We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working through problems - excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel at the Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel at the Park to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel at the Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 W. North River Drive, Spokane, WA 99201 (Formerly WestCoast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersSilver level
Odessa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Working through problems - excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My room was so/so but clean and comfortable. I had a glitch in my check-in, due to my own errors. The check-in staff, especially Rosie was excellent. She was kind, helpful and persistant in taking care of all of the issues that came up. She then provided me with a voucher for breakfast because of the glitch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    337
    205
    113
    60
See reviews for
354
169
44
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were coming to Spokane to take our 4 year old daughter to the Shriner's Hospital so when I saw that the hotel had 2 pools and a water slide it was a no brainer. I actually called the hotel directly to confirm that the pool and waterslide were going to be open during our stay and was told that they would be. Of course when we checked in we were told that the waterslide was closed because they didn't have a lifeguard. In the future I'll stay somewhere else where the rooms are nicer and have been upgraded because the overall feel of the hotel is dilapidated and crummy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I've stayed at your hotel several times before and didn't mind spending extra because I knew you had a nice pool and spa. Well, the pool was cold and the spa was dirty and because of that we never used it and so I'm sorry I spent the extra for your hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a large group of teens on the same floor before being assigned a room. We got all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel at the Park, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review! All feedback, good or bad, assists us in making our guests stay more comfortable. I would like to truly apologize for the lack of cleanliness in our pool area. This is definitely not the type of stay we want our guests to have! We value you as our guest, and look forward to having you with us again soon.


Warm Regards,

Brent Ashton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights in the Executive Suite and it was very nice and quiet. The room was clean (except for the bathroom) and the view of the river was wonderful. This is the hotel we normally stay at 3 or 4 times a year but I'm not sure we will again.
I was very disappointed to find mold in the shower and I mean lots of it. The shower drain had a wad of hair on it that I removed with a tissue.... yuck. The last two times we stayed the bathrooms had mold (a quick bleach spray before cleaning will get rid of it) so I guess the bathrooms aren't cleaned very well. Too bad as this really was our favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

So I booked this hotel through Travelocity's "Top Secret" hotels, and got a pretty awesome deal. We were excited as it was right on the river, and in the center of Spokane right in downtown next to the waterfront park.

When we arrived, the staff treated us very nicely, opened doors for us, and gave us our key. When we got to the room, I was surprised by how small it was. I read other reviews stating this, but didn't expect it to be THIS small. We have a 1-year-old, so we were hoping to use the bathroom for the pack-n-play. HAH! Fat chance - the bathroom matched the room. Extremely small, and not a chance the pack-n-play would fit. That wasn't a big deal though.

The bigger deal was when we were walking up and down the halls, and we were smelling pot coming from 1-2 rooms. There were a lot of teens that day (bar-mitzvah and/or prom)...don't ask me how in the hell their parents let them stay at a hotel. But anyway, they were rowdy, and clearly smoking pot. Still....not a big deal. none of these things really impacted me that much. I probably would dock the hotel a half or full star for the room size, but to be honest, we had been treated so well by the staff, I likely wouldn't just because of that.

Here's where it got interesting. As we woke up the next morning, we went into the bathroom to shower, and my wife noticed that there was little spots of black mold on the ceiling. Yikes. Having a baby, that was definitely not okay. Even if we didn't have a baby - not okay. Additionally, in the shower, there were hairs here and there as it had been cleaned poorly. And finally, there was red/orange rings around the different ceiling fixtures due to rust/corrosion and again, not being cleaned well.

We had to run out for the day, so we put our do not disturb sign up. When we came back that evening, we set our stuff down in the room, and low and behold, the room was cleaned...the housekeepers and come in anyway. Now the "do not disturb" sign was on the inside again. Very annoying.

I didn't mention that to the front desk, but I DID head down and mention the mold. We needed to move. The guy at the desk was incredibly kind about the issue, and gave me my new room key immediately. He told me we would now be in the executive suite wing. AWESOME! We headed up, and it was amazing. Floor to ceiling windows and drapes, an additional room for our baby to sleep in, a view of the entire river and the pool below...and we were higher up. Very very happy/excited about that room.

