We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous cinnamon rolls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maltby Cafe

Maltby Cafe
8809 Maltby Rd, Snohomish, WA 98296-7901
425-483-3123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Snohomish
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Californian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Exeter, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fabulous cinnamon rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The sign outside says "World Biggest Cinnamon Roll", and while that isn't true they ARE quite large and even at a steep $7 price tag, well worth it. The sweet, yeasty, brioche type bread with tons of cinnamon is drowned in a not overly sweet, delightful and slightly vanilla flavored frosting that makes the whole a wonderful delight that lasted even us three days and still tasted fresh! HUGE lines for breakfast (45 min wait) is apparently normal, but we were time pressed so didn't stay for the meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    38
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Maltby Cafe is a legend...enough said...you will NOT be disappointed, I promise! Expect to wait, unless you get there at opening!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Excellent food with lots of creative items. Start with a cinnamon roll (enough to feed an army) and work your way into the main breakfast entrees. Fast and friendly service in a very quaint and fun atmosphere. We didn't not have to wait on this now infamous Saturday breakfast extravaganza, but it is well worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Stuffed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I've been eating at this place for many years. I'd go more often on weekends, but the line can be extremely long. Best to do during off hours. The food is always very good and I rarely get in when it's not wall to wall people. Still, it's worth the wait.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's like going to a fun event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Maltby Café is my #1 place to take out-of-town guests for breakfast. It's a fun happening place, on the weekends you should be prepared to wait in line that goes up the stairs and out the door... but that's part of the fun, as well as the hussle-bussle of happy voices inside. You'd better be hungry because your portions are huge and melt in your mouth so you'll want to eat everything placed in front of you. My favorite is the California Eggs Benedict (think traditional Eggs Benedict and then add avocado... Delisch!) Even though the place is hopping, the staff is very friendly, happy, and efficient.

This place has been voted Best Breakfast of Western Washington for more years than any other place... and there's so many great reasons: Great Food, Great Service, Great Prices, Great atmosphere, And THE BEST BACON IN THE WORLD (In my opinion).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maltby Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Maltby Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maltby Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.