We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here now” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   801 N. Division St., Spokane, WA 99202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
1 review
“Here now”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The service here is terrific. We travel so much and it's nice to have a welcoming helpful staff. I miss having a pool a little but the surrounding area parks provide plenty to do and see. Great location. But the real star is the customer service.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! And thank you for your great comments about the staff. We talk a lot about great customer service and I am grateful to hear they are delivering it. I will share your comments with the staff! Stay safe until we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    76
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
73
60
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ojai CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This HIX is one of the most scenic ones I've been to and as a Platinum Priority Club member I've been to a lot of them. It sits on a hill in Spokane and has a very unique architecture. The staff are very friendly and the lobby/breakfast area is quite large and roomy. The rooms are good size and there is plenty of free parking. On this trip I was staying using points but was treated as if I was a full price paying customer. It is within easy walking distance from Riverfront Park, the SkyRide over the falls, several excellent restaurants and the downtown area where you can visit several winery tasting rooms and the grand Davenport Hotel. It is smaller and more personable than the several nearby larger hotels such as the Red Lion and Doubletree.

Room Tip: South facing higher floor rooms have a better city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We do have a very unique location in a beautiful city with lots to offer. The thing I like best next to our great views is that we are very close to everything that downtown has to offer and yet far away enough to be out of (and above) the hustle bustle. We value each of our guests and want to thank you for staying with us. I hope that you will come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockbridge, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

OMG! Where should I begin?

Called on July 3rd to book a room for July 4th and was amazed to be able to get a room in the first place! The exterior is very welcoming. Lets call it rustic, yet modern.

The beds were the best beds I have ever slept on. The option of pillows was amazing. There were two soft and two firm pillows on the bed which made that night probably the most relaxing/peaceful night I have ever slept.

I was not able to hear any of the other occupants of the building at any time during our stay.

Great view for the Fourth of July Fireworks display in Downtown Spokane!

One thing that I would recommend to the owner of the hotel is to correct a design flaw in their porch "fire tables." You should have separate switches for each table that way if one guest wants the fire on at their table, and the a guest at the other table does not want the fire on, you would not have an inconvenience to one customer or the other.

Would return to this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
You do have many choices when traveling for lodging accommodations; thank you for choosing us! I am so glad to hear that your stay was great! I will certainly take your suggestion about the separate controls for the fire tables to the ownership for consideration. That is a great suggestion! Please come stay with us again, next time you are traveling to or through Spokane!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We will not be back, although the staff is friendly, the lobby is attractive, and our room was fine. We had an expensive (locked) bike stolen from our car bike rack, in broad daylight. We were parked 3 cars away from the office. We understand that the hotel will not take responsibility for something stolen in the parking lot. However, Spokane ranks the highest in Washington state for car thefts, so why don't they at least have security cameras for the parking lot? In addition, if the hotel wanted to leave us with a good taste in our mouths, they could have been more sympathetic about our experience, and/or offered to deduct something from our room charges. Our extended family had at least 4 rooms booked in this hotel, and I doubt that any of them will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I am so sorry to hear about your bike being stolen off your car! I wish we would have known that you had bikes on your vehicle. We have encouraged guests that we knew had bikes to lock them right outside our front office window so that we can keep an eye on them. Visibility from the front desk to the parking lot is limited. Please accept my sincere apology. I will take your concerns about security cameras to my ownership for their consideration. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me at the hotel. Lori, GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polson, Montana, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here for the first time because we were visiting downtown Spokane. Great location and the hotel has an awesome shuttle service. However, we won't be staying again because of the noise level. Could hear EVERYTHING the neighbors beside and above us were doing, including TV and normal talking. Plus, even as a priority club member we were placed next to the ice and vending machines. Expected the noise to die down after midnight but that did not happen until 3 am. Woken up again at 5 when neighbors went to the bathroom, so had a nap instead of sleep. Only upside was the front desk did provide a discount when we complained, but not enough to make me ever stay or recommend this Holiday Inn Express again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I am so sorry that you were disappointed in the noise level of the hotel. I will definitely share your comments with our ownership for consideration. Thank you again and I hope you will reconsider and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

As others have commented, this hotel has been recently refreshed, and its site in downtown Spokane is striking, located on a rocky bluff near Riverfront Park, convenient to downtown attractions and Gonzaga University. The building shows thoughtful architecture with a pleasant "Old Spokane" feel. Our room had an excellent walk in shower (body jets!), best I've ever experienced in an HIE. Breakfast seemed subpar on Monday morning, much better variety and freshness on Tuesday. Perhaps a delivery was late? The hotel's satellite TV package is less than optimal, no A&E, HGTV, Food, or similar cable channels. All in all a pleasant stay, though.

Room Tip: If you like a walk in shower, some of the rooms have them, we were told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thanks for sharing your comments about our walk in shower with body jets. That is a nice feature of our suites. I hope the next time you come to Spokane, you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is the first time I have stayed since their remodel and WOW, this place could easily be a Marriott. The location is perfect, walkable to downtown shopping and dining and to Riverfront Park. Beautiful views and the facility itself is breathtaking. You simply can not do better than this HI express!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience! We appreciate you and hope that you will come stay with us again next time you are in Spokane!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown

Address: 801 N. Division St., Spokane, WA 99202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Spokane
#8 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#10 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel is an excellent location for business and leisure travelers alike. Perched above the city with a 360 degree view, our hotel in Spokane is close to Spokane shopping, dining, and all that downtown Spokane has to offer. We are a stone s throw from the Spokane Convention Center, and serve as a home away from home for visiting Gonzaga University, EWU, WSU, and Whitworth University. Our Spokane Hotel is also a great place to stay when coming to Spokane to see a Broadway Show at the INB Performing Arts Center, Concerts at the Knitting Factory, Concerts at the Spokane Arena, Chiefs WHL Hockey and Spokane Shock Arena2 Football at Spokane Veteran s Memorial Arena. For the best service in any Spokane hotel, search no further than the Spokane Holiday Inn Express on the rock! We are 100% non-smoking, complete with exercise facility, business center with free printer use and Internet access, free high-speed wired Internet in every guest room, free deluxe Continental breakfast as well as cookies and milk every evening. Make your reservation now; your room awaits. All you have to do is come prepared to experience that which memories are made of at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown Hotel Spokane
Holiday Inn Spokane
Spokane Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.