We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Isolation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At Crippen Creek Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skamokawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn At Crippen Creek Farm
Save
You added The Inn At Crippen Creek Farm to your Saves list
15 Oatfield Road, Skamokawa, WA 98647   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Skamokawa B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Splendid Isolation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you want to "get away from it all", this is the place. Located about 4 miles up a paved country road from Skamokawa, this neat-as-a-pin facility offers wonderful breakfasts served up by the most gracious hosts we've encountered in our 2 dozen b & b stays. The settiing itself optimizes relaxation: A working farm with no cell phone service (you can use the inn's phone for some calls) and no TV. WiFi is available if you can't totally let go. The only noise you're likely to hear is a bugling elk or a howling coyote . And if you really need a little adventure, ask Don or Kitty to put you in touch with Andrew at Columbia River Kayaking. A tip for light packers: Each room has a hairdryer. For efficient drivers: Coming east from Astoria, a left turn on Ingalls Road and another left on Middle Valley will save you going in to Skamokawa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We can't say enough about The Inn at Crippen Creek. Last year, on our way to the coast, we stayed at Crippen Creek Farm for one night. This year we returned for two nights and wish we could have stayed longer. It's simply a quality experience with the nicest of hosts. Kitty and Don have the ability to take care of all our needs while, at the same time, allowing us to relax and take in their beautiful space and property. And, it really is about giving us our space.
To top it off, we also participated in a "pasta making" workshop that Don was giving (with Kitty's help). We came in from a long hot drive to a cool drink and lovely antipasti platter.
We look forward to returning and highly recommend a visit. I can only imagine how beautiful it is in the fall and winter. Wish we lived closer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Can you imagine a place that combines all that's best about a B&B and with hosts that feel like the best of friends? That's what the Inn at Crippen Creek is like. Don and Kitty make you feel totally at home while providing great food and a peaceful environment. The home is beautiful, extremely clean, and very comfortable. Bob D

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed five nights, while on a Road Scholar kayaking trip. Don and Kitty are wonderful hosts and made us feel right at home. The property is large and lovely, with a beautiful garden. The home seems new, or is maintained like new. Lots of places to relax, in the large living area, the front porch, or the screened in side porch, or in chairs set out by the creek. The bed is comfortable, and the room roomy. And the food delicious!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at Crippen Creek while on a Road Scholar kayaking trip. After long, rainy days on the river we were delighted to return to this wonderful place. Don and Kitty provide such a great place to relax. The room are very comfortable, the living area is warm and inviting, and the food is wonderful. We plan to return later this year with friends to take some of Don's cooking classes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

From our 1st glimpse of this sunny-colored yellow Inn in its lovely country setting we knew we had found a gem. A warm, warm welcome from hosts, Don & Kitty made us feel right at home. We were shown to our spacious & very clean room filled with natural light from the windows & the most inviting bed! We were lulled to sleep by country sounds & we loved it. A most yummy breakfast (which varies each morning) & "Pacific Northwest good" coffee, greet guests each morning. On our next visit, we will definately order dinner at the inn, knowing that it will be creatively prepared by the hosts, often using food sourced from their farm or the nearby area & it will be delicious. We also look forward to booking on a weekend when Don is leading a cooking class. As innkeepers, the Speranzas are simply the best--a friendly, engaging couple with a variety of interests & hobbies, & loads of interesting stories to tell if & when their guests want to socialize. On the other hand, guests will find that they are free to relax & simply enjoy the peace & serenity that comes with a visit to Crippen Creek. We also recommend booking a kayaking excursion or lesson from very nearby Columbia River Kayaking Company-a different & fun way to see this history-filled area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

From the time I walked through the door to begin my adventure at The Inn at Crippin Creek Farm to the time I walked through the door when my adventure was over it was a wonderful time had visiting and learning how to make Artisan breads with Don and Kitty. The are the best hosts ever! Don and Kitty are so warm and friendly and Kitty told me once a person walks through their door they are no longer strangers. They are interesting and I enjoyed hearing the story about how they began their life running the farm, the Bed and Breakfast and their cooking classes. My friend Karen and I spent the night and both of us had our own rooms. The beds were so comfortable and the sheets were as smooth as butter. The bed, the bed linens, comforter and pillows are heavenly. I really felt like I was being pampered and I slept like a baby! The bedrooms are decorated beautifully; beautiful colors, pretty furniture, interesting art and a bank of windows that look out to the trees and a big golden moon. It was just so wonderful and peaceful. The bathtub is over sized and I took this as invitation to take a long hot bath and boy did I enjoy it! They made us a wonderful breakfast of Irish Soda Bread, sausage, broccoli and cheese quiche and homemade browned breakfast potatoes with coffee and orange juice to compliment the meal. It was just so very tasty....every last morsel. I am already planning my next trip back. It was a wonderful get away and I learned a lot about Artisan bread baking. There were lots of farm animals to enjoy, a creek running through their property, beautiful trees, a garden and a big front porch to sit on. It is a very quiet and peaceful place to be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn At Crippen Creek Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Crippen Creek Farm

Address: 15 Oatfield Road, Skamokawa, WA 98647
Location: United States > Washington > Skamokawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Skamokawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Withdraw from the hectic rhythm of your everyday life to this secluded creek side setting. Enjoy the peaceful bubbling of the creek and a hearty, farm-fresh breakfast. Two tastefully appointed rooms are available, each with a private bath, luxurious linens, plush absorbent towels and radiant floor heat. Gourmet dinners available with advanced notice. Custom cooking classes are also available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn At Crippen Creek Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.