We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seemed to have passed their peak” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sante Restaurant & Charcuterie

Sante Restaurant & Charcuterie
404 W Main Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-0214
+1 509-315-4613
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 770 Restaurants in Spokane
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Breakfast & lunch every day from 9am-3pm. Social hour 3-6pm. Dinner service nightly 5pm-close. French techniques, Northwest products. Eat globally / Act locally...... A Votre Sante
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Seemed to have passed their peak”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Sante about this time last year and really liked it. In fact, we booked ahead for this trip when we were in Coeur D'alene so we wouldn't miss out. We had the Charcuterie board last year and it was great ... this time the meats tasted old, bordering on rancid ... not nearly as good.

We ordered pork tenderloin and beef steak as our entrees. The beef that my spouse had was tasty, but very tough ... not a great cut of meat. The pork tenderloin would have been a good meal, but it was spoiled by the fact that we had to share a steak knife (that's correct one knife), and I spent the majority of my meal with an empty wine glass. We went in to complain and the waiter finally came out and said that they're really short-staffed and that they're not usually this bad. I'd say overall it's a pretty pathetic effort.

If you want to charge big league prices then you have to staff with pros. If you can't get the staff, then please don't seat people and ignore them and be surprised when they're disappointed in the service. It feels to me like this place won't last long ... unrealistically presumptuous and offering poor service. There are many better options available in Spokane!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    33
    7
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Carefully, artistically and deliously prepared food, served by professional and pleasant people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have had lunch many times at Sante since it opens in 2008, with co-workers, friends, and family. Always impressed with the food quality and services. I was told that almost all ingredients they serve besides vegetables are made in-house, which shows in the taste from the menu items. My favorites are grilled cheese and shirred eggs. Tofu and vegetable is not my favorite, the grilled tofu tastes a bit bland in my opinion. Great ambience, and great services, whether I was there for a cup of tea or lunch. I haven't tried their dinner yet but a friend of mine told me that she loved it. I believe her.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, ND
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Local Fresh Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice small restaurant that focuses on fresh local foods and meats. I had a very good spinach salad and a duck entrée. Was with a group of 8 and all had something different on the menu and all were very satisfied.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good - But Trying A Little Too Hard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Sante was a good choice, the dried meats and cheeses were very good. The service was impeccable. The chilled melon soup was acceptable but unremarkable. But, something was a little off - it seemed like a restaurant struggling to find its identity. It struck all of us as if the restaurant was taking the organic/farm fresh movement to the extreme, almost like a scene from a movie. We enjoyed our experience, but diners should be prepared for a restaurant that tries so hard to be unique that it comes across as awkward.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I wanted to try Sante thanks to other Tripadvisor reviews. And a friend who was part of our group is a chef who enjoys charcuterie. I can barely say it! I had the house-made ravioli (can be made either veggie or with meat). It was excellent. Others said their spinach salads, with locally made goat cheese, was superb, along with the smoked duck. And the chocolate dessert was a chocolate lovers dream--yes, my dream! Definitely lots of locally sourced food, with many specialties, such as the smoked and preserved meats, made in-house. Service varies, at times attentive, at others rather laid back. So I missed going to the independently-owned bookstore and crafts co-op that night. Though do go to them, too! Although any attire will fine here, and casual is fine, the prices are a bit higher than the usual two $$.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sante Restaurant & Charcuterie also viewed

 

Been to Sante Restaurant & Charcuterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sante Restaurant & Charcuterie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.