We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Anniversary destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
292 East Libby Road, Shelton, WA 98584   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Shelton B&B and Inns
Snohomish, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Anniversary destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This Bed and Breakfast was amazing. Our hosts went above and beyond for our one year wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Zen room and could not have asked for more outstanding accomodations and services. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Zen room is an amazing room for peace and relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
126
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had a family wedding in Shelton and luckily found the perfect spot to stay for 3 days. Options are fairly limited in the Shelton area to a casino hotel (SMOKEY) and Alderbrook Resort (seriously overpriced, noisy and 100% pet frieindly. You may pay $400 a night for a queen bed that a big stinky dog slept on the night before. No thanks --and no, I am not a dog hater-- I love pets--but not someone else's dog that has been tearing up the beach and in water all day in my pricey room). We totally lucked out to find this place. The Lighthouse B&B setting is so pretty--peaceful and very northwest, right on the water. The B&B itself is architecturally interesting---lodge style. Very well maintained grounds--lots of quiet areas to be cozy. Spotless, comfortable and fabulous breakfasts. Pray for the scones with blackberrry jam. I am not a chatter in the morning, and the innkeepers respected that quirk.
Price is a true value--we were stunned to get this level of service and accomodation for the price. Would we stay here again? Absolutely, and hope to in the future. Highly reccomended to anyone looking for beautiful place to stay in the Pacific Northwest.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large and pretty--and have a patio or deck with view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Lucked into finding this B and B on Trip Advisor. I don't think I've ever seen a place with all 50+ reveiws that were 5 out of 5, but now I understand why.

First, the setting is spectacular. We brought our kayaks to go up and down Hammersley Inlet (it's pretty easy - time it right and the tide does most of the work), and thought that staying at a B and B would be a fun way to do that. The house is right on the water, on a low bank. We saw seals, and while kayaking we saw blue heron and a lynx or some other large wild cat species.

The house is spectacular. The innkeepers - Phil and Kelly - built it themselves 5 years ago as a B and B. Huge entry area, great living room with river rock fireplace, a library, and downstairs there's a huge theater room and a game room, a small fitness center, and a bar to use (they don't serve alcohol of course but you can bring your own). The kitchen is an open plan and just huge - two islands. It's not for guests, of course, but it's very attractive. They have also situated several eating areas inside and outside the house, so if you want privacy you've got it, plus several areas for relaxing inside and out.

Loved the huge huge room with private bath. They have 4 rooms the rent, and the innkeeper's private area is on the other side of the house and out of the way, so you don't feel at all like you are intruding as can happen at B and Bs.

Another nice surprise was breakfast. It's a full breakfast and very tasty, and different each day. And of course the beautiful setting just adds to that.

Phil and Kelly went out of their way to make you feel welcome and kept inquiring if there was anything they could do for us. Nice folks and great hosts.

While staying there we kayaked out to Hope Island, which was fun, went to the Mason County Fair which was small and rural and great, hit the Saturday Farmer's Market, and enjoyed outstanding beer soup and beers at the Grove Street Brew House. But really the best part was just hanging out at the house and watching the world go by on the inlet.

We look forward to a return trip!

David & Sandy - Oregon City, OR

Room Tip: All the rooms have a deck or balcony so all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

What an awesome gem. This B&B was a modern and up to date place. It is absolutely Beautifull inside and outside. The grounds in the back faces Hammersley Inlet and it is a beautiful site. We stayed in the Hawaiin room. It was comfortable and roomy with a privagte bath and sliding door to the deck out back and a georgous view of the inlet. It was piecefull and very relaxing. The host's Phil & Kelly are the most personable & friendly I have encountered at a B&B. They are not just good hosts but great people. The details they have put into the place and the service they provide makes you feel like you are part of the family. I can't say enough about how much my wife and I and my sister & brother in-law just loved it. This is a five star place. We are coming back soon for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Perfect, relaxing, and pieceful experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego,
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We just returned from an overnight stay at this delightful B&B - our hosts, Phil & Kelly, were warm and welcoming - and the inn itself is awesome!! It is spacious (over 10,000 sq ft) with a light and airy feel - more modern in design than any other B&B we've visited - there are four guestrooms (2 upstairs and 2 down) plus a lower floor with workout room, pool table and bigscreen movie viewing - we stayed in the Zen room - beautiful - the inn sits on a huge lot on the water with lots of areas to just sit and watch the boats go by, relax and maybe catch sight of some deer - Kelly's food was not only delicious but artfully prepared (with the help of hubby Phil) - her marionberry scones were heavenly and the Canadian bacon crusted quiche with brie and parmesan was to die for - this inn is a tribute to their love of people and entertaining and was truly a labor of love in the design, building and furnishing - we cannot recommend their hospitality nor their home highly enough!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We wanted to stay in a place that was close to take a trip to the Olympic National Park, but after getting to Phil and Kelly's B&B we did not need to go anywhere.

First of all the service was amazing. The hosts made you feel very comfortable, and the house was beyond all expectations. My daughter who was along with us on the trip said that Hammersley Bay part of our trip would be the highlight of our 2 week vacation.

The room was perfect. We were in the Captains Quarters...it had a king bed and a fold out single. All the rooms have a view of the bay which is a real plus. And it was clean which is my number one concern. All the rooms are decorated with Kelly's special touch. And my favorite area was the barstools looking into the kitchen. The plan of the house is open so you never feel cramped.

Highlights were: the breakfast in the morning, the putt putt golf area, walking when the tide was down on the shore, gazing out to the bay and the most wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The house was amazing. It exceeded our expectations. Phil and Kelly are naturals at hosting and making you feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast

Address: 292 East Libby Road, Shelton, WA 98584
Location: United States > Washington > Shelton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
a Lighthouse On Hammersley Hotel Shelton
a Lighthouse On Hammersley b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Lighthouse on Hammersley Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.