We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University District / Downtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn University District / Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn University District / Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   923 3rd Ave E, Spokane, WA 99202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 43 hotels in Spokane
Moses Lake, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed for FREE in August as "make up" for a NASTY room I was given in March. We checked into the hotel and got our room. "Cleaned" room was inspected and we pulled the sheets back to find several long black hairs on the "clean" sheets. The shower was gross with moldy stuff on the ceiling and in the corners. The shower curtain smelled like a sour dish rag. We were immediately moved to a "less dirty" room.
One elevator was broken and the full-hotel with "No Vacancy" got to share one stinky elveator all day Saturday. The full breakfast was just that. FULL . The staff worked very hard but was never able to keep up as the guests wrestled and fought for biscuits, juice, coffee, cups, glasses, dishes and flatware and all other breakfast items as all were in short supply and high demand.

Television channels are VERY limited and the quality of TV is poor. TV maxed out on volume will barely be audible over the LOUD antiquated A/C Heater units that are wall mounted. If you are looking for family friendly tv shows then this is not it. Showtime and very expensive Pay per movies and LOTS of PORN is about the gist of the options.

There are NO dining, shopping or entertainment options within walking distance of this hotel. There are plenty of bums and beggars loitering in the area so bring some spare change because "anything helps"

Overall this hotel is very pitiful and for the money you can get a great hotel and great food and service at the:

Quality Inn Valley Suites (WA028)

E. 8923 Mission Ave.
Spokane, WA, US, 99212

Room Tip: Choose another hotel is THE best advice I can give you. Check your room as soon as your get the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokanecomfort, Owner at Comfort Inn University District / Downtown, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
This guest has been placed on the do not rent list as he arrived at the hotel under the influence
and was very agressive and profane with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    44
    29
    13
    10
See reviews for
35
32
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We checked in to the Comfort Inn, University District with another couple hoping to find something fairly central for our weekend shopping getaway from Canada. We appreciated the great rate, the breakfast included with stay (but what is with all the starch? Not terribly GF-friendly!), the quietness of the hotel, the in-room fridge, and the pool and hot-tub that were clean and enjoyable.

While it is certainly centrally located and easy to navigate to and from, we would not likely stay there again. We knew it was a two-star hotel, so it would be unfair to hold it to higher standards, so we could overlook the dated lobby decor, one elevator out of commission, a missing icebox on our floor, etc, but what I CAN'T overlook is their claim of being an "entirely smoke-free hotel". While they may be accurate in saying that NOW, it is clear that the previous owners of the older building DID allow smoking, and the smell has saturated every bit of wall and upholstery fabric. The whole hotel reeked of it. We kept our AC on continually to cope and generally arrived late at night after a full day of shopping. Too much work to move to another hotel, but all four of us awoke with sore throats and congested noses that cleared during the day when away from the hotel.

I can appreciate the amount of effort that goes in to running a budget hotel, and am not comparing this to a higher-priced accommodation, but claiming to be smoke-free when clearly it still isn't is unexcusable in my world. Fair notice is essential for people with allergies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokanecomfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn University District / Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Marci: Thank you for your review. The Comfort Inn University Hotel ( formerly Shilo Inn) was recently purchased by new ownership. You have identified some issues of the hotel that we are working very hard to improve.
Since our ownership began, we have removed all of the smoking rooms from inventory. Those rooms were renovated to include removal of carpet, walls, ceiling. We installed new carpet, new walls, new ceiling, beds, bedding, painted these rooms and are in the process of a full furniture replacement. Recently we added all new flatscreen televisions to all rooms, upgraded and renovated the indoor pool/ hotub and upgraded the breakfast to include more protein items such as a variety of breakfast meats.
Currently we are working on upgrading the WIFI systems.
We regret that your stay was not as nice for you as we would like. We are working very hard to improve this hotel for our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

At check in I asked if there's was a room available upstairs. The response from the front desk clerk was: Do you need one? Well I don't need one but why is that a question. I am the custom and was asking a question. Not much in the way of customer service.

