We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dungeness Bay Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sequim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dungeness Bay Cottages
Save
You added Dungeness Bay Cottages to your Saves list
140 Marine Drive, Sequim, WA 98382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Missouri
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here last week for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it! It is not fancy, but it is cute, clean, and comfortable. The views out the window were outstanding and we loved going across the road to the private beach. It is a rocky beach and doesn't appear to be used much, but we spent both evenings watching the sunset from here. Would highly recommend it for anyone looking for an economical, out of the way place to stay with great views!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Wonderful location out of the mainstream of town. Bicyclists and walkers, eagle nest, super views out the nice windows. The shower stall was pretty small for a long term stay, but the place was just super and we enjoyed our two nights there. The kitchen has everything you could want . Really just a fun stay for us.

Room Tip: These are ground floor cabins or cottages and maybe a little tight for handicapped access. It was ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spend Saturday at Port Townsend, we tried the Kayak tour, it is first time for our little boy, and he loves it. The cottage is right on the beach front of the Puget sound, it is not sandy beach, however, it does not deter him from spending hours digging up. He ran into 2 other boys on the beach, he caught many little crabs, snails, etc.

the cottage has kitchen, we had our breakfast, and one diner at the cottage. there is also BBQ grill, however, we decide not to use it since we want to try out local restaurant. the host gave excellent recommendations.

it is not far from Port Angels, so we spend one day at the crescent lake, and hike to the maymore waterfall. it is good hike for Adrian, however, if you have stroller, you can't use it for the last quarter mile. (for there is stairs)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The views really sell this place, and we had to come back after staying several years ago. Very clean and comfortable, with nice kitchens to cook that crab in! The owners go out of their way to accommodate you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I wanted a place to escape for some peace and quiet to get some writing done. I know the peninsula well but usually camp there in the summer rather than stay at a hotel/cottage. If you are looking for a quiet, somewhat remote (rather than being smack in the middle of Sequim,) this is a great place to stay. When I got there, the owners had left a note and the room door open for me. In fact, I never saw them the whole time I was there (although I had their phone number if I needed something.) The room was clean, worn but satisfactory, and the view is unobstructed view of Dungeness Bay. The road it is located on only has a car every so often, and the view out the back of the "cottage" is of farmland and gorgeous Olympic Mountains. There is a nice size little kitchen, flat screen TV, very small bathroom and peace and quiet. I will definitely head back there again for weekend getaways.

If you are looking for a place where you can walk to the grocery store or restaurants, this is not it. However, if you would rather have a more secluded place where you bring groceries to the fridge and hole up with a good book, this is exactly what you're looking for.

Room Tip: Just let the owners know how many people you have, they can suggest which cottage will have the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Dungeness Bay Cottages several times over the last twenty years and we love it more with each stay. For the first time we stayed in the San Juan Suite which is so, so cozy with its fireplace, bookcases packed with good reads, and snug little kitchen. The view is unparalleled. At night you can see the lights of Victoria reflecting off the clouded skies. From the kitchen window is a full-on view of the Olympic Mountains. The suite is equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay, including a kitchen ready for a cook. Most importantly, to me, is the pristine cleaniness of The Dungeness Bay Cottages. You can't do better than this place.

Room Tip: The San Juan Suite and one either suite are larger than the standard rooms, which are fine for a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I was absolutely amazed at the view that we got from these cottages. Ocean and the Dungeness Spit out the front, farms and snow-capped mountains out the back. The owners were amazing and very helpful. The interior of the cottages were spacious and had everything you needed, including full kitchens.

They were quiet, peaceful and pretty well priced for what you get. The owners obviously put a lot of effort into keeping these relatively older buildings looking nice and feeling welcoming. We won't even think of staying somewhere else when we come back.

http://bumblechickfood.blogspot.com/2011/10/alaska-and-northwest-trip-day-24.html

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dungeness Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungeness Bay Cottages

Address: 140 Marine Drive, Sequim, WA 98382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A collection of roomy cottages, Dungeness Bay Cottages enjoys a lovely setting...With private beach...Picnic tables & chairs. The cottages have full kitchens...Plus sweeping views of mountains & cow pastures outback!"...From Frommers. The beach, the Bay, the Olympic Park hikes, waterfalls, the wild beaches and Rain Forest, Victoria, B.C.Are all in your reach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dungeness Bay Cottages Hotel Sequim
Dungeness Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dungeness Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.