We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old building, needs critical updating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   322 North Spokane, Falls Court, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Golf Package
Ranked #12 of 43 hotels in Spokane
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old building, needs critical updating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I recently spent two nights at the Doubletree and found it to be mediocre at best. The heater - A/C unit was brutally noisy. It was so loud it would wake me up every time it turned on at night. There was no refrigerator or safe in the room for me to use. The shower/tub was so slow draining that I was standing in above ankle deep water by the time my shower was through. The caulking was falling out of most joints in the bathroom. The appearance of the building is old and outdated. The steakhouse restaurant was so prohibitively expensive ($35 for a steak) that I walked out of there and went to the great Italian place 3 blocks away (Luigi's). there was no complimentary/continental breakfast either. I get a better experience at a Motel 6 than I did here. I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Spokane. We appreciate your candid review of our property and apologize for the issues you experienced in your room and bathroom and will work to get these areas are repaired. While we still have much more work to do, we have spent nearly $5 million on renovations since 2009. Thank you again for your review - we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    190
    96
    44
    15
See reviews for
96
99
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckley, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was in Spokane for work, got in late and had to leave early. The beds were heavenly and the room was quiet. My only complaint about the room is that I was sharing with another woman from work and it would have been nice to have a mirror for makeup and hair that wasn't in the bathroom. We had a nice breakfast in the hotel...the waitress was super and guided us to a good choice! Overall my stay was short but really nice. I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay here in Spokane. Your experience in Shutters Restaurant for breakfast is no surprise; the breakfast servers and kitchen crew do a fantastic job.
Thanks again and I hope your next trip allows more time to explore our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree in Spokane on our getaway weekend. The room was clean but the bathroom was in definite need of updating. The hotel was with walking distance of everything that we wanted to do and see. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
It was nice to see that you enjoyed your getaway weekend here in Spokane. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and hope to see you on your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great quality and really great price. Within walking distance to everything you could want plus shuttle service to and from the airport.

Was greeted with courtesy and efficiency at the airport which continued all throughout my stay. The location is great for morning runs along the river and a night on the town.

Highly recommended for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments. I can’t wait to share your feedback with the team. We talk about the importance of the first impression and that for many of our guests it starts with our airport pick-ups. Also glad to see you enjoyed the Centennial Trail and our downtown location.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Doubletree is quite central in Spokane, and that makes it super convenient. It has a complimentary shuttle to/from the airport which makes it a good value. Rooms and hotel are ageing (it is an old building), but is maintained as best as possible.

Food at the buffet for breakfast is very cheap and decent. Starbucks and Spencer's in the lobby, with the River Trail behind the hotel.

All in all, a good stay and the staff are great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Spokane experience. Your great comments about our staff, location and our restaurants are truly appreciated. My maintenance team will also be happy to see that their hard work does not go unrecognized.
Thanks again and we hope to see you back in Spokane soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed 2-nights at Double Tree downtown Spokane. Room was clean, but as I see in some other comments the heating/cooling system needs to operate properly, we could not turn the fan off at all it whirled all night and day..In fact when checking in there was another person that was upset over the heater/cooling system in his room, that he was demanding another room but he liked the view from his first room and was very upset over it. Also the deadbolt in the entry door did not operate properly, when you closed the door you had to turn the handle inside down and then turn the handle outside down in order to hold the dead bolt in while you shut the door from the outside..The coffee maker in the room was so - so did not seem to heat the coffee up to a hot temp. the bathroom was needing a update remodel. The beds seemed newer but to me & my wife were uncomfortable.The location is very good within walking distance to stores and eatries, Service at front desk was friendly and fast check in. I think this Double Tree would be my 2nd chioce or further down the list of hotels when I stay again in Spokane.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay here in Spokane. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused by the heater and the deadbolt and I am sorry that we were not able address them while you were here. Thanks for the great comments about our staff and location and I do hope get the opportunity to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This property has excellent downtown location, right next door to the Spokane convention center. Restaurants on main floor & directly across the street. Rooms are spacious & comfortable. I was most impressed with the superb level of customer service at all points of contact. Rooms are a bit pricy -- I was here on a business trip, the room paid for by my employer -- I wouldn't have paid $180 for the room (incl. all fees & taxes) for this room when The Davenport is 2 blocks away & has rooms available for $150.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback about our hotel and the service we provided. I cannot agree more about our location, downtown out front, river out back the convention center next door. I was also pleased to see that you were able to experience the service my team works so hard to maintain. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Spokane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center

Address: 322 North Spokane, Falls Court, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Spokane
#12 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Spokane City Spokane
Doubletree Spokane
Spokane Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.