We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia River Kayaking Day Tours

Columbia River Kayaking Day Tours
957 Steamboat Slough Rd, #1, PO Box 52, Skamokawa, WA 98647
360-747-1044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Skamokawa
Type: Educational Sites, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Tours, Adventure
Activities: Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Columbia River Kayaking provides kayak tours and instruction at all skill levels, with access to two National Wildlife Refuges, the Lewis and Clark trail and the remains of old cannery towns and native village sites. We specialize in historical and natural history tours, and can accommodate large groups of all kinds.In the spring of 2013, we moved to the Skamokawa Landing building, at 957 Steamboat Slough Rd, a few hundred yards from our old location.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A cut above . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I've kayaked in Canada, Wyoming, and 4 southern states and have not encountered guides as well versed in their knowledge of their locale as Andrew and Mark. You also get excellent equipment and scenic paddles on the river. Tough to beat!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great family outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

we did the price island tour (3+ hours) with our family of four in two double kayaks. the equipment was in great shape, the tour was just the right length, and our guide, katie, was fantastic. do watch out for the standard tour guide stories about floating deer and deadly blue heron, though :P

the company was very friendly when i called and even allowed us to book the shorter tour on a day when it was not scheduled. we will definitely visit if we're in the area again and try one of the longer tours.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highest quality equipment & guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Carbon fiber paddles, kayaks with ergonomic seating, hatch covers that really fit, new high quality, comfortable PFDs and skirts. And the best, most knowledgeable, engaged and humorous guides you will be privileged to meet. Their knowledge of both kayaking skills, planning and safety and the natural environment, culture and history of the area is unsurpassed. You will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Columbia River Kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The guides are the best ever! Andrew and Mark are skilled and unflappable. Andrew, especially, is a wonderful storyteller, very knowledgeable about history and the environment. The equipment is in great shape too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I told friends in Chicago that the goal of my trip was to Kayak the Columbia River. They thought I had lost my senses. Not the case. The decision turned out to be an outstanding adventure with competent, skilled and knowledgeable leader/ guides/educators. Owners Andrew and Mark did an outstanding job. I'll be back next year and hopefully every year moving forward.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columbia River Kayaking Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia River Kayaking Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.