Room Tip: When examined the carpet was not adequately vacuumed. There was debris on the floor between the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokanecomfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn University District / Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking time to give us your review, we appreciate your comments. This hotel was purchased recently by new ownership. Formerly a Shilo Inn, the hotel is being renovated in an ongoing basis. Since purchase the new ownership group has renovated the indoor pool and spa, updated the fire /safety systems, purchased new laundry equipment, replaced all bedding and beds, removed all smoking rooms from inventory. When we did this we removed all of the walls, ceilings, carpet and rebuilt those rooms from scratch. We are currently working on replacing all furniture. Currently we are rebuilding the WIFI system for improved service to our guests. We also upgraded our breakfast and added shuttle service to and from the airport, downtown area and the University District.
We hope that you will return again and enjoy the many upgrades and improvements we are implementing so that we may we continue to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stay twice at this hotel on our way to and back from Yellowstone National Park. Location is not convenient without a car as there are no shops close by. There is a Japanese restaurant next door and nothing else within the vicinity.
Room is average but the hallway to the rooms doesn't have any AC and could be hot and stuffy on a hot day. Included breakfast is average with a waffle machine that could be busy when people starts coming in before heading out for the day. There was only one elevator working and it is so slow.
The maintenance guy who replaced the hair dryer in our room was probably the best experience we had. He was very professional, polite and resolved the non-functioning dryer in a very timely manner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn University District / Downtown on July 21-22, 2012. Our check in was fast and easy which was greatly appreciated after a long day at silverwood. The front desk clerk was very friendly and polite. Our room was very clean which was nice and had updated room decor. The only issue we had with the room was that the hotel put volume limits on the tv's and with the a/c going you could barely hear the tv and were unable to turn up the volume past 32 which was pretty quiet. Our room had 2 queen beds, a/c and furnace, table and chairs, fridge and microwave. The pool was open 24 hours which was great for our kids who wanted to take a late night swim before bed. They went to the pool around 10pm, only issue we had with that is that the towels from the pool room were not stocked, so we had to leave soaking wet (we did ask front desk for some, she told us she was unable to leave the front desk and would have someone bring us towels...however no one came) not a big deal though. The breakfast is served on the 5th floor of the hotel and i was nicely surprised by what they had to offer, I wasn't expecting much after booking a room for $70 a night through hotels.com. The breakfast had yogurts, breakfast burritos, bagels and cream cheese, pastries, scrambled eggs and sausages, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles with whip cream, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea etc.. We went up to eat around 730 am and the breakfast bar was fully stocked. All in all we had a decent stay here and would stay again. We usually stay at the oxford inn and suites in the spokane valley, but after staying here I will most likely continue to do so, great accommodations at a great price for sure!!!! They also have welcome coffee and cookies in the front lobby when you get there :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokanecomfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn University District / Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate your business and most of all, that you will be back again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I were in Spokane for the 61st National Square Dance Convention, and arrived early. We stayed at this hotel before moving to the convention hotel downtown.
This hotel was very convenient for doing some siteseeing, which was appreciated as this was our first visit to Spokane.
Amenities such as free wifi, 24 hour pool, hot tub, and spa, added to the quality of the hotel.
Room were clean, comfortable, and well stocked.
Staff, such as married couple David & Christine English, were anxious to respond to any request by guests.
Expanded continental breakfast included sausage, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, make your own waffles, biscuits and sausage gravy, fruit, cereal, juices and coffee. Staff kept the breakfast well supplied, and silverware instead of plastic added some quality to the meal. Breakfast is held in a room on the 5th floor, with a panaramic view of spokane.
All in all, this is a great hotel in a great location, with plenty of free parking and quiet rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I agree with other reviewers that staff is friendly. However, this is a very old property that is not up to the standard of a Comfort Inn. The room smelled funny and paint was peeling on bathroom door. There never was any lotion put in the bathroom during the three nights we stayed there. Hallways are low ceiling and dark. There are two small elevators, but only one worked, a problem with a full house as when we stayed during Hoopfest. The breakfast room is up on 5th floor and is roomy. Breakfast is usual Comfort Inn breakfast. Location is close to Gonzaga, if you know which back roads to take (staff was hepful with this). This property has potential: a good location and nice staff, but badly needs an upgrade. If this was the first time i stayed in a Comfort Inn, I would never stay in another.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn University District / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University District / Downtown

Address: 923 3rd Ave E, Spokane, WA 99202
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 hotels in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University District / Downtown 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn University District hotel offers 105 spacious and comfortable guest rooms. The hotel is located 9 blocks from downtown Spokane, 6 blocks from Gonzaga University and 1.5 miles from the Washington University Nursing School and Eastern Washington Extension Campus. Interstate 90 provides easy access at exit 281 eastbound or exit 282B westbound. Enjoy our indoor atrium heated pool and spa, fitness center, guest laundry, in room microwave/fridge, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, hairdryer and earth friendly bath amenities. We offer shuttle service to/from the Spokane International Airport, Amtrak, City Center, the Spokane Convention Center and the college campus areas. Shuttle service is available from the hours of 7am-10:30pm. Each morning we serve a fresh, hot buffet breakfast from 6am-9am with 24 hour coffee service in the lobby. We are pet friendly and close to several area parks that offer a great walk for our guests and their pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn University District / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University District / Downtown Hotel Spokane
Comfort Inn Spokane
Shilo Inn Spokane
Spokane Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University District / Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.