We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University District / Downtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn University District / Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn University District / Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   923 3rd Ave E, Spokane, WA 99202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 43 hotels in Spokane
Bonney Lake, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I booked because of the price. Afterward I read the review and was nervous about the quality. I was, however, surprised. Although the decor is a bit outdated, you could tell it was maintained. My room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast had more than the standard fare of bagels and juice. The carpet was clean, although a bit faded. The pool area needed some sprucing up. It isn't really "downtown" so I would say plan on driving if you want to see anything or eat anything other than pizza delivery. Overall, it was clean and the staff were exceptionally friendly. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    44
    29
    13
    10
See reviews for
35
32
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I liked the swimming pool and hot tub. The fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies they make at the front desk are a nice touch. Our room smelled a bit like smoke, but we left our window open before we went to dinner, and it was fine upon our return. We walked to downtown Spokane for dinner, which we actually enjoyed after having spent the entire day driving in a car. So even though it's not right in downtown Spokane, this hotel is totally affordable. Breakfast is included as well, which my children and I enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breeann6
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

There is a reason there are a lot of very bad reviews and a lot of very good reviews. It is because only SOME of the rooms are renovated, nice, clean, updated. The rooms on the main floor are designated "pet rooms" and they are old, filthy, smelly rooms. I walked in and smelled the pet store smell but it was not too bad, and it was very late so we decided to stay. However when we went in the bathroom, it smelled like a litter box in there. It was obvious that people were locking their animal in the bathroom and leaving them in the hotel: scratch marks on walls and the door, pee smell, and urine colored grout. Very gross. The room was NOT clean. There were drunks outside our window into the night and one staggering down the hallway being loud at 1am. BAD neighborhood, not for women travelling alone. PET OWNERS: there is NO potty area for dogs. I repeat, NO potty area. Not even a small strip of grass. The hotel is surrounded by concrete, literally, and you have to walk a block, cross 3 lanes of traffic, and use another business' lawn to get to anyplace for a dog to pee. Be forewarned.

Room Tip: Do not pick a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I recently made a 7 hour trip to Spokane for a horse show, I called because of the poor reviews on smoking. Due to allergies my traveling partner can’t be around smoke in any way. The lady who answered the phone was extremely courteous and assured me to go ahead and make the reservation and she would find me a room far away from any previous smoking. We arrived almost 4 hours ahead of check in time, and although the woman behind the counter wasn’t exactly “friendly” she was helpful and able to check us in our room with absolutely no trouble. I was shocked! The room was very clean, a large flat screen TV, ample room size, beds where comfortable and clean, the bedding was amazing, no creepy floral bedspreads from 1970. We ended up staying 3 days and 2 nights, we never had any issues, sure there is only one elevator that’s slow, but there amazing continental breakfast, 24 hour pool and hot tub more than made up for it. For the price I think this hotel deserves better than the ratings it received.

Room Tip: If your concerned about smoke CALL AHEAD!! Suppos. only a couple rooms on the 4th floor where smokin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I booked this hotel in Spokane for the night of Saturday, August 25th. Upon arriving at the hotel, after driving for 12 hours with my wife and 2 year old daughter the receptionist informed me bluntly and without concern that I did not have a booking. I got the feeling from her that she did not believe that I had arrived at the same hotel at which I had booked. I assured her several times but she insisted that I made a mistake. After checking the call log on my phone, I proved that I had indeed called this hotel. She told me there was nothing she could do, as all the hotels in Spokane were booked. After leaving the hotel, she returned my phone call to inform me that the booking was made for the September 1st, and that one of her colleagues must have made a mistake. She did not offer any solutions, so I suggested that the professional thing to do would be to find us a comparable hotel as close as possible. She did in fact call and reserve a room at a hotel 100 miles away in Moses Lake. This "comparable" hotel was over twice the rate that I had paid ($175.83 vs. $79.18). In addition after speaking with the receptionists there, they informed me that Natalie had complained about me to them. That I was being very difficult.
I wrote a complaint to the BBB about my experience and the manager said she sent an email (the reservation was made over the phone and I never provided my email), then described the event much different than it happened. I have never been treated so poorly in any customer service setting. Avoid this hotel at all costs!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokanecomfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn University District / Downtown, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Mark: We have responded to your concern via BBB and now we are happy to respond via Trip Advisor. On the night you and your family arrived we did not have a reservation for you, however in the spirit of hospitality our Manager on Duty, David English called all hotels ( 40) in the Spokane, Spokane Valley and LIberty Lake area to try to find you and your family a room.
Unfortunately the closest room we could find was Moses Lake. We made a reservation for you there with your consent.
We have reviewed our video survelliance of the desk area during your wait and the telephone logs that reflect our efforts to find you and your family accomodations while checking in 18 other parties. We have researched this extensively to insure that every thing we could do was done. Our guest agent worked extensively with our Manager on Duty to assist you even though there was no reservation for your family.
In the spirit of hospitality we have offered a two night gift certificate for your incovenenience which has been declined.
Truly we are most sorry that this circumstance occured and hope to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed for FREE in August as "make up" for a NASTY room I was given in March. We checked into the hotel and got our room. "Cleaned" room was inspected and we pulled the sheets back to find several long black hairs on the "clean" sheets. The shower was gross with moldy stuff on the ceiling and in the corners. The shower curtain smelled like a sour dish rag. We were immediately moved to a "less dirty" room.
One elevator was broken and the full-hotel with "No Vacancy" got to share one stinky elveator all day Saturday. The full breakfast was just that. FULL . The staff worked very hard but was never able to keep up as the guests wrestled and fought for biscuits, juice, coffee, cups, glasses, dishes and flatware and all other breakfast items as all were in short supply and high demand.

