We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect long weekend or vacation place with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dungeness Bay Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sequim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dungeness Bay Cottages
Save
You added Dungeness Bay Cottages to your Saves list
140 Marine Drive, Sequim, WA 98382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marysville, Washington, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The perfect long weekend or vacation place with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I returned today from a 3 day weekend in Sequim. This was our first, but not last, time staying at the Dungeness Bay Cottages. The cottages are very clean and well-maintained. Children and pets are not allowed which isn't an issue for us. There is nothing fancy about the cottages but they have everything that we needed or wanted in a place to stay. Since the cottages have an open floor plan with only the bathroom being enclosed we had a view of both the Dungeness Spit and Strait of Juan de Fuca from the picture window and the snow-capped Cascade Mountain range from the kitchen. It was so restful and beautiful. Karin and John, the owners are very friendly and lovely people. I have stayed before at a property down the road and prefer this hands down. And there is a private beach just across the street for an instant walk on the beach. Sequim is a wonderful place to visit and we very much enjoyed our stay at these cottages.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage #2 which had a view of both Dungeness Spit and the Strait of Juan de Fuca with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrcrab, Owner at Dungeness Bay Cottages, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Children are welcome here! They have lots of fun exploring the beach right in front of your door and creating some new experiences while staying here at the Dungeness Bay Cottages! Lots to see and do for everyone, tidepools at low tide, to hiking with the deer in the mountains! Some of our accommodations here are expressly reserved for just for two persons, and one of them could absolutely be that lucky kid! .....Mr. Crab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a very quiet 3-day weekend in Cottage #2, Oceanview, before Thanksgiving. I definitely recommend it for a relaxing getaway. We had good views of Dungeness Spit and the lighthouse and watched boats, cargo ships, and barges pass by each day. The kitchen was nicely equipped and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and while the bathroom was small it was adequate for us.

Cottages 2, 3, 4 & 5 are all similarly appointed. There are two suites in the east building along with the office. Karin and John were friendly and helpful with recommendations for restaurants and how to get to the parking area for the spit access. Hint: it is through the park and campground area.

Sequim is one of the cleanest coastal towns we have seen. Everything was well maintained and people were friendly everywhere we went. Definitely try the Sunshine Cafe. The servings are so large you can share lunch.

Room Tip: The suites and cottages face north with the San Juan and Lighthouse (#1) Suites on the east end then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I booked a long weekend here to unwind after a hectic summer. We were extremely pleased with what we received at this price point: a comfortable room with an unmatched view of the spit and the strait beyond. The rooms are slightly dated but entirely adequate, comfortable, and well-equipped. The owners are very gracious, accommodating people who enthusiastically share their wide knowledge of the area's attractions. They were very helpful with our restaurant selection process (Hint: Don't miss the Alder Wood Bistro!). The cottages were conveniently located for hiking the Dungeness Spit and accessing Olympic National Park's Hurricane Ridge. Our only regret is that we didn't book more time here to just enjoy being on the property. We intend to return next summer and do just that!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a great cottage rental right across the scenic roadway with fantastic views all around. Very serene surroundings (we visited in early October) with ocean view looking out the main windows, and pastoral setting with cows right behind us. Super clean and all appointed. Host was professional and very helpful. Covered carport for your ride. Bathroom a bit of a tight squeeze, but that's part of the charm! Definitely recommend and will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circleville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The cottage was about what was expected; dated, but clean and convenient. The owners were very helpful with information about where to dine and a vase for flowers my wife had purchased in Seattle. We were able to drive to Hurricane Ridge in under an hour and it made an easy trip to Neah Bay and Ho Rainforest in a day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Outside of town, directly across the very quiet street from the coast, very clean. Full kitchen well stock, although no staples beyond coffee, salt and pepper,. TV with DVD player. Comfortable bed, good pillows. Great base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: I think they're all the same, all looking out at the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were a little leery because there is a wide range of "cottages" in this area, ranging from upscale beauties to rundown fishing camps. Dungeness Bay Cottages, however, was a delight. The owners, John and Karin, upgraded us from our requested cottage to cottage #1 in honor of our 25th wedding anniversary. #1 was very spacious, with a separate bedroom, sitting area, dining table, and full kitchen. Our original request, #5, is at the end. Be aware that the "fragrance" of the neighboring cow pasture may drift in through the windows of #4 and #5. We had no issue with it in #1. I'm used to the country, but city folk may be more sensitive.
Cottage was clean, bed was comfy, bath was spacious. It is all about the location and view, however! Just across the road is the beach and Dungeness Bay. We spent our first morning there watching birds, including a kingfisher and a great blue heron. We could see the lighthouse out on the Spit. Practically no traffic while we were there. The cottages are situated on lovely grounds, with flowers and lawn, and the mountains behind them (along with the cows mentioned earlier). We did not notice any flies, but there were screen doors on the cottages. Huge windows look out onto the Bay.
Although coffee and sugar were provided, you need to bring any other food items you want. Full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, and coffee pot were there for us, along with dishes, pots and pans, utensils.
Convenient to the Audubon Center, where salmon were spawning in the river.

Room Tip: Cottages #4 and 5 may experience some influence from the neighboring cows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dungeness Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungeness Bay Cottages

Address: 140 Marine Drive, Sequim, WA 98382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A collection of roomy cottages, Dungeness Bay Cottages enjoys a lovely setting...With private beach...Picnic tables & chairs. The cottages have full kitchens...Plus sweeping views of mountains & cow pastures outback!"...From Frommers. The beach, the Bay, the Olympic Park hikes, waterfalls, the wild beaches and Rain Forest, Victoria, B.C.Are all in your reach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dungeness Bay Cottages Hotel Sequim
Dungeness Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dungeness Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.