We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown on a Dime” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ruby to your Saves list
Hotel Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Spokane
Garfield, Arkansas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Downtown on a Dime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a great little hotel to stay in for the budget minded person. This hotel will provide you the location (across from the world famous Davenport Hotel) on a budget. The location is the ticket and the price is right. The newly renovated rooms are clean, bright, and comfortable. It has a nice jazzy feel, bright colors...there are very little ammenities with this hotel. This is truly for those seeking a night out in Downtown Spokane, shopping, or anything that puts you right in the heart of downtown, but without the need to spend all your time taking in things of the bigger hotels (pools, exercise rooms, etc.) The beds are comfy, good bedding, no cheap hotel feel to the beds at all...

Room Tip: The front room facing the main street is my favorite - its huge, and you can watch all the action of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    150
    48
    22
    8
See reviews for
67
145
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Cute hotel but the bed frame in 102 sticks out about 6 inches past the bed. Got out of bed, only to get a huge gash on my foot.

Room Tip: Check the bed frame on the bed. My foot is still bleeding
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnyGold, General Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
SIr, thank you for your feedback. Since our conversation we have fixed the bedframe in the room you stayed in, and we have checked all of the other rooms to make sure we don't have the same problem again. My offer to pay any doctor bills you might incur still stands, so please let us know if you have that need! We are so sorry this happened and appreciate that you let us know right away before you left the hotel!! Best regards and we hope to see you in the future! Anny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at the Ruby for one night in April 2012 and it was all we needed and more.
Yes, the bathroom and tub were old, but everything else seemed revamped and it was very clean. I can tell it would be loud on the weekend, but you should kind of expect that in the middle of a downtown area. We stayed on a Sunday night and it was chill and quiet. The BED was truly amazing - seriously - one of the most comfortable, best-smelling hotel beds I've ever slept in! The staff was very lovely and helpful, the complimentary breakfast was super generous, and for the total price of under $70 - really, you can't ask for a better deal!

Room Tip: the King Bed room is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed here when we were going to a concert. (The Knitting Factory concert venue is right across the street. Very convenient!) This is a motel, not hotel. It is very cute and fun. They've painted the walls red and hung neat art. We had a fridge and microwave, which was nice. They seem to be in the process of remodeling bit by bit. Our bathroom had a modern black countertop and fixtures, but the tub and walls were old fashioned pink tile. Everything was clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! The room smelled great (unlike other reviews?) The staff is very very friendly and helpful. This isn't the Davenport for sure,but for the price it was perfect! Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Booked this hotel on a recommendation from a friend. everything about this hotel was amazing i was greeted at the check in by an amazing employee justin he checked me in and told me about the attached lounges great specials.

upon entering my room i though WOW this is amazing the room had amazing art and was really clean. i was impressed with the flat screen televisions. the room was a good size as it was just me traveling alone.

following justin's recommendation i went to the lounge for an appetizer and a classic cocktail. the bartender was fast and friendly and really knew a lot about his booze. the appetizer was an amazing flatbread pizza thing that was a great value ($5.00) the bartender told me that they do all day happy hour on sundays and mondays.

after enjoying my drink i retired to my room where it felt like i just melted into my bed. the bed was soft and the sheets were crisp. i am not sure what other reviewers were talking about but i didn't really hear the train at all probably because the bed was so amazing

i would totally recommend this hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnyGold, Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!! Thank you for giving us your feedback. Cheers! Anny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Booked several rooms for family for a long weekend and had many issues. One couple could not stay in their room because it smelled like mold. We got no sleep until we complained at 3:30 about the noise from the hockey team downstairs. The toilet leaked for 2 days-we had to put the trash can under it! Just because you paint the walls red and put in flat screen TV's does not alter the fact that it is a 1950's motel with small rooms and aging bathrooms. The double rooms are much nicer than the singles.

Room Tip: Get double if you can and avoid being above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnyGold, Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are currently remodeling the bathrooms to update them. As you know, we were sorry for your leak and did offer to move you to a new room. We always strive to give the best service and experience we can. When you declined to move, we were happy to give you discounts and give one of your family members a free night stay. We are very careful never to have mold in our rooms! We are glad you liked your double room, please understand that we have many different "single" room types, and perhaps we could offer you a different one next time! Again, thank you for giving us your feedback, and we certainly hope that we can serve you better in a future stay! Best regards, Anny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I brought my granddaughter to stay the night before going to the Lilac Festival tea at the Davenport. The staff was so nice, enjoyed Angel, she was so nice, & helped us get a late check out so that after the tea we could come back to our room & change out of our princess dresses...The rooms were clean, loved the comfort of the beds, esp; those sheets. loved the orig. art in & outside of the Hotel. the personal letter greeting us from housekeeping was a nice touch.My grand daughter wrote her a note cack. the continental breakfast was nice, enjoyed the hot waffle. We just went accross the street for our event. thank you for a great experience.Kimberly Frechette

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnyGold, Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Kimberly, thank you for your kind words! We are glad you came to stay! We have enjoyed adding all of the unique art to the hotel and love hearing about it from guests. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers! Anny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#9 Family Hotel in Spokane
#16 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District. Directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theatre, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.