We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ruby to your Saves list
Hotel Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Spokane
Fairbanks
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Easy location right in town with free parking and breakfast. The room was comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. I only have two tiny complaints--no MSN or CNN on the TV-I always look forward to cable when I travel and was disappointed. Also, the pillows were awful. Oh, well, for the price I can live with not-so-great pillows and Cable with no MSN or CNN.

Room Tip: The stairs are scary-ask for the ground floor--or take the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    150
    48
    22
    8
See reviews for
67
145
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The giveaway was the sign at the front desk that offered free ear plugs! that's one I had never seen before. I soon realized why! The railroad runs right behind the Hotel but in fairness it runs close to all the Hotels downtown. The Bathrooms need updating & I think that's happening at the moment. The Hotel is fairly basic no fills but decent value for money in a central location, convenient for shops, restaurants & the like. Parking is limited but I didn't have any trouble, rooms were very clean & the staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Once again, we stayed at the Ruby. The location just can't be beat. It was fairly quiet. The king size bed was comfy; the pillows a overly large. A couple of other complaints: the bathroom fan is attached to the light and is LOUD! I like to have a shower cap for my long hair but none are offered. Otherwise, a great deal in a great location!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennewick, wa
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I'd stayed in this hotel years ago when it was a budget property and was pleasantly surprised at the amazing renovation. Very classy in terms of décor and service. Beds and linens very good, pillows another story. (What's wrong with a pillow menu, one very soft pillow and the rest regular ones? Lots of hotels do this) Top quality materials used in the bathroom. Soap and lotions very nice too. Desk staff friendly and accommodating. Flat screen TV with a minimum of channel offerings. They say basic cable, I was thinking maybe they had an antenna on the roof! In room coffee would be nice also. Parking is a nightmare, cramped and difficult to maneuver especially with the security gate. This however can't be changed. Continental breakfast very decent. Location is great and it's likely the best priced hotel in downtown Spokane. Would I stay there again, sure I'd just pack my own pillow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Wa
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Well, what can you do with a 50's/60's era downtown motor inn. Most would say demolish and rebuild. But these guys did a real nice job with a boutique-style makeover. Yeah, I know, motor inn and boutique is pretty oxymoronish, but it all works very nicely. I love their selections of colors all around, with dark reds and blacks and grays. It works very well with the surrounding historic red brick buildings around it. The room makeovers are nicely done, as well. The beds are super comfortable, with over-sized pillows, and each guest gets two of those beauties. Can't beat it's location and affordability for downtown Spokane. Within a short walking distance to several of the best dining options Spokaloo has to offer. My wife and I really liked this place for a couple's getaway, and it's definitely on our 'come back' list...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Hotel Ruby is a nicely re-done motel at an affordable price and in a convenient location. I loved all the art inside and out! The beds were nice and comfy and you have to try the make-your-own breakfast waffles.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel Ruby

With a handful of days to burn and a hankering for a road trip, I packed a rucksack and called up a free-birding buddy to join me for a voyage across highway 90, the hop hewn highway of the gods, where a glut of fine establishments awaited at our final destination, a road trip for bleary eyed codgers searching for tannin toned fermented swill. We pointed our car for the Cascades and beyond, stopping at The Brick in Roslyn for a quick meal and a warm pint before making our way over the pass. Tucked under my buddy’s arm was a magazine with the whereabouts of all of the microbrews from Anacortes to Missoula, the exalted Bible of Ralph, if you will. Our first stop was Spokane, a little beer oasis resting along a meandering river in the otherwise clay cracked earth of the Cascade’s east side. We pulled into Hotel Ruby, throwing our rucksacks to the floor before heading to a riverside park for a brew-fest, a one stop beer stop representing micro-guzzle-wash from both sides of the Cascade divide.

Now, a lot of old style motels have taken their worn-out facilities and tried to pull off a retro style inn in a feeble attempt to lure a few straggling guests and I expected the same tired theme with The Hotel Ruby. It wasn’t to be the case. The on premise retro era ultra-lounge plays classic lazy lounge-side ditties, while the libation educated bartender pours a great selection of bourbons and other mind-altering medleys. This guy knows his business. The room is small but creatively displayed, as comfortable as it was quaint. The art throughout the facility is right on and the staff is top notch, from the desk clerk to the house cleaners. The breakfast is more ambiance than sustenance, but it’s a great place to stuff back a rotisserie waffle while listening to Sinatra croon away a throbbing crown. Take a catnap, stay the night, have a drink, visit Irv’s for a drag show, and barhop the micro-establishments. And while you’re zigzagging the streets of Spokane in quest for discovering the drink of the gods--the holy hop grail--make sure to hunker down at the Hotel Ruby. It’s the one and only place to settle in when the witching hour of exodus arrives, when it’s time to put down the glass and find the crooked path back to an abode where you can shake off your weary sea legs...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#9 Family Hotel in Spokane
#16 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District. Directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theatre, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.