However, that night, as we went to sleep, it was pretty warm, so we turned the temp down. I heard what I thought was the loud AC unit blowing from the ceiling all night. And by loud, I mean it was loud. I sleep through anything (and I slept through that too), but this was loud enough that it took me a bit to fall asleep. But we were warm, so we rolled with it. The next morning, as I was brushing my teeth, I looked up at the "AC unit" (room wasn't really much cooler), and low and behold, it wasn't a fan/AC unit. It was the furnace filter. And it hadn't been changed likely in over a year. The noise was coming from the furnace working so hard just to keep filtering air through the filter. There were giant chunks of dust and extremely dirty lint just ready to fall onto my head and in my face with the slightest little nudge or puff of air. Yuck.

Anyway, long story short - AWESOME service. Terrible maintenance.

One more thing - they charged $9 for parking a night. Really?? I felt like I was getting nickel and dimed. It wasn't even a secure lot, so I'm not sure what I was paying for. The gate was up all night both nights.

Last but not least, we ordered breakfast in their restaurant both mornings. Once at the buffet, and once off the menu. They were both about the same price. That's because the buffet was WAY overpriced. $16 after tax and 15% tip. What happened to complimentary breakfasts? I mean, for a good breakfast buffet, I didn't mind paying a little, but this wasn't really good. Eggs were dry, and the bacon was beyond greasy. Plates were dirty one morning. Par for the course with the maintenance in this hotel.

Thank you for a fun executive suite night stay Red Lion Hotel at the Park, but you guys gotta do something about your maintenance/cleanliness. Nearly rated you a 2 star, but your staff really was fantastic and kind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff is exceptional, the beds are comfy, the location is perfect. The park is right there. The park has a jogging path. There is shopping and a movie theatre across the park. It is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel at the Park, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your staty with us and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.


Regards,


Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is an excellat hotel to stay at. They are pet friendly and located on the river by the park . You can walk for a long ways with or without your pet . They young lady who checked us in was very accomodating and gave us a very nice room at a seniors rate. The room was very nice and large and overlooked the pool and walk. There was a few things that could be done to the room as follows. No note pad or pen , some mold arround the tub , sliding glass door handle on out side broken , and a large mess of wires showing by bed table . They could have covered this up. Would we stay here again YES. Overall very nice hotel and staff .

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children you would want to stay on the main floor that has an acces to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel at the Park, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank You so very much for taking the time to review us! We strive to make sure every guest (and pet) enjoy their stay with us. We look forward on welcoming you back to our hotel.


Warm Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Lion Hotel at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel at the Park

Address: 303 W. North River Drive, Spokane, WA 99201 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Spokane
#15 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel at the Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the edge of Riverfront Park, on the banks of the cascading Spokane River, the Red Lion Hotel at the Park is situated just over a footbridge from downtown Spokane’s biggest attractions. The INB Performing Arts Center and Convention Center, all the best shopping and restaurants and the business district are all just steps away. We are also the closest hotel to Spokane Veterans Arena, within walking distance of Gonzaga University and 10 miles from Spokane International Airport. The lobby features a slate stone entryway, granite fireplace and rich décor, accented with Honduran Mahogany. It invites you to sit, relax and enjoy And, as with all Red Lion Hotels, our staff – from the front desk to room service – is there to ensure that you receive the ultimate in customer service. We now offer business center service in our lobby next to the barista station. Our business station features 3 flat screen computers and 1 printer. Boarding passes and Google map searches can be printed for free.Our deluxe guest rooms and spacious suites are some of the finest in the Inland Northwest. All guest rooms include triple-sheeted, "Stay Comfortable Beds," featuring Sealy Pillowtop mattresses, ergonomic workstations, microwave, refrigerator and free Wi-Fi. Hotel shuttle service is available 24 hours a day. Shuttle service is scheduled according to our guests needs and is subject to availability.For your dining pleasure, we offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult, the Atrium Café & Deli, Park Place Lounge and a deck overlooking the Spokane River and Riverfront Park.We also make it easy to stay fit while traveling with our top-of-the-line fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool as well as an outdoor swimming lagoon, complete with waterslide and waterfall, to enjoy during the summer.With 30,000 square feet of deluxe meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel at the Park is also a full-service convention hotel, able to accommodate 1,300 guests with complete professional conference services.Onsite parking is available for $9 per night.As always, your pets are welcome. Certain Restrictions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel at the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.