We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   801 N. Division St., Spokane, WA 99202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here while participating in the Golf and Travel Show, location is 2 minutes from the Convention Center, very convenient. Front Desk staff were always friendly, and went out of their way to make me feel at home. Complimentary breakfast was well prepared, stocked and full of choices hot and cold. Manager there was efficient and kind. Housekeeping staff was kind and efficient, rooms we're average, but with that I mean, clean, comfortable and modern, very nice, and exactly what I expected. Holiday Inn, and HI Express are usually my top pick when travelling, clean, well maintained, traditionally good staff, free wifi, flat screens, and as a HI Priority Member, I always receive a nice welcome amenity, bottled water. I'll definitely be back when I return to Spokane.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us during the recent Golf Show. I hope it was a huge success for you! Thanks for your great comments. I will share your comments with my staff. Please come stay with us again when you come back to Spokane!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    98
    21
    13
    10
See reviews for
87
69
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is being expanded. There is some congestion and difficult parking around the hotel because it is placed up on a rock, and no where to spread out to make room for the heavy equipment. The room was clean and the staff nice, and the food was the typical fair. However, they did have some extra 'happy hour' types of snacks in the evening. Location is right in the middle of everything, by the central park and downtown, which is great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so excited to share our expansion with you and other guests. The new lobby and breakfast bar area are going to be totally amazing! During this time we are striving to continue to offer even better service than we have in the past. I have an amazing staff that are eagar to serve! I will certainly share your comments with my staff at our morning huddle. Please come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We reserved a room in this hotel while our son underwent medical testing at a Spokane hospital. We arrived before check-in time because our son felt tired and unwell after the first test. Tawnya and Paul made extra effort to assure a room was ready early, and that it met our easy-access needs. All the employees encountered during the check-in process were cheerful and courteous. Tawnya handled our check-in with grace and efficiency, and Paul even ran out to deliver my parking pass when I forgot to get it at the counter. We are experiencing excellent service just as we have in past visits, and the room is very clean! We deeply appreciate the staff's kindness during a difficult time for our family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience at the Holiday Inn Express on the Rock. I hope that the tests that your son had to endure went well and that his health is improving! Tawny and Paul are very attentive and do their best to make sure your stay is stressfree. I hope that you will come stay with us again, maybe under better circumstances. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel was under construction and parking was tight. The hotel was close to the concert venue which was convenient for us. The staff was friendly. The free breakfast was wonderful. The housekeeping services were not up to par. One day we only received one bath towel. Another day, the sheets were not changed and the floor was not vaccumed.

Room Tip: We asked for a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments concerning your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apology for my housekeeping department not meeting your expectations. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations. Your comments will be used to continue training towards high standards. Thank you again for staying with us. Please give us another try so that we can make this right and win your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was glad to see that the Ownership was attempting to update the lobby of the hotel. The entrance was under construction while I was here and parking was a premium. The entrance door was temporarily relocated to when someone came in or out and you were sitting at a table in the breafast area you were balsted with the cold Northwest wind blowing in the door. When I got to my room the heat had been turned way down for quite some time. It took a couple hours to heat the room up. I had to put a towel across the bottom of the door to the room to keep the cold draft out that was coming from the stairwell, down the hall and under my door.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask to be located away from stairwells or front entrance to avoid the noise and cold draf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. I, too, wish the weather was warmer in January in Spokane. I do enjoy the four seasons, but sometimes the cold is bone chilling. I hope that you will come back and visit us again when we finish our construction and the weather warms up a bit. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton City, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The location is convenient to downtown Spokane; however, it is not within walking distance to downtown locations, especially in the winter. The friendly staff will shuttle you to any downtown venue. The room was clean and quiet - no surprises. This property has been under construction for a while, and it still has a little bit more to go. The value was great for a downtown location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We value you opinions and share all these comments with our staff. We are in a unique location and weather permitting (which it is most of the time) it is a great stoll to the downtown area if one enjoys that sort of activity. If not, as you indicated, we do have a shuttle available to take our guests downtown in comfort. Our construction is moving right along in spite of the cold temperatures this time of year. It is very exciting to watch the progress; and causes very little disruption to our guests as it only effects the lobby end of the building. I can't wait to share our new lobby and breakfast bar with our valued guests. Please come back and watch the progress!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomeroy, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I love this hotel. Even under construction the management have consistently been able to adapt and provide wonderful service. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, and it's quiet. The staff are more than accommodating. The hotel offers (not sure the days or times) cookies, wine, beer, breakfast, and surprise!- chili last night. Love it.

Room Tip: I'm not real big on staying near the elevator or ice machine. Other than that I haven't had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your great experience and using Trip Advisor! We have a monthly staff meeting where I share comments(good and sad) from our guests. We celebrate the good comments and use the sad comments as times to reflect on how we could do things better. Your comments will certainly give us reason to celebrate! The expansion of our breakfast bar and lobby are underway. Since it is expanding out the West end of the building, the rooms are unaffected, making the guest experience in the rooms pleasant as always. Thank you again for staying with us. I hope that you will stay with us on your next trip to Spokane!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Center
0.1 mi away
Red Lion River Inn
Red Lion River Inn
#21 of 46 in Spokane
3.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown

Address: 801 N. Division St., Spokane, WA 99202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Spokane
#9 Family Hotel in Spokane
#12 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel is an excellent location for business and leisure travelers alike. Perched above the city with a 360 degree view, our hotel in Spokane is close to Spokane shopping, dining, and all that downtown Spokane has to offer. We are a stone s throw from the Spokane Convention Center, and serve as a home away from home for visiting Gonzaga University, EWU, WSU, and Whitworth University. Our Spokane Hotel is also a great place to stay when coming to Spokane to see a Broadway Show at the INB Performing Arts Center, Concerts at the Knitting Factory, Concerts at the Spokane Arena, Chiefs WHL Hockey and Spokane Shock Arena2 Football at Spokane Veteran s Memorial Arena. For the best service in any Spokane hotel, search no further than the Spokane Holiday Inn Express on the rock! We are 100% non-smoking, complete with exercise facility, business center with free printer use and Internet access, free high-speed wired Internet in every guest room, free deluxe Continental breakfast as well as cookies and milk every evening. Make your reservation now; your room awaits. All you have to do is come prepared to experience that which memories are made of at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown Hotel Spokane
Holiday Inn Spokane
Spokane Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.