We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ruby to your Saves list
Hotel Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
Almira, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Location location location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel has recently been renovated and the beds, art and overall feel when you enter the room is great. Comfy clean bed, pillows. But the bathrooms have not been updated yet. The hotel feels like a fancy motel 6. The Sapphire Lounge is fantastic and the atmosphere and décor at night is fantastic. I felt the breakfast was decent but not amazing. The waffle maker is what saved it in my eyes. English muffins, decent coffee, apples and oranges, some cereal and hard boiled eggs. re is a train track that runs right near the hotel which did cause some noise and so on butThe thing that saves this hotel is the lounge and the LOCATION! You are close to some awesome dining places, entertainment venues and close to the freeway. we walked to most of the places we wanted to eat etc. I'd say for the price, its a place to book.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    135
    41
    21
    7
See reviews for
58
127
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baumholder, Germany
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

First this is far closer to a motel than a hotel. They've basically put some paint and some new linens on a very old hotel and called it boutique. The first room I had was unbelievably bad and the Internet worked only in a very small corner of the room the bathroom was atrocious. The staff were very helpful when I asked to be moved and I was put in a room that had at least been renovated to some extent. Breakfast was good with a waffle station and the hotel is in a great location just a few minutes walk from river park center. There is a lot of nightlife around the hotel if you like that but if you dint it's going to be a little loud. In all we can't recommend this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in June with a family of 4. upgraded to the suite and enjoyed the extra roominess. the atmosphere was awesome, the beds were new and very comfy. great breakfast included! sweet little lounge in the building! only a couple blocks from the waterfront for a great couple days of sightseeing and shopping. By the looks and location you might not think of bringing kids here, but our 2 and 5 year old had a blast and felt very safe. staff was very friendly and accommodating. would definitely stay again.
only negative, and not the Hotels fault...Spokane TV sucks, so bring an iPad for the kids.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here with my sister for a weekend. I highly recommend.

Pluses:
1) Free breakfast, including cereal, English muffins, juice, coffee, hard-boiled eggs, and a wafflemaker!
2) Free wi-fi
3) Funky boutique design- very unique, art deco-ish, and fun.
4) Cool little bar downstairs with a fireplace and fun vibe.
5) Super comfy- like five-star-hotel comfy- mattresses
6) One of the nicest showers I've ever experienced in all my travels- just perfect spray and pressure
7) Super clean and maintained
8) Free bikes!!!
9) Great location downtown, walking distance to the mall, restaurants and bars, Riverfront Park, and the Davenport.
10) Super helpful and friendly staff
11) Each room has a fridge and microwave

Minuses:
1) It is an old motel, so there's no inside-hallway entry. Rooms have 1 big window that face the outdoor walkway, so you can't open your windows while you sleep, or open the curtains for safety reasons.
2) Can be a bit noisy on the lower floor.

Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, so you don't hear people walking over your head at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were attending a wedding at the Spokane Club, and this was really convenient and affordable. The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom nicely updated, and the staff very helpful. Restaurants and a great dueling piano bar are really close, so we didn't have to fight for parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Because of the great price, I booked my daughter at the Hotel Ruby when she was traveling through Spokane last year. She had such positive comments, that I booked a stop last week. She was right. It's a small funky hotel with safe parking, clean rooms, good internet, free breakfast, friendly staff, comfy bed, and great downtown location. And did I mention good value. This is great 3 star hotel at a 2 star price that makes you want to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have been staying at Hotel Ruby since it was a Rodeway hotel, It far exceeds what it used to be. Some things still need to be worked on as it is an older property, I recently stayed in room 214, and I have a few pet peeves when staying in a 5 star or a boutique hotel, one, I do not like to see cords jumbled and tangled as they were under the nightstand, and two like I said it is an older property, but the floors creaked with every step. That room in particular needs to be re-remodeled. I think at one time there was a water leak because the floor dips under the bathroom tiles any at the desk. Sounds like it could be rotted wood. Yes people the parking is tight but learn how to maneuver your car and you won't have a problem! This will not in anyway stop me from staying there. It's centrally located to everything I like about downtown Spokane, great shopping, restaurants, nightclubs, pubs, salons, boutiques and Riverfront Park, and Hotel Ruby also has a wonderful lounge that has become quite the hotspot for locals and travelers!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#8 Family Hotel in Spokane
#10 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District. Directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theatre, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.