We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy guest.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairbridge Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairbridge Inn Express to your Saves list
Fairbridge Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 South Division Street, Spokane, WA 99201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unhappy guest.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

To sum it up in a nutshell: there was a booger on the wall, a hand smudge on the mirror, crumbs behind the bed (we pushed our bed out because the walls felt filthy), and the previous vacationer's 'number one' and 'number two' still on the toilet. We're still not sure how it ended up "on" the toilet instead of "in" the toilet...but there it was. We paid for two nights but left after the first and took the hit to our minimal amount of money we came to Spokane with. Try not to stay here folks, unless you are acquainted with such vacationing conditions.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faibridge1, Manager at Fairbridge Inn Express, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We were very surprised to hear about your stay. We have a great bunch of housekeepers who pride themselves in cleanliness. We have a detailed process in regards to how rooms are checked after housekeeping has cleaned them to make sure that things are not missed. We really hope you would come back and give us another try. Our standards and expectations are much higher than what is detailed in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    36
    22
    17
See reviews for
26
30
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

When I traveled to Spokane, I stayed at the Fairbridge Inn Express. A positive reaction was that it was near the general 7-Eleven store. However, the hotel seemed to be old and outdated. When we arrived in our room, the free internet provided did not work at all due to connection problems, that was our first disappoint. But we though, no point in felling sorry for ourselves, so we decided to cope. There is also a terribly uncomfortably bed offered there, and in addition, there free breakfast service was disorganized and tasteless. If I had to rate the hotel out of five, I'd struggle to give it more than 2, and would not be staying at the hotel in question again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faibridge1, Manager at Fairbridge Inn Express, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We were glad to hear you were happy with our location. We are right off I-90 in downtown Spokane close to all the shopping, dining, and main attractions. Our hotel is older but very well kept. We are hoping to add some renovations this year. Our WiFi signal is usually really strong. Our beds are one of the items we get the most positive feedback on. However, we do understand not everyone enjoys a soft bed. We really pride ourselves in our free deluxe continental breakfast. We do not have a lot of space available but feel we utilize that space very well. We offer everything from biscuits and gravy, breakfast burrito bar, to fresh waffles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Room was clean. Located within minutes of 90, Downtown, and short drive to the airport. Staff was friendly and helpful! This was the first time I stayed at Fairbridge, but my experience was overall pretty good so if and when I return to Spokane, I will keep this place in mind. There is a Starbucks across the street, as well as a 7/11 Corner store. Room had a fridge and microwave, bathrooms were clean and plenty of towels. For the price, this was a steal!

Room Tip: 4th floor was nice, quiet, and good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It's not luxurious at all, and it does look a bit gloomy from all angles, but it turns to be cosy and clean. Rooms are equipped with everything one might need (or at least, I can't think of anything else). Bath-line products have a pleasant scent. Wi-fi connection is stable. Neighbourhood is at the outscirt of down-town, but it's safe, and places of interest are easily accessible.
I didn't like breakfasts, but it's probably, just because I'm not into american breakfasts (pure carbs).
Hotel staff was very friendly.
Enjoyed it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faibridge1, Manager at Fairbridge Inn Express, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We appreciate your feed back. Really glad to hear the hotel was clean and cozy, our staff really prides themselves on those areas. We try to have as many options as we can on the breakfast bar. Although there are many carbs we do offer scrambled eggs, diced ham, and cheddar cheese as part of our breakfast burrito station. As well as a few healthier carb options such as fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, and four kinds of cereal. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PULLMAN
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is an old hotel and it needs some renovating. The location is good but the quality of the accommodations is not good. Furniture in the rooms are old and in need of refinishing. Tables with chips and flecks and such really give a bad impression. lights that don't work give a very bad first impression. The pillows would not support the weight of a gnat. The so called business office (A table with a computer and no printer) did not work. The exercise room had but a bike and a treadmill and the bike was not operational. However, to be fair...the staff was very nice and the breakfast buffet was very very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faibridge1, Manager at Fairbridge Inn Express, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We were really sorry to hear you did not think the quality of our hotel was good. Our business center is smaller but we find it is just enough for guest needs. Anytime you need anything printed our front desk staff is more than happy to help. We have not heard any complaints of guest computer or bike in gym not working, but appreciate the feedback. We are hoping to add some renovations this year. So glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and great breakfast buffet. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our first stay at the Fairbridge and we will be back. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean not much of a view as we were on the first floor. The price was right. Good location, within about 8 miles from the Casino and a couple of miles from the mall. Breakfast was good. I glad that we stayed at the Fairbridge and not paid the extra money just to stay at the casino. Used the money that we saved on the hotel room to gamble with.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in the Fairbridge many times over the past 5 years. We live just across the border in Nelson, BC and Spokane is our `big city`. The location is in a bit of a grungy corner of the downtown, but we have walked there at all hours and have never felt unsafe. The hotel itself is very pleasant; definitely not new and don`t expect the Ritz, but it is comfortable, well maintained, clean, has reliable wifi and reasonably well appointed rooms with great beds and nice linens, and a decent breakfast. The staff has always been very pleasant to us.

Room Tip: The `upgraded rooms`, if available, are at the front of the building and have fridge and microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairbridge Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbridge Inn Express

Address: 211 South Division Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairbridge Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Fairbridge Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairbridge Inn Express Hotel Spokane
Howard Johnson Airport Downtown
Howard Johnson Spokane
Spokane Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairbridge Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.