Television channels are VERY limited and the quality of TV is poor. TV maxed out on volume will barely be audible over the LOUD antiquated A/C Heater units that are wall mounted. If you are looking for family friendly tv shows then this is not it. Showtime and very expensive Pay per movies and LOTS of PORN is about the gist of the options.

There are NO dining, shopping or entertainment options within walking distance of this hotel. There are plenty of bums and beggars loitering in the area so bring some spare change because "anything helps"

Overall this hotel is very pitiful and for the money you can get a great hotel and great food and service at the:

Quality Inn Valley Suites (WA028)

E. 8923 Mission Ave.
Spokane, WA, US, 99212

Room Tip: Choose another hotel is THE best advice I can give you. Check your room as soon as your get the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokanecomfort, Owner at Comfort Inn University District / Downtown, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
This guest has been placed on the do not rent list as he arrived at the hotel under the influence
and was very agressive and profane with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We checked in to the Comfort Inn, University District with another couple hoping to find something fairly central for our weekend shopping getaway from Canada. We appreciated the great rate, the breakfast included with stay (but what is with all the starch? Not terribly GF-friendly!), the quietness of the hotel, the in-room fridge, and the pool and hot-tub that were clean and enjoyable.

While it is certainly centrally located and easy to navigate to and from, we would not likely stay there again. We knew it was a two-star hotel, so it would be unfair to hold it to higher standards, so we could overlook the dated lobby decor, one elevator out of commission, a missing icebox on our floor, etc, but what I CAN'T overlook is their claim of being an "entirely smoke-free hotel". While they may be accurate in saying that NOW, it is clear that the previous owners of the older building DID allow smoking, and the smell has saturated every bit of wall and upholstery fabric. The whole hotel reeked of it. We kept our AC on continually to cope and generally arrived late at night after a full day of shopping. Too much work to move to another hotel, but all four of us awoke with sore throats and congested noses that cleared during the day when away from the hotel.

I can appreciate the amount of effort that goes in to running a budget hotel, and am not comparing this to a higher-priced accommodation, but claiming to be smoke-free when clearly it still isn't is unexcusable in my world. Fair notice is essential for people with allergies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokanecomfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn University District / Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Marci: Thank you for your review. The Comfort Inn University Hotel ( formerly Shilo Inn) was recently purchased by new ownership. You have identified some issues of the hotel that we are working very hard to improve.
Since our ownership began, we have removed all of the smoking rooms from inventory. Those rooms were renovated to include removal of carpet, walls, ceiling. We installed new carpet, new walls, new ceiling, beds, bedding, painted these rooms and are in the process of a full furniture replacement. Recently we added all new flatscreen televisions to all rooms, upgraded and renovated the indoor pool/ hotub and upgraded the breakfast to include more protein items such as a variety of breakfast meats.
Currently we are working on upgrading the WIFI systems.
We regret that your stay was not as nice for you as we would like. We are working very hard to improve this hotel for our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn University District / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University District / Downtown

Address: 923 3rd Ave E, Spokane, WA 99202
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 hotels in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University District / Downtown 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn University District hotel offers 105 spacious and comfortable guest rooms. The hotel is located 9 blocks from downtown Spokane, 6 blocks from Gonzaga University and 1.5 miles from the Washington University Nursing School and Eastern Washington Extension Campus. Interstate 90 provides easy access at exit 281 eastbound or exit 282B westbound. Enjoy our indoor atrium heated pool and spa, fitness center, guest laundry, in room microwave/fridge, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, hairdryer and earth friendly bath amenities. We offer shuttle service to/from the Spokane International Airport, Amtrak, City Center, the Spokane Convention Center and the college campus areas. Shuttle service is available from the hours of 7am-10:30pm. Each morning we serve a fresh, hot buffet breakfast from 6am-9am with 24 hour coffee service in the lobby. We are pet friendly and close to several area parks that offer a great walk for our guests and their pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn University District / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University District / Downtown Hotel Spokane
Comfort Inn Spokane
Shilo Inn Spokane
Spokane Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University District / Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.