-line fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool as well as an outdoor swimming lagoon, complete with waterslide and waterfall, to enjoy during the summer.With 30,000 square feet of deluxe meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel at the Park is also a full-service convention hotel, able to accommodate 1,300 guests with complete professional conference services.Onsite parking is available for $9 per night.As always, your pets are welcome. Certain Restrictions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Loews Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel at the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.