We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price; offbeat but can be offputting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ruby to your Saves list
Hotel Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great price; offbeat but can be offputting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Booked this for the great price and positive reviews. Clearly the owners have tried and mostly succeeded in making a tired property hip, fun and affordable to downtown visitors. But the layout of this 50s-style motel means that you can't keep your curtains open without losing privacy; that said, the views are of a parking lot, freight trains, and buildings. Additionally, parking fills up quickly (though free parking nearby is plentiful). This may be fine if you're in town for a concert or dinner but could get old if you needed to stay more than a night or two. There is a nice bar/cafe downstairs that serves a good complimentary breakfast, and the staff is very helpful and friendly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    142
    41
    21
    8
See reviews for
61
134
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omak, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were actually just looking for something inexpensive and near the Knitting Factory, We had never stayed here but we thought we would give it a try. The staff was very polite on arrival but the big surprise was our room. It was not huge but the decor was beautiful and the beds actually had comforters and real pillows. The bathroom was large and the television was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. We also had an excellent view of the buildings in the area which are very nice. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Ruby is a solid value!

The owners have done a nice job here, the rates are very fair. The rooms are chic and very well appointed with a comfortable down comforter bed, large flat panel tv, microwave and a good sized refrigerator. The property is older but that is very hard to detect. Everything has been updated and it feels nicely fresh. Your rate includes a free drink at their lounge (Nice Touch!), basic cont. breakfast with waffles and parking. Parking can be a challenge here, the hotel owns about a dozen and half spots, however they do have two remote overflow parking lots within a half block. This can be a hassle if the hotel is full. The property is mostly clean and feels safe, there are many restaurants within walking distance and the riverfront park/mall area is a ten minute walk away. Most of the staff are friendly and go the extra mile.

Thank You!
Kind Regards.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Clean, very good beds, and convenient location with several excellent restaurants nearby. Secure car parking a bonus. Reception staff excellent and we enjoyed a good breakfast. Would stay again. Bar staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Ruby. The funky, modern atmosphere was fun, and the service was great. The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. The continental breakfast was very nice. The location is very convenient. Our room was quiet despite overlooking a main thoroughfare. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay at a great price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stopped in Spokane for a night after three nights camping near Glacier. We didn't want to blow the budget, but wanted to stay centrally located. I was SO happy when I found Hotel Ruby online. For around $85, we got a room with two double beds, super clean and modern, right in the heart of the city. I love that they've reclaimed what I guess was once I run-down motel and turned it into something so cool. It's very much like The Modern in Boise or the Jupiter Hotel in Portland. I will warn you though: if you're looking for valet parking, a spa, or turn-down service, this is not the hotel for you. For twice the price, you can get a lovely room at the Davenport (which by the way, is in the exact same neighborhood). I for one, can't wait to stay at the Ruby again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We arrived at Hotel Ruby and we guided through the fastest, most efficient check-in I've ever experienced. When we got to our room, it was clean and most simply and elegantly appointed. Smart use of space (small closets built in) hid the fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Although small, the bathroom was clean with an adjustable shower head with a goose neck piping that made it quite nice for my 6'2" boyfriend. We paid for parking and were able to find a spot both nights, although we arrived home from a local theme park at 11 the second night. And the lounge, what an absolute find! My boyfriend does not drink on any basis, usually. But I convinced him to have one and he chose the Melon Mojito. Watching the young woman muddle the mint and mix the drink was a treat, fresh ingredients and a cheerful bartender. I had the Aviation, quite simply the best drink I have ever had. EVER! I had four in two days. Do NOT be dissuaded by the price of the drinks (@ 8 dollars each), they are worth it and you will savor the fresh made enjoyability of every sip. The only thing I can think to warn someone of is that they have FIRM pillows. If you are a pillow smoosher, or usually use two, bring one of your own, as they did invest in quality firm pillows to grace their wonderful beds. And the proximity to downtown Spokane is ideal for anyone wishing to save gas and still be able to enjoy an exciting nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#9 Family Hotel in Spokane
#10 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#16 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District. Directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theatre, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.