We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and eclectic hotel room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ruby to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #15 of 43 hotels in Spokane
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location and eclectic hotel room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just came back from a weekend trip to Spokane and stayed at Hotel Ruby, which is very centrally located in downtown, within walking distance from everything, especially shopping centers, restaurants, and the Riverside Park where there are great attractions such as the Spokane falls. The hotel room has obviously been renovated, with red walls, nice fixtures and has a clean, modern feel. There is a microwave in the room, but unfortunately no coffee maker. Even though it's a motel which open access, I didn't feel unsafe, but was woken up at early hours of the morning by neighbors' visitors who were pounding on their doors. Breakfast offers a good variety, and despite being labelled continental, offers hard boiled eggs and waffles, beyond the usual toast and juice that's associated with continental. They also offer toiletries in case you forgot to bring yours, which I did so that was a nice amenity. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    122
    39
    19
    7
See reviews for
52
113
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This place isn't a hotel. It's a motel. The stairs are rickety and not even. My companion's door was wide open upon arrival. The rooms were fairly clean and updated but bathtubs had not been redone. The characters in the bar were rough looking and we saw people in corners outside doing drugs. People partied outside and 'ladies of the night ' were clearly trying to get customers. We saw one woman in the bar near the entrance to motel exposing her breasts. The motel offers complimentary ear plugs- what does that tell you? After having a drink in the bar we decided not to stay and left our already booked and paid for rooms and went to the Davenport. At 1 am. I've lived in large crime ridden cities and stayed in different places and types of hotels in other parts of the world. This motel is not as advertised, not relaxing and does not appear safe.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnyGold, Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are terribly sorry that you felt this way! We have 24 hour staff at our front desk as well as monitored surveillance cameras. Our courtyard into the hotel has a gate that is closed at 10pm, all designed with the goal of safety and comfort for our guests. Our bar staff is trained to spot "ladies of the night", and they certainly aren't allowed to work on our property in our tiny, cozy bar!
We have updated the rooms, and are still working on the bathrooms! We have finished our complete remodel of approximately 1/2 of the bathrooms. All of our new bathrooms have walk in glass showers and the walls and floors are tiled. You could certainly request one of those if you ever decide to try us again!
Yes, we offer complimentary earplugs as a courtesy to our guests, as well as complimentary toothbrushes, toothpaste, combs and even bicycles!
Again, we are truly sorry that you weren't comfortable here. Best regards, Anny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is right in the heart of downtown, just blocks from Riverside Park, library, courthouse, easy access to shopping and many restaurants. The bed was wonderful, soft fluffy towels, great pillows. Staff was helpful and friendly. They provided a coupon for drinks - buyone, geton free, from the attached small bar. Continental breakfast provided. Cable TV, large modern shower. I would definitely stay here again if I needed to b ein Spokane.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Ignatius, Montana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This has been my favorite place to stay downtown for years. I like the fact that it is accessible to the night life in the downtown area. The staff has always been helpful. Recently they have begun taking out the old bathtubs and put in walking showers. It is a needed practical improvement. I would recommend calling a head of time, a week or two. I used to be able to just come over and stop in and get a room but their improvements over the years have made this a popular place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spent a Tuesday night here. My room was directly over the bar. Partying well past bar closure at midnight. I think I got to sleep around 2:30. Between the loud partying in the bar, partying/yelling in the parking lot, and my lovely next-door neighbor who kept pounding on his door b/c his girlfriend wouldn't let him in, I think I got three hours sleep. Oh, and there's a train that runs by it as well. The one redeeming quality is that the beds are nice and comfortable. Nonetheless, I won't be back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 101-108 and 201-208 if you don't want to be by the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked this for the last night of an Idaho ski trip before flying out of Spokane in the morning. We got there mid afternoon and check-in was smooth and we got a parking spot. I ran through downtown a few blocks to the Centennial trail and the views of the rapids of the Spokane River. We stopped down at the bar off the lobby and it was great. Easy one block walk to the Steamplant for dinner. We had one of the "view" rooms which wasn't a great view but not the next building across the alley. It was right across from the elevator but I was surprised that we didn't hear much noise. Don't expect a luxury room at this price, but it was clean and bright new paint covered any ugliness.

In the morning we found that our flight was cancelled due to Denver weather and we couldn't get out until the next day. Went downstairs and had no problem rebooking the same room. Had their free breakfast. Not a great selection but they had the waffles I always enjoy. Went for another run, walked to the mall and saw an Imax movie, and ate lunch and dinner downtown. Never had to move the car. I saw someone else who couldn't get their car out because they were against a pillar and the next car had parked crooked, and the front desk clerk seemed like he was going to be helpful to find the other car owner to move it. A big SUV might have trouble parking here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here in January and was very pleased with our experience. Stayed in a king bed suite. The room was a conference room with a fold out murphy bed. This was on the ground floor and had cars parked right outside our door. Room had a leather couch and a huge 50+ inch tv. A nice wet bar for entertaining was also in this pretty large room. Bathroom was large with only a shower. One of the only complaints we had was the room was freezing. I don't think it gets used often and the room never heated up to a point to where it was comfortable to walk around without a sweater or sweatshirt on. Staff was pleasant and was given some drink coupons to the lounge which we didn't get to use. There is a continental breakfast in the lounge in the morning, but I highly recommend walking a block and having breakfast at Scout next to the Montvale. Good value I thought.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#10 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is centrally located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District. This hotel is across from the Knitting Factory Concert House, Bing Crosby Theatre, Fox Theater, and a few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and the INB Performing Arts Center. It is a short walk to Riverfront Park with all its attractions, including the river walk, Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters, as well as many great restaurants. Area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart are a 3 minute drive. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, free parking, on-site laundry and pets are welcome with additional charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.