We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortble clean cottages, knock-out view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dungeness Bay Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sequim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dungeness Bay Cottages
Save
You added Dungeness Bay Cottages to your Saves list
140 Marine Drive, Sequim, WA 98382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Boquete, Panama
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfortble clean cottages, knock-out view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Outside of town, directly across the very quiet street from the coast, very clean. Full kitchen well stock, although no staples beyond coffee, salt and pepper,. TV with DVD player. Comfortable bed, good pillows. Great base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: I think they're all the same, all looking out at the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were a little leery because there is a wide range of "cottages" in this area, ranging from upscale beauties to rundown fishing camps. Dungeness Bay Cottages, however, was a delight. The owners, John and Karin, upgraded us from our requested cottage to cottage #1 in honor of our 25th wedding anniversary. #1 was very spacious, with a separate bedroom, sitting area, dining table, and full kitchen. Our original request, #5, is at the end. Be aware that the "fragrance" of the neighboring cow pasture may drift in through the windows of #4 and #5. We had no issue with it in #1. I'm used to the country, but city folk may be more sensitive.
Cottage was clean, bed was comfy, bath was spacious. It is all about the location and view, however! Just across the road is the beach and Dungeness Bay. We spent our first morning there watching birds, including a kingfisher and a great blue heron. We could see the lighthouse out on the Spit. Practically no traffic while we were there. The cottages are situated on lovely grounds, with flowers and lawn, and the mountains behind them (along with the cows mentioned earlier). We did not notice any flies, but there were screen doors on the cottages. Huge windows look out onto the Bay.
Although coffee and sugar were provided, you need to bring any other food items you want. Full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, and coffee pot were there for us, along with dishes, pots and pans, utensils.
Convenient to the Audubon Center, where salmon were spawning in the river.

Room Tip: Cottages #4 and 5 may experience some influence from the neighboring cows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern, Ontario
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We found Dungeness Bay Cottages on Trip Advisor. Where would travellers be without this valuable service? The owners John and Karin were so helpful. John loaned me his oyster shucker as I had forgotten to bring mine. They also provided information concerning the Dungeness Spit and Olympic National Park. The cottages were a perfect size and had a very comfortable bed. They were neat and tidy and well outfitted. Lawn chairs and an outside table made Happy Hour perfect. Their gas barbecue worked perfectly for our evening meals.
To say we enjoyed our three day stay is an understatement. Give it a try as it is truly one of those must stay places that deserves 5 stars.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, WA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Clean, comfortable, yes....a bit dated, but you cant beat the location. Full kitchen, plenty of room to run around, across the street from the beach. Owners left helpful map and brochures. Ask for extra towels...our room only came eith 2.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here nearly 20 years ago and recalled it as a nice, quiet place with fantastic views. It's even better now, with a few tasteful interior improvements, immaculate landscaping, and (the same) very accommodating owners. Easy access to the Dungeness Spit, Olympic National Park, and a well-equipped farm store nearby make it a perfect vacation spot or weekend escape from the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to the cottages, which are located a short distance out of town and look out over Dungeness Spit. I wish we'd planned ahead so we could have used the very clean, fully equipped kitchen more, but we did enjoy our home style breakfast (made with food from Nash's and some granola from Purple Haze). Otherwise we ate in town (thank goodness for Blondie's as otherwise most restaurants close on Sun/Mon).
Some nice touches: a small vase of lovely fresh flowers, some coffee and a friendly host. It's very quiet out here and would be a great base for exploring this side of Olympic National Park or just hanging out for some family time. Stop in at the Pacific Mist bookshop in town for a book or watch the tv if you must. Lovely sunsets, eagle watching up the road, very close to Dungeness Spit. I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Sulphur Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Dungeness Bay Cottages for the 2013 Sequim Lavender Festival. Sequim was crowded and it was great to escape to this quiet get-away.

We were in the San Juan Cottage. It was everything as advertised, and then some. The cottage was spacious, with plenty of storage and hangers.

The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you would need to prepare any meal. The view out the back was of the Olympic Mountains.

A large living room offered views of the bay and the split. We watched lots of ships going in and out of ports in Seattle and Vancouver.

The back yard was equipped with four comfortable chairs, a charcoal grill and picnic table. The yard itself was beautiful, ringed with gorgeous flowers.

Two fawns were romping around when we arrived. The milk cows behind the property lent an aura of farm life and ambiance.

We will return!!!

Room Tip: If you are staying for several days, the San Juan Cottage is the one for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dungeness Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungeness Bay Cottages

Address: 140 Marine Drive, Sequim, WA 98382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A collection of roomy cottages, Dungeness Bay Cottages enjoys a lovely setting...With private beach...Picnic tables & chairs. The cottages have full kitchens...Plus sweeping views of mountains & cow pastures outback!"...From Frommers. The beach, the Bay, the Olympic Park hikes, waterfalls, the wild beaches and Rain Forest, Victoria, B.C.Are all in your reach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dungeness Bay Cottages Hotel Sequim
Dungeness Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dungeness Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.