We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Men.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ruby to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 hotels in Spokane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Men.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Good location near the Knitting Factory & downtown. Nice bed. Everything else was pretty awful. Our "suite" was a dim, shabby room with an unfinished bathroom (no TP holder, construction measurements written on the shower enclosure, no shelf/soap holder in shower, etc). We tried this place b/c it was reasonably priced but for an additional $60 - $90 you can stay @ the Montvale or Davenport which are great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    128
    41
    21
    7
See reviews for
56
120
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connell, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is THE place to stay in downtown Spokane. For a King room with parking $80. The room was super clean the Maids do a wonderful job and the bed was very comfortable. From check in to check out the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The General Manager does a GREAT job keeping this place running smooth. The bar tender at the Starlight Lounge knew her drinks and made sure my wife and I had a nice pre funk, with some new friends we met at the hotel, before heading out to the Knitting Factory (that is literally across the street). Talk about location, if you plan on a Knitting Factory concert and are looking for a nice, modern, clean and safe hotel, look no further than The Hotel Ruby! They offer room/concert package getaways so check their site before you buy your tickets from the Knitting Factory. The Ruby just might have a deal waiting for you. I can't wait to stay at the Ruby again. Thank you for making our trip to see The Reverend Horton Heat a memorable one.

Room Tip: Make sure to try and get an upper room, we didn't hear any noise from our room and slept very we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colville, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Location is as important for a hotel as for a home. In Spokane, the little Ruby hotel is owned by Mr. Dickey and his wife who have just purchased the Bing (an historical landmark theater) who are doing major reconstrution there. The Ruby is a skip and a hop across the street to the Davenport Hotel which is delighted to share it's glorious lobby as Spokane's Livingroom. I've cozied up with a book or journal in the lobby in one of its huge sofas. The Ruby offers parking, senior rate, and a fun little bar with savvy young bartenders. It's clean. Lots of original paintings inside and out. I love\being greeted at night by the sparkles in their sidewalk up to the little reception area.

I won't rave on and on. This is my secret hideaway, very affordable, safe and quiet. Shusshhh.don't tell anyone I told you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The room we stayed in was clean and the decor was very modern and artsy. It was a pleasant surprise. The staff was very friendly and helpful, our car battery died one morning and the staff immediately jumped in to help. Another great thing about this hotel was the completely free breakfast every morning with a good selection and Thomas Hammer coffee. The location is perfect as it is only blocks away from the mall and theatres and several of the top rated restaurants in Spokane. We will definitely return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay @ Hotel Ruby. We were greeted with a warm welcome, put into a very clean and comfortable room that was close to downtown Spokane and the nightlife it has. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I read the reviews and was more than a little nervous and intrigued to see what we would find since we were arriving so late. Just about every review is accurate, even though some gave 2 stars and others 5. For a budget motel, you can't do much. We've stayed at the places in Spokane for twice the price that were worse. Sure, the carpet and bathroom seem like part of an old motor inn, but the bed and bedding were very comfortable - what I usually see at a pricier spot. The flatscreen TV was nicely mounted to pivot in any direction. Best features were the beds, the bar and the service - very pleasant on all counts. These are the things I value most. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Idaho
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We made an overnight trip to Spokane to be able to make an early morning flight from the Spokane airport. We could have stayed across from the airport but didn't want the typical bland experience of airport inns. We love downtown Spokane but wanted a less expensive place to stay. Hotel Ruby was the perfect solution. Was an easy walk to our preferred restaurants and shops all located within a couple blocks of the hotel. The room was interesting & the small space well-thought out. For example, the heater had a narrow cover over it giving additional counter space. Timed overhead heater made the bathroom super comfy & quiet. Gated parking for safety was nice. Lovely lounge/limited restaurant & the coffee smelled wonderful in the morning. Couldn't stay for the breakfast bar but I bet it was tasty. We asked to have a quiet room & received a double queen room that was the full width of the hotel with a fantastic view looking toward Steam Plant Grill/Davenport, etc. Friendly staff, clean furnishings & comfy beds. We'll return for sure.

Room Tip: Next time I'd ask for the same room but on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#9 Family Hotel in Spokane
#10 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is centrally located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District. This hotel is across from the Knitting Factory Concert House, Bing Crosby Theatre, Fox Theater, and a few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and the INB Performing Arts Center. It is a short walk to Riverfront Park with all its attractions, including the river walk, Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters, as well as many great restaurants. Area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart are a 3 minute drive. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, free parking, on-site laundry and pets are welcome with additional charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.