We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blip at check-in but fine after that” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Spokane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Spokane to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Spokane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North Riverpoint Boulevard, Spokane, WA 99202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Spokane
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Blip at check-in but fine after that”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After blip at check-in-I was given a room that a guest had checked into tn minutes before me-a surprise for both of us as I opened the door as he was changing (nothing too compromising), the front desk rectified the mistake (however, I was not given the river front room I had on the first round, but rather a room near the back of the hotel). It is convenient to the new University (WSU/EWU/Whitworth/Gonzaga) campuses and downtown. And unlike an adjacent hotel, no charge for parking. I didn't use the "lite" restaurant features, but with a coffee maker and fridge in the room, it was easy to bring in snacks and prepare a simple breakfast.I was surprised that the hotel did not feature the upgraded bed/bedding. The bed was was average as was the bedding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    51
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
21
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

You cannot beat the location of this hotel if you want to be near (very near) the Convention Center, the Performing Arts Center, or the large park on the water. We were there for a concert and lucky enough to have a 6 day event going on at the park - we could walk to and from the park easily a couple of times a day. We had a room overlooking the river on the 3rd floor. The trees are large enough that you don't have a clear view of the water but you do see it and looking west toward the park we had a lovely view of the water and clock tower. The trees provide a wonderful sense of privacy, at least on the 3rd floor. There is a major road/bridge between the hotel and downtown/river park/etc. (there is a large, well maintained, paved trail that leads under the bridge so no worries about crossing roads) and it can get noisy if you want to sit on the balcony or have your sliding glass door open - but we did not find it too annoying and when we closed our slider the room was very quiet. The courtyard is quite lovely, people utilized it for morning coffee and afternoon drinks. We did not find the rooms noisy and the hotel was full, but the doors do slam (unless you catch them) so perhaps people on our floor didn't come and go much. The staff was wonderful - we had 2 separate reservations, one night after the other, since we were not sure if we could go on the first night. We were able to go and the front desk worked miracles to get us into a river view room, top floor, for 2 nights on Labor Day weekend. We found the bed to be soooo comfortable & having the couch, coffee table and large desk was wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the water can be noisy from the road/bridge and if you're on the first floor, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Pro's: Good location, friendly staff, attractive rooms
Con: The walls are very thin. Unless you have the ability to sleep through any noise, you probably won't get a very good night's rest. My husband and I were unable to sleep because of people going in and out of their rooms throughout the night. We tried to keep the air conditioner on for as long as we could to drown out the noise, but it soon became too cold!

Not the experience we were hoping for or expected from Marriott!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was really disappointed in the poor excuse for a second bed (a hide-a-bed) that my niece had to sleep on during our recent stay. The mattress should have been in a dumpster with a homeless person atop it. Definitely better than a scrap of cardboard but not by much....My niece didn't complain but it was not the type of bed that would make me want to come back! Just an okay stay--we arrived late and left early. The food was good at the lobby restaurant and the pool was open late which is the reason why I gave it an average rating. Parking was easy, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The location is very good along the river. The check-in staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms and the bathrooms are older for a Courtyard. If location is a must this is a good choice. If a good room and bathroom is a must, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Please see my review of the Red Lion on July 16, 2011 for reference. Nobody from the Red Lion ever responded to that TripAdvisor review, and furthermore, nobody in Red Lion management replied to my direct e-mails last summer. So now here we are in Spokane again, only this time across the river at the Marriott. This hotel has all the advantages of the Red Lion (downtown, Riverpark, patios/balconies, nice grounds), but without all the problems (poor customer service). In fact, the customer service here is great! Every time we needed something, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and better yet, when we didn't need anything, the staff was practically invisible. So if you want a nice, quiet room, in a great location, at a great price, and with an excellent staff, you will want to stay at the Marriott Courtyard. And to the staff at the Red lion: Sayonara!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great location within walking distance of dining, Universities and convention center. Riverview room even had a small balcony to enjoy. Cool lobby too.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Spokane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Spokane

Address: 401 North Riverpoint Boulevard, Spokane, WA 99202
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Spokane 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Spokane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Spokane Hotel Spokane
Courtyard Spokane
Spokane Courtyard
Spokane Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Spokane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.