We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, fun, cute, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ruby to your Saves list
Hotel Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE BREAKFAST
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unique, fun, cute, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

It's a shame I only stayed here for one night! Such a fun, artsy place! Love the retro decorations and it's near so many places to shop, eat, drink, explore.

Got a 2 queen bed suite (military discount is 10%) and loved the room, especially the paintings and red walls! Shower is really pretty too. We got a coupon for the Sapphire Lounge (attached to the hotel) for 2 for 1 wine or beer (which was a great Washigton pale ale btw) and chatted with great people. The consierge was so helpful in giving us a map of Spokane and recommended restaurants, bars and shops. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone passing through!

Extra tip: eat at the restaurant Scratch. Trust me!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    201
    64
    26
    12
See reviews for
98
192
44
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

While not fancy, this hotel is a very pleasant place to stay that is convenient to the shops, restaurants and attractions in downtown Spokane. We stayed here three nights after returning from a vacation in Glacier Park. Our room was clean and uncluttered, the beds were comfortable, and I enjoyed the glass-walled shower. Parking is tight in the small lot, but we did always manage to find a space. The desk staff was pleasant and efficient. Hotel Ruby is within easy walking distance of Riverfront Park and is an easy drive to the airport. All in all a great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Ruby for two nights in July 2013. The rooms were clean and included a mini fridge and microwave (for longer stays I'm guessing). Breakfast was disappointing but hotel staff very friendly and the central location means you have easy access to nicer meals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hotel Ruby is a classy reboot of an old motel. I'm pretty certain that this place used to rent rooms by the hour before the switch. I'm happy to say that a lot has changed since then. The rooms were clean and classy, but still affordable. The neighborhood around the hotel is becoming hipper with great venues and good bars. While not as sketchy as it once was, the neighborhood is still downtown Spokane.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna BC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We booked into the Ruby for 2 nights so we could explore Spokane a bit and head to Coeur d'Alene. This hotel didn't disappoint. We arrived quite early and the room was not ready (we were okay with that). We asked if we could leave our car parked in the lot and it was not a problem. There were no problems checking in and we were given a 2 for 1 coupon for drinks in the Sapphire Lounge, which we enjoyed. Once we got into the room, it was very clean and well done. The bed was very cozy and it was right in the heart of downtown Spokane. Close to the park, shopping and great restaurants and bars. There was a small continental breakfast in the Sapphire Lounge. It did the trick. The only complaint I could have had is when we came back late one night, there was no parking that we paid for. Not a problem. We were given a pass for a lot 1/2 a block away and all was good. We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, WA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Ruby. It is a redone motel from a different time, updated for a fun nights rest. We got a deal on a travel website so I believe we got the least expensive room. That was fine for us for a one night stay in Spokane. The location was perfect for our needs, just blocks from shopping too. I do have to say the last time we stayed over night in Spokane it was at the Davenport which is across the street. But, I would stay at Hotel Ruby again. The bed was comfortable for us. The bathroom could use a bit more updating as the tiles were a bit old and paint job only ok. The fixtures on the sink and shower are newer and the sink outside the bathroom has new counters, which looks good. We only had two sets of towels but in our reservation we included three of us in our party (myself, my husband and our son). We had an early appointment and were happy with the early continental breakfast. It is perfect for our breakfast needs. We checked out on time and asked if we could leave our car parked for another hours and they were fine with that. I did find one thing amusing, the fridge/microwave is the same as I had in my dorm in college over 15 years ago. That was funny, but useful. Over all we enjoyed our stay and when we are back to Spokane will stay at Hotel Ruby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Actually would rate this "Good" but they don't have that option. It is an older hotel with a bit smaller room size which has been updated. The room was clean, the pillows comfortable, modern decoration. The bed was good - not too hard, not old and sinking in the middle. It had a small fridge to keep drinks cold. The air conditioner had trouble keeping up with the heat wave we were in and the parking lot is good only for cars - but they had an overflow parking lot 1/2 a block away that was much easier to park our truck. The location was awesome! It was walking distance to the downtown mall, the park with the Gondola rides over the river, neighborhood pubs and a variety of quaint shops. It was actually quiet and felt safe especially for a "downtown" location. The breakfast was standard continental with a waffle maker. We had intermittent TV and Wi-Fi one of the nights but were too tired to say anything so they were unaware of it. They worked the rest of the time. The bathroom had the new glass wall/door with nice marble tile. New facilities. (Could vacuum out the vent since you can see into it and change the light switch which is quite dated) I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#14 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#4 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Madison Inn by Riversage
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso
The Davenport Lusso
#10 of 46 in Spokane
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#10 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#19 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District. Directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theatre, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.