We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ruby to your Saves list
Hotel Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE BREAKFAST
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
236 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have stayed here before and reviewed it on TripAdvisor last year. Have not visited since but this was our first choice when we were in Spokane last week.

As mentioned, this is a refurbished motel right in the heart of downtown. There is a small fee for paring ($5) and the lot is small so make sure you arrive early to get a spot. I am not sure what happens when the lot is full.

The check-in process was smooth and the clerk helpful and friendly. We were early so requested a specific room and although the room was not yet made up, they held it for us (It is a room on the end where no one walks past your window so you can leave the drapes open).

The room is a bit on the small side but nicely furnished and upgraded. In particular the bathroom has been well done. There is a small fridge and microwave. The linens and towels are good quality. The only drawback is no in-room coffee maker (it is available in the lobby).

The continental breakfast is basic but more than enough to get the day started. If you want more, there are some really good diners in the area.

They provide a coupon for a two for one drink in the Sapphire Lounge.

Not only is this a good hotel but the price is among the best you will find in downtown Spokane.

We will definitely continue to stay here.

Room Tip: End rooms mean no one will be walking by your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    183
    60
    23
    10
See reviews for
87
177
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great location in downtown Spokane - easy walk to riverside park, restaurants, businesses and attractions. Ruby is arty, campy, modern, fun. $88 compact room with fridge, microwave, TV and mini breakfast, off-street parking $5. Bicycles too. Adjoining the lobby is the Sapphire Bar.

Room Tip: 103 near the street has a tub but is noisier 120 was in the rear, shower only but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Spokane! It was such a great price so i was expecting a sorta dirty hotel. It was actually super clean, friendly staff, and great room for the value. Breakfast was just okay, but you'd expect that from any hotel. The only downfall to the hotel was the shower was very old and had an old ripped up bathmat that made it look extra dingy. 2 sinks in the room was nice, and the room was a good size and very clean nice bed. They also have free bikes you can take out to ride around the city for guests! Other than the bathtub i loved it! Oh, and the parking was another downfall, the lot wasn't big enough to fit everyone's car, thankfully we never had a problem parking, but if you return late you're unlikely to find a spot. All in all I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This centrally located hotel came at a great price and met our expectations. We had a room with two beds and it was quite large. Very friendly staff. Great art, music and dance themed, throughout. Comfortable beds, clean rooms. They should add something next to the sink to hang a hand towel. Location could hardly be beat - walk to the river, lots of restaurants, shopping. Breakfast was typical, make your own waffles, cereals, bread product with toaster, hard boiled eggs, so-so coffee. Starbucks and other coffee venues are an easy walk, if you need real coffee. Ask for a pair of earplugs (they are free)to block out noise from air conditioner and from other guests walking around, showering, etc. The nearby train tracks did not generate significant noise. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floor would have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I got this room with a great deal on priceline. It's just about on the edge of downtown. There was lots of places to eat within walking distance.

The room was pretty small. I did however like that you can tell it was recently redone to be more modern. The breakfast was pretty tiny with the normal continental stuff.

The staff was very nice as well. It's getting a 4 since the deal I got was nice, but wouldn't spend more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnyGold, General Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi, thank you for your review! We are glad you liked the room! Our beds are custom-made and many guests tell us how comfortable they are. I am sorry to hear that you thought breakfast was small, but it is much more than a regular continental breakfast, and it's also free! :) We are in a great downtown location that is in the heart of the entertainment district. We hope you were able to get the room type you wanted, since Priceline deals often don't guarantee that. Enjoy the rest of your summer and we would love to have you come and stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Valley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our second visit to the Ruby and we were happy to be back. Rooms are small but very clean with comfortable beds and funky artwork. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location in downtown Spokane. An extra shelf in the bathrooms to arrange toiletries would be very helpful. Small fridge and microwave in rooms. Self-serve breakfast bar with waffles included. Great value for the price of the rooms. WiFi included but sometimes erratic in rooms. Works fine in the lounge.

Room Tip: If you like quiet ask for a room at the back. Top floor probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

So we booked this place for its location and price. The pics I had seen didn't look too bad. Employees here were awesome The room was ok but the bathroom was bad with permanent dirt stains in the tub. Couldn't reach the toilet paper from toilet. Towel rack six inches above counter on back wall. A.c could only keep half the room cool. Breakfast very minimal. The lounge is cool also. So looks like they tried to turn this place into a cool place but cheaped out in a few areas. Which is too bad

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#16 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Madison Inn by Riversage
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso
The Davenport Lusso
#9 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#9 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#10 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District. Directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theatre, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.