We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destined for a Travel Channel Feature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
292 East Libby Road, Shelton, WA 98584   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Shelton B&B and Inns
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Destined for a Travel Channel Feature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Someday the folks at the Travel Channel will have a reason to drive out to Shelton, and that’s the Lighthouse on Hammersley. No, it’s not actually a lighthouse, which is rather fortunate since an actual lighthouse would not be as expansive, warm, or delightful. An actual lighthouse, for example, would not have 4 spacious guest rooms with individual bathrooms complete with double sink, 2-person tub, mini-fridge, ceiling fan, and deck-side doors with a view of a rather secluded inlet (read: NO ANNOYING JETSKIIS).

An actual lighthouse would likely not have a 200 gallon fish tank set in the large living room, adorned with portholes for viewing from the hallway. Neither would it have a 65” surround-sound theatre room downstairs, bar, or pool table. In fact, none of the other B&Bs we’ve ever stayed at had any of these things either, and that doesn’t even cover half of the details. The nautical theme throughout was done wonderfully and tastefully with a fine attention to the small details. There was no sense of “kitsch” or “nick-nacky-ness” that is the trap of many themed places. We both felt a child-like wonder as we were given our tour of the entire facility by the owner and proprietor, Phil.

Which brings me to the best part: Phil and Kelly were fantastic hosts. Phil was ready to greet us at the door the moment we arrived, and he even took our bags to our room. Kelly’s breakfasts are first-class. I ate dishes I had previously disliked prepared other places, but apparently they only were lacking Kelly’s personal touch. I am not much of a breakfast person, but I found myself cleaning my plate each time. Phil and Kelly were both so friendly, warm, and accommodating that even though I would feel far outclassed, I would welcome them to our home anytime as they welcomed us to theirs. My wife and I both look forward to seeing them again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
126
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Had a wonderful weekend at A Lighthouse on Hammersley B&B. Beautiful surroundings in a peaceful getaway. Amazing home and wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Relaxation has its place and it's the Lighthouse. The facilities are clean. There are only four rooms so it can't get crowded. We never heard anything from the next room. There is ample common space and activities or go out and sit by the water. The food rivals the expensive restaurants. We bought dinner on our arrival day. The portions were generous and prepared perfectly! It included an appetizer, main course (we had salmon), and dessert for $20. You cannot get a better meal within 30 miles. The location is away from fast food so plan to eat there - arrange with them or bring your own. We will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

You will not regret staying here. Phil and Kelly have built this B&B from the ground up designing the building and experience to include all of the best. They work very hard going out of their way to make you comfortable. The rooms, the house, the grounds, and amenities make this a top notch experience that you can not find elsewhere. Exquisite!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Gorgeous setting - located on the water. A stunningly beautiful B&B with a nautical theme. Rooms were large, beautiful, clean, extremely comfortable. Breakfast was great - they happily accommodated my and my husbands special dietary requirements. Host and hostess were fabulous. We will definitely come again and strongly recommend this B&B to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

My wife and I received a gift for a free stay at A Lighthouse on Hammersley but were a little hesitant about staying at a B&B. However, Phil and Kelly made us feel so at home while also giving us the space to enjoy our time away from the hustle and bustle of life. As someone who is not very social, this place had such a nice balance of privacy and interaction. By the end of our stay, we felt that we had found a getaway we would highly recommend to our friends and family. We also felt that we had made new friends. We look forward to our next stay very much!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed one night but wish it could have been so many more. Guaranteed you can't find a cleaner, well thought out and designed B&B. Gorgeous architecture and great theme rooms. Very comfortable beds and accomidations in every room. They really seemed to have thought of everything when it comes to your comfort and enjoyment. Phil and Kelly are truly amazing hosts. They are very personable and caring, not to mention amazing chefs creating a beautifully prepared gourmet breakfast we couldn't get enough of. There is also plenty of entertainment if you so desire. What a great location right off of the water and a eye pleasing landscaping. Check them out! You truly couldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast

Address: 292 East Libby Road, Shelton, WA 98584
Location: United States > Washington > Shelton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
a Lighthouse On Hammersley Hotel Shelton
a Lighthouse On Hammersley b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.