We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   801 N. Division St., Spokane, WA 99202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

As others have commented, this hotel has been recently refreshed, and its site in downtown Spokane is striking, located on a rocky bluff near Riverfront Park, convenient to downtown attractions and Gonzaga University. The building shows thoughtful architecture with a pleasant "Old Spokane" feel. Our room had an excellent walk in shower (body jets!), best I've ever experienced in an HIE. Breakfast seemed subpar on Monday morning, much better variety and freshness on Tuesday. Perhaps a delivery was late? The hotel's satellite TV package is less than optimal, no A&E, HGTV, Food, or similar cable channels. All in all a pleasant stay, though.

Room Tip: If you like a walk in shower, some of the rooms have them, we were told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thanks for sharing your comments about our walk in shower with body jets. That is a nice feature of our suites. I hope the next time you come to Spokane, you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    73
    18
    12
    9
See reviews for
70
54
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is the first time I have stayed since their remodel and WOW, this place could easily be a Marriott. The location is perfect, walkable to downtown shopping and dining and to Riverfront Park. Beautiful views and the facility itself is breathtaking. You simply can not do better than this HI express!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience! We appreciate you and hope that you will come stay with us again next time you are in Spokane!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

When I last reviewed this hotel they were in the process of finishing renovations. They are complete and I was not disappointed!! As before the rooms are fresh, clean and updated. The entry and lobby look great with nice finishes and the staff were superb. I thought that the gas fire pit and seating area out front was a great touch and a very enjoyable space to socialize. Well done!
I stay at many Holiday Inn Express locations and I rate this one at the top of my list!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us again! And thank you for your patience through our renovation process. The weather is getting better every day and our outside patio area with the fire pit tables are becoming very popular. It is so nice to sit outside during this time of year! And thanks for noticing our expansive lobby and breakfast dining area. They have been a big hit as well. We look forward to your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was our first stay at a Holiday Inn Express hotel. We stayed for 3 nights. The room was nicely decorated, with a comfortable bed and we had a small balcony with a view of the river. We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and so were the freshly baked cookies every evening. My only complaint was that when we checked in we were asked if we would like to sign up for a membership with Holiday Inns - if we did, we would have a newspaper delivered to our room each morning. Unfortunately the newspapers never arrived, despite two requests. I have since misplaced our temporary membership card but have not yet received the permanent plastic card. If we are to stay in Spokane again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel. But are disappointed with unfulfilled promises as a member.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank for staying with us. Please accept my apology for the misunderstanding surrounding the newspaper. We do have complimentary newspapers available in the lobby near the front desk on weekdays. We also carry our local newspaper at the front desk for a small fee each day of the week. Next time you stay with us, let me know and I will see that a newspaper is delivered to your door. I'm glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Excellent accommodation , highly recommended , staff very courteous , rooms excellent ,clean, walking distance to downtown restaurants, modern , good parking , complimentary breakfast great and appreciated ,although we missed the evening manager reception . Only complaint we had was we wanted a king bed but was given 2 queens, we were told there was no king available? Still worked out fine just more cosy. Check them out !

Room Tip: We noticed rooms facing downtown had nice balconys ,nicer view, we didn't get one of those but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I must agree that my staff is very friendly and helpful. I hope that you will come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I have stayed here on several occasions. The recent renovations are very nice making this hotel one of the best looking in Spokane. Breakfast area is beautiful. But, the front desk people seem to have an attitude that seemed condescending. After the second person treated me that way decided to leave early and switch to a different hotel. They give the impression that since they are relatively busy that customer service doesn't matter. Wrong!! Especially when paying close to $200 a night! Not sure if I will come back.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
To Whom It May Concern,
I am so sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with our customer service. We strive to "impress" each and every guest. I would like to invite you to stay with us again; identify yourself to me, so that we can talk about how we can improve your stay and be more attentive to your needs. Thank you for noticing our amazing renovation. We want our service to match that standard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I only stayed one night, but this castle in the middle of Spokane was terrific. Lobby was comfortable, parking lot was safe and well-lit, everyone I met was friendly. Too bad my 4:30 a.m. wake-up call came to early to really enjoy the town, but I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Chris M,
Thank you for staying with us! We do look like a castle on top of a rock and therefore, have great views all the way around. We are very near everything downtown and have a shuttle available to get you there. Please come stay with us again; maybe plan an extra day so that you can experience our hotel and Spokane. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown

Address: 801 N. Division St., Spokane, WA 99202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Spokane
#9 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel is an excellent location for business and leisure travelers alike. Perched above the city with a 360 degree view, our hotel in Spokane is close to Spokane shopping, dining, and all that downtown Spokane has to offer. We are a stone s throw from the Spokane Convention Center, and serve as a home away from home for visiting Gonzaga University, EWU, WSU, and Whitworth University. Our Spokane Hotel is also a great place to stay when coming to Spokane to see a Broadway Show at the INB Performing Arts Center, Concerts at the Knitting Factory, Concerts at the Spokane Arena, Chiefs WHL Hockey and Spokane Shock Arena2 Football at Spokane Veteran s Memorial Arena. For the best service in any Spokane hotel, search no further than the Spokane Holiday Inn Express on the rock! We are 100% non-smoking, complete with exercise facility, business center with free printer use and Internet access, free high-speed wired Internet in every guest room, free deluxe Continental breakfast as well as cookies and milk every evening. Make your reservation now; your room awaits. All you have to do is come prepared to experience that which memories are made of at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown Hotel Spokane
Holiday Inn Spokane
Spokane Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.