We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel at the Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel at the Park to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel at the Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 W. North River Drive, Spokane, WA 99201 (Formerly WestCoast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shopping Package
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Business often takes me to Spokane - which I cannot deny is not my favorite place in the world. If anyone is planning on going to Spokane for business or...pleasure, then I'd reccomend the Red Lion. It's just across the beautiful white-water rapids of the Spokane River from downtown - which is by far the most enjoyable location in the city. The hotel is fairly cheap - usually around $100 a night, and its only a few blocks away from the shop-filled streets and parks that define the downtown area. The rooms are typical of any chain discount-ish hotel, but bigger than other, more expensive hotels nearby such as the Spokane Club.

Parking is sort of expensive - my 3 day trip cost me almost $30 to park in the hotel lot near my room - but the room price off-sets that.

Good for business, or anyone who wants to enjoy downtown Spokane but not pay over $200 a night or stay in a crummy motel.

Room Tip: Since the bottom floor sometimes holds conferences or local events, a room on the second floor might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    312
    178
    100
    52
See reviews for
326
151
40
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I tour manage a band on Warner Bros Records and we we're referred to another hotel for a 2 not stay.

We we're really disappointed in the hotel and immediately checked out after the first night. We luckily found the red lion at the park.

The parking was perfect and the staff was very helpful and te rooms we're great!

We ended up eating breakfast and the waitress was really funny and helpful and made us feel at home! Food was excellent!

We will always stay at this hotel when we come to Spokane!!!

Highly re comment if your traveling with a family. They got everything there!!!!!!!

Jeffery Sierota

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed one night while attending an event at the Arena. Overall it was a good experience except for a few things. At check in, with two adult guests in the room, they only provided one bath towel but after calling guest services they brought two up to my room. Next, the periferal doors to the Hotel were not locked and anyone could have entered the building without a key. Poor security. Last thing, the jacuzzi was not available for use. Overall, the staff were friendly and the place was mostly clean. Parking was a bit expensive in my opinion but that was a minor thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Packwood, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

BEWARE!! This hotel charges you $9 a day to park in their parking lot and $10 for bad buffet breakfast that is free at most hotels. I can't think of the last time I stayed in a hotel that did not have a complimentary breakfast. The service in the bar and at the restaurant was SLOW. We were there on a weekend when the hotel was sold out but it was sold out for weeks in advance. It should not be that hard to plan for this and staff correctly. I also put $5 in the vending machine to buy a $2 bottle of water and got 3 quarters back instead of 3 silver dollars. When I took my issue to the front desk they apologized and said they couldn't help me. So how many other customers have paid $5 for a bottle of water? There were some positives. The beds are the most comfortable beds I have every slept in. I am now in the market for one just like it! They also had a handicapped lift at the hot tub and pool area. I love that they are accommodating everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel at the Park, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank You so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. I have communicated with the respected departments regarding our vending machines. We take pride in each and every guest that stays with us and we look forward on welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Brent Ashton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The room were put us in smelled like some one had just been smoking in it, even leaving the window open didn't help. Called the front desk and was informed they had no other room to move us to, but could move us down the street to Red Lion at the river. At check in was informed there was a 9 dollar per day fee for parking, wasn't mentioned when I reserved the room. WI-FI has not worked during our stay. When I called the front desk they wanted to put me in touch with their IT department. Not my job to sort out their problems. No apologies or anything, just an oh well, to bad. During the day the elevators are tied up mornings by staff ( no service elevators? ). This will be first and last stay at a Red Lion and I will go out of my way to tell everyone I can what a crappy hotels they.

Room Tip: The best tip I could give anyone is to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel at the Park, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I want to apologize for your the issues you had during your last stay with us. I have passed on the smoking smell issue on to my Director of Housekeeping so that doesn't occur again. We hope that you choose to stay with us in the near future.

Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We recently held a conference at this hotel and loved every minute of our stay. Great rooms, nice ammenities, good food (breakfast, lunch and snacks were provided each day). The hotel staff was amazing! We had help from the moment we arrived until we packed up. If you have ever held a conference and had to try and track down hotel/conference staff to help with something you know how important it is to have them handy. They were wonderfully attentive to all our needs.

The set up is excellent and provided us with everything we needed. Seperate check in far removed from the hotel check in, seperate rooms for breakout sessions, rooms for meals, rooms for main sessions and enough guest rooms for 375 colleagues.

The location of this hotel is awesome! Very close walking distance to downtown shopping and right next to Riverfront Park entertainment. The hotel offers shuttle services for trips to different attractions around town which made it nice for those who were unable to walk.

This hotel has an indoor and outdoor pool with great hours, they also have a very nice gym and they are situated along a great path that follows the river for a great opportunity for early morning runs or an evening stroll.

Every hotel staff person that we met was very pleasant, very helpful and knowledgeable and eager to serve. Would definitely want to hold another conference here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

There was tooth paste spit all over the faucet cobwebs all over the corners white spots on the throw blanket 10$ breakfast that is free every where else stains on the furniture we called the front desk to tell therm we did not have wireless Internet the told use to call the Internet provider we also had to pay for parking and the pool was cold we wasted 200$ next time we will be staying at a holiday in express it is much better quality for a lot less

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel at the Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I wanted to take the time to apologize for the service and cleamliness issues you had during your stay with us. I have forwarded the cleanliness issues to my Director of Housekeeping to address. We hope that you choose to stay with us again as we do offer room packages that include both breakfast and parking in the rate.


Warm Regards,

Brent A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel at the Park

Address: 303 W. North River Drive, Spokane, WA 99201 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Spokane
#9 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel at the Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the edge of Riverfront Park, on the banks of the cascading Spokane River, the Red Lion Hotel at the Park is situated just over a footbridge from downtown Spokane’s biggest attractions. The INB Performing Arts Center and Convention Center, all the best shopping and restaurants and the business district are all just steps away. We are also the closest hotel to Spokane Veterans Arena, within walking distance of Gonzaga University and 10 miles from Spokane International Airport. The lobby features a slate stone entryway, granite fireplace and rich décor, accented with Honduran Mahogany. It invites you to sit, relax and enjoy And, as with all Red Lion Hotels, our staff – from the front desk to room service – is there to ensure that you receive the ultimate in customer service. We now offer business center service in our lobby next to the barista station. Our business station features 3 flat screen computers and 1 printer. Boarding passes and Google map searches can be printed for free.Our deluxe guest rooms and spacious suites are some of the finest in the Inland Northwest. All guest rooms include triple-sheeted, "Stay Comfortable Beds," featuring Sealy Pillowtop mattresses, ergonomic workstations, microwave, refrigerator and free Wi-Fi. Hotel shuttle service is available 24 hours a day. Shuttle service is scheduled according to our guests needs and is subject to availability.For your dining pleasure, we offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult, the Atrium Café & Deli, Park Place Lounge and a deck overlooking the Spokane River and Riverfront Park.We also make it easy to stay fit while traveling with our top-of-the-line fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool as well as an outdoor swimming lagoon, complete with waterslide and waterfall, to enjoy during the summer.With 30,000 square feet of deluxe meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel at the Park is also a full-service convention hotel, able to accommodate 1,300 guests with complete professional conference services.Onsite parking is available for $9 per night.As always, your pets are welcome. Certain Restrictions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Loews Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Spokane
Red Lion Spokane
Spokane Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel at the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.