We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View incredible, staff great, experience fun, food fails to live up to the rest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dining Room at Salish Lodge & Spa

The Dining Room at Salish Lodge & Spa
6501 Railroad Ave, Snoqualmie, WA 98024
(425) 888-2556
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dining Room at Salish Lodge & Spa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 43 Restaurants in Snoqualmie
Price range: $12 - $46
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Railroad Ave
Description: Enter the Salish Lodge & Spa Dining Room and transform your next meal into a memorable event. Built around the original 1916 fireplace, the Dining Room combines Northwest character and casual elegance for a unique dining experience. Dress up for a special occasion or dress down for comfort, there's no dress code -- but reservations are highly recommended. Dining in this venue is available for parties of up to ten guests. Visit the Dining Room for impeccably elegant, yet casual, service and incredibly delicious dishes highlighting the bounty of the Pacific Northwest. Renowned for culinary excellence, the Salish Dining Room is magical at any occasion, be it breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Select from among an extraordinary lineup of creations a la carte, and experience the chef's, and season's best in the six-course "Grand Tasting Menu" or the four-course "Country Breakfast".
Washington, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“View incredible, staff great, experience fun, food fails to live up to the rest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had reservations, there was a short wait for our table. It was a lovely table with an outstanding view. The waitress Sandy, was attentive and full of trivia about the Falls and surrounding area. The Kiddie Coffee was incredible according to my child. My husband's coffee was served with small bowls of whipped cream and chocolate shavings. I ordered the Ham shank Hash with Walla Walla Onions, Yellow Potatoes, Brown Butter,Two Farm Fresh Poached Eggs, Fresh Herbs, Buttermilk Biscuit. Picture (extremely overcooked pot roast) no flavor, couldn't find the onions, the potatoes except for two very large ones were painfully crisp to burned also lacking in flavor, however the eggs were perfectly poached. My husband's Farm Fresh Omelet was overcooked and lacking in flavor which is remarkable considering the ingredients like Tillamook Cheese and bacon, ham and sausage. The "famous" biscuit was dry and oily. Might try the Attic for lunch next time. Won't be back for brunch anytime soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    43
    34
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This morning my wife and I enjoyed breakfast at the dining room at the Salish Lodge (Snoqualmie, WA). The restaurant is part of a medium sized boutique hotel. The hotel features luxurious rooms which are Northwest rustic in style. The rooms feature very nice furnishings and fireplaces. A spa featuring various massage styles are also offered. The hotel/restaurant is about a 45 minute drive from downtown Seattle.

The hotel and restaurant are perched on a cliff setting overlooking the falls although not many of the tables offer a view of them. Nevertheless, if you are able to set near a window you have a beautiful view of the forested skyline.

The restaurant which has a wonderful reputation throughout the Northwest and, I imagine, at least, throughout the U.S., it serves wonderful breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Since we went for breakfast I will describe that.

I had the country breakfast which they have been serving for decades. It consists of several courses. You start with a breakfast basket of pastries and a small cup of fruit alongside Devonshire cream and also a berry yogurt, both very good. Next comes a serving of two pancakes which are very light in texture. Following that is their famous steel cut oatmeal with a berry chutney. Finally, is your Main Course, consisting of three eggs, as you like them prepared, wonderful, flavorful breakfast potatoes, bacon, ham and sausage and a good size biscuit. After you open your biscuit and butter it, your server will reach about four feet above the table and have honey flow onto your biscuit, representing the Snoqualmie Falls. This tradition have been occurring for many decades. I believe that most people will not finish some portion of their breakfast and will bring it home with them..

My wife chose the Dungeness crab benedict. It came with two English muffins, poached eggs, Hollandaise sauce and wonderful Dungeness crab, the best tasting all of the crabs in my opinion. It also came with their wonderful breakfast potatoes. My wife enjoyed it very much.

Afterward we took the short wall to the observatory point with an excellent view of the falls, which are higher than Niagara , but not nearly as wide. The pathway is ADA accessible. Tens of thousands of visitors come to the falls very year.

The prices are on the expensive side ($34 for the country breakfast and $25 for the crab benedict) but you will remember your visit for many years to come.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food for a price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary here and knew ahead of time we would pay for the privilege. We had the special (4 courses- salad, an interesting seafood gazpacho, delicious ocean scallops, and dessert) and with drinks beforehand and one glass of a modest wine during the meal, and tip, spent $250. We were able to enjoy a very leisurely and meal felt well-attended but not rushed. Ask for a table against the window.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sseattle, WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Brunch is not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We decided to take family members to The Dining Room at Salish Lodge and managed to spend over $225 for 4 adults and 2 young children for breakfast. We knew that the event would be a splurge and that would have been OK if the food and service were great. My husband ordered the large breakfast ($34) and had his fork taken 3 times by our wait person. That was Ok as we had planned on spending time for the special celebration, but he had no fork to eat his egg and meat dish. By the time he got up and tracked someone down to deliver a fork, his "hot dish" was cold. There was not even an apology from our wait person. She seemed very distracted (perhaps too many patrons) and we certainly did not get the good service we had expected. Also, the "honey from the sky" was just the wait person lifting her arm to let the honey run down to the scone. The honey service used to be quite a show with the wait person on a step stool, I believe. The foods in our other orders were OK, but nothing special and not worth the approx. $20+ charge. We first visited this dining room approx. 35 years ago and we have fond memories of how it used to be. It is now probably not even worth the wait for a table by a window. Our 40 minute wait got us a window table, but not one where we could see any part of the falls.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Prodigous sized breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A group of 5 of us had breakfast here on a Monday. I ordered the four course country breakfast for $20 and was unable to eat all the food. All of us raved about the quality of the food. Reservations are a must. I cannot tell you how many people without a reservation were turned away. Also, try to get a window seat which has great views of the gorge . Prices are much higher on weekends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room at Salish Lodge & Spa also viewed

 

Been to The Dining Room at Salish Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dining Room at Salish Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.