We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handled a busy weekend well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   801 N. Division St., Spokane, WA 99202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Handled a busy weekend well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Was just in Spokane for Bloomsday, which meant every hotel in the city is sold out.

As has been mentioned the hotel is being expanded and renovated. It will be nice for everyone when that is complete. The room was clean and it's nice that they have a selection of pillow types in the room.

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. A nice touch that they had ice chests of free bottled water for all the runners after the big race (it was a hot day and we needed the H2O).

The breakfast area was swamped but I don't imagine they normally have every room booked on a Saturday night with every guest needing to be at the same place at the same time. We got our breakfast and ate in our room, not a big deal.. the area had two staff members working to make sure the food stayed stocked.

Once the renovations are complete it would be a nice option for the mid level traveler.

I only wish there was a sidewalk to the street, it isn't very pedestrian friendly from the top of the rock to the street...

Room Tip: Rooms facing north have balconies and would have a view of the city... we had a view of the title co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us on this very busy weekend. One never knows what kind of weather they will encounter on Bloomsday. Thankfully this one turned out to be extremely nice! Next year, all the construction wil be done and looking great! Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope that you will come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    76
    18
    12
    9
See reviews for
73
59
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is being renovated but it was nice, clean, and quiet. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. the breakfast room was a but crowded, but they made it work. The hot cookies at night were a nice touch. The shuttle took me to get a bite to eat and picked me up when I was done. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and being patient and understanding with our expansion/renovation process. Even though we do face unique challenges, my staff is on board to make your stay the best possible. I do have an amazing staff that is very willing to go above and beyond to make your stay great! Thanks again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience! I will be sure to share your comments with my staff! Please come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Construction ruled this stay. They are building a restaurant and remodeling the hotel and it shows. Rooms are not as large as other hotels I have stayed in but it was clean. Good location price was a bit high for government rate. I would recommend it is in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are very excited about our expansion and we are looking forward to it being completed so that we can share it with you. We are doing our best to make the best of this time with the challenges that we face due to the expansion and renovation. It is going to be really nice when it is completed! Please come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Nice people and a good location. The room is a little dated but fine (they are adding on right now, don't know if they plan to remodel existing rooms). We did not have the breakfast but it smelled good. Excellent location both to downtown and to head north on Division. Seems a little on the expensive side and not as nice as many of the Holiday Inn Expresses we have stayed at.....however, really good and friendly service. We would choose this again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us!! I appreciate your comments and will share them with our corporate office. We will be updating our hallways with new carpet and wall vinyl and we are all on schedule to upgrade some of our bathrooms. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We are looking forward to the construction being done so that we can share it with everyone! Please come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

In town for the writing conference and expecting an average experience...what a pleasant surprise to have an outstanding experience! The staff here completely understand the meaning of hospitality. The response to every inquiry or request was met with courteous and sincerely helpful responses. We utilized the shuttle service extensively although we also found the location really convenient to walk into the city and explore the area. By far the most personable and helpful front dek staff we've ever had and thats saying a lot given that we travel a lot! We took advantage of the breakfast which was also surprisingly well above average in terms of taste, choice, and convenience. Can't wait to see the end results of the major construction--amazed that all of this work was taking place and we were barely aware. Thanks for a great experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! I hope that your writing project conference went will and was time well spent! Thank you for recognizing my great front desk staff. They really are amazing! We are so excited to be upgrading our facitily and we can't wait to share it with you! Please come stay with us again when you are in Spokane!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here while participating in the Golf and Travel Show, location is 2 minutes from the Convention Center, very convenient. Front Desk staff were always friendly, and went out of their way to make me feel at home. Complimentary breakfast was well prepared, stocked and full of choices hot and cold. Manager there was efficient and kind. Housekeeping staff was kind and efficient, rooms we're average, but with that I mean, clean, comfortable and modern, very nice, and exactly what I expected. Holiday Inn, and HI Express are usually my top pick when travelling, clean, well maintained, traditionally good staff, free wifi, flat screens, and as a HI Priority Member, I always receive a nice welcome amenity, bottled water. I'll definitely be back when I return to Spokane.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us during the recent Golf Show. I hope it was a huge success for you! Thanks for your great comments. I will share your comments with my staff. Please come stay with us again when you come back to Spokane!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is being expanded. There is some congestion and difficult parking around the hotel because it is placed up on a rock, and no where to spread out to make room for the heavy equipment. The room was clean and the staff nice, and the food was the typical fair. However, they did have some extra 'happy hour' types of snacks in the evening. Location is right in the middle of everything, by the central park and downtown, which is great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so excited to share our expansion with you and other guests. The new lobby and breakfast bar area are going to be totally amazing! During this time we are striving to continue to offer even better service than we have in the past. I have an amazing staff that are eagar to serve! I will certainly share your comments with my staff at our morning huddle. Please come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown

Address: 801 N. Division St., Spokane, WA 99202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Spokane
#8 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#10 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel is an excellent location for business and leisure travelers alike. Perched above the city with a 360 degree view, our hotel in Spokane is close to Spokane shopping, dining, and all that downtown Spokane has to offer. We are a stone s throw from the Spokane Convention Center, and serve as a home away from home for visiting Gonzaga University, EWU, WSU, and Whitworth University. Our Spokane Hotel is also a great place to stay when coming to Spokane to see a Broadway Show at the INB Performing Arts Center, Concerts at the Knitting Factory, Concerts at the Spokane Arena, Chiefs WHL Hockey and Spokane Shock Arena2 Football at Spokane Veteran s Memorial Arena. For the best service in any Spokane hotel, search no further than the Spokane Holiday Inn Express on the rock! We are 100% non-smoking, complete with exercise facility, business center with free printer use and Internet access, free high-speed wired Internet in every guest room, free deluxe Continental breakfast as well as cookies and milk every evening. Make your reservation now; your room awaits. All you have to do is come prepared to experience that which memories are made of at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown Hotel Spokane
Holiday Inn Spokane
Spokane Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.