We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better be Hungry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
1471 E.Washington St, Sequim, WA
360-504-2950
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 77 Restaurants in Sequim
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Located next to Holiday Inn Express Hotel, the Black Bear Diner is dedicated to providing the very best food and service anywhere. You'll enjoy delicious family meals, perfect burgers, frosty shakes, and healthful salads. we'll treat you like we invited you over for diner! Enjoy outside seating on our deck in the Sequim sunshine.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better be Hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Sequim is a destination point a minimum of two times per year for the past 5 years. Have driven by the Black Bear numerous times. Remembered a previous experience in another state and decided, "Why not!?!?" Prior experience, I ordered a steak. This time I went for the Chicken Fried Steak and eggs. My wife went for a simple salad. Service was initially a little slow (could have been the time of day). The server immediately made up for it with a quick apology and superb attention when we brought the slow start to her attention. The quality and quantity of the food is excellent. I'm a big eater and I had a doggie bag with chicken fried for the next day. Regardless of what brings you in, breakfast, lunch. dinner, snack, etc., the menu is expansive. The food is delicious, and the price is reasonable and appropriate. We'll definitely return (to this or any other Black Bear Diner).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearDiner, Owner at Black Bear Diner, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Black Bear Diner in Sequim. Glad that you enjoyed the chicken-fried steak, good customer service, reasonable prices, large portions and expansive menu. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    57
    29
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and BIG portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great food, I ordered the pork chop with mashed potatoes. It was the best food I have ever are at a big restaurant! They had the biggest portions ever. Great prices!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearDiner, Owner at Black Bear Diner, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of the Black Bear Diner in Sequim. We are so glad that you enjoyed our great food (specifically pork chop with mashed potatoes), large portions and great prices. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMLOOPS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

good food and large portions if you are not a big eater order the smaller size dinners. Huge meals that will fill you up

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearDiner, Owner at Black Bear Diner, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks for your review of the Black Bear Diner in Sequim, WA. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our good food and large portions. And yes, we do have smaller portion options. We look forward to serving you another great meal soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIG HARBOR
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Be Prepared to Hibernate! ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

First time visit at this restaurant and a huge disappointment. If you have lots of time then this place is for you,otherwise you might as well go into hibernation. The service is nonexistent. As far as food-we didn't see huge portions like other reviews have stated. The fries were bland and tasteless. The overall service left is wishing we went some where else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearDiner, Owner at Black Bear Diner, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of the Black Bear Diner in Sequim and for letting us know that we still need to improve our wait times and service. We are always working on being more efficient and on taking excellent care of our guests, and we still have room for improvement. We are sorry that you were disappointed in your dining experience but appreciate the feedback so that we can get it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good with generous portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Black Bear Diner is an excellent choice for good old fashioned comfort food with generous portions. They have breakfasts, burgers, hand dipped shakes, etc.

The best BLT that I have ever had was from this Black Bear diner. It was loaded with lots of thick crispy bacon with plenty of lettuce and tomato.

Their blackberry cobbler is my wife's favorite. We always have to take that home because we are too full after the main meal.

This is a great place to bring the family. There are smaller size options available.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearDiner, Owner at Black Bear Diner, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our diner. We couldn't have said it better ourselves! We, too, love the BLT and blackberry cobbler among several of our other comfort food specialties like chicken-fried steak. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.