We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ruby to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #14 of 43 hotels in Spokane
Clarkston, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I love that they are right downtown. The price is very reasonable. The room was clean and modern. The customer service was surprisingly above standard for this price range.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    118
    38
    19
    7
See reviews for
52
109
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, Ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

It was a pleasure staying at this hotel! Everything about our stay was first-rate; from the staff, the room, location and of course - the price. The location is great, right in downtown Spokane, about a 20 min bus ride from the airport (drops you off 1/2 block from the hotel) and within walking distance to everything.

Upon check in, the desk clerk who checked us in went so far as to help the other person in my party figure out a route for her morning jog; not a normal request but she was so helpful and accommodating! Also, each person we encountered from the hotel; the other desk clerks, and maids were warm, welcoming and helpful. Also, we were there for Spokane’s First Friday Art Walk – the hotel was hosting an event and had a live band playing outside and $1.00 bratwursts on the grill. It was a lot of fun and we met some nice people.

The rooms were comfortable (nice firm beds), CLEAN and I appreciated all the amenities that were provided (extra shampoo/lotion/body wash/conditioner without having to ask!). It's all those little things that add up to a wonderful stay. My only minor complaint is the Wi-Fi speed, it did work, just slowly.

Overall, we were greatly impressed by the hotel and if we are ever in the area again we wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Staey overnight May 2011. This hotel was called something different when we were planning the trip and got good T/A reviews at that time. After initial panic when couldnt see the old hotel name, we enquired and received a pleasant surprise! We were told the place had been renovated on change of ownership (?2010) and it looked it. All clean and comfortable. Colour scheme is 'adveturous' as per current T/A photos. We had king bed room with ensuite at bargain price for the location. Excellent location meant we were able to walk around city centre, and very good dinner recommendation was also appreciated (Scratch restaurant, close to hotel). There is a train line behind the hotel, but (a) most downtown hotels have to put up with this (b) wasnt too noisy

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Hotel Ruby is a pleasant surprise. Located in downtown Spokane close to the Fox Theatre, this small boutique hotel offers upscale features at a budget price: comfortable beds, nicely appointed rooms, secure (free) parking, a continental breakfast and pet friendly. The outside of the building and the rooms are decorated with modern art that fits well with the artistic mood of the surrounding theatres and restaurants. The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating.
There are two drawbacks to the hotel. One is the small size of the rooms, however this is to be compared with the very reasonable overall cost. The second is the high pet fee, $25 per animal, when compared to similar hotels of this calibre. Overall the Ruby is a great place to stay, whether for a weekend get-away or as we were, passing through Spokane on our motorbikes with our small dog.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

It's an old motel converted into a nice, clean and good value hip botique hotel. I reference the term motel because it is only two floors and guests enter their rooms from an exterior balcony. The rooms have been upgraded to include a flat-screen tv and free wireless. It was clean, had great customer service and in a great location! I walked to both a great dinner and breakfast spot. If I'm ever back in Spokane I would definitely stay at the Ruby Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port orchard
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We made the decision to stay at the Hotel Ruby based on Tripadvisor reviews. This small hotel is a bit retro and mostly new age. For our needs, the room was perfect in every way. It's within walking distance to many restaurants including one of our favorites, PF Chang.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

On the plus side, the hotel had free wifi and free parking in a lower downtown location close to the Davenport Hotel and the Spaqhetti Factory. The river and historic electric plant were within walking distance. Breakfast was free, with bagels, cereal, bread, and coffee. On the minus side, the rooms were cramped and smelled like an old house with gas heat. The rooms did not seem too clean, with pink scum growing in the toilet. There was no view, as the wall facing the street was bricked over.
If you cannot navigate stairs, ask for a room that's on the same level as the elevator, as most of the rooms are up a few steps from where the elevator stops.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 West 1st Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#9 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is centrally located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District. This hotel is across from the Knitting Factory Concert House, Bing Crosby Theatre, Fox Theater, and a few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and the INB Performing Arts Center. It is a short walk to Riverfront Park with all its attractions, including the river walk, Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters, as well as many great restaurants. Area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart are a 3 minute drive. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, free parking, on-site laundry and pets are welcome with additional charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.