We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
1471 E.Washington St, Sequim, WA
360-504-2950
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 77 Restaurants in Sequim
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Located next to Holiday Inn Express Hotel, the Black Bear Diner is dedicated to providing the very best food and service anywhere. You'll enjoy delicious family meals, perfect burgers, frosty shakes, and healthful salads. we'll treat you like we invited you over for diner! Enjoy outside seating on our deck in the Sequim sunshine.
Sequim, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

On our way out of Sequim my family and I stopped at Black Bear for lunch. I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the restaurant and friendly staff. We were seated right away and our server Steven was very helpful and courteous. Between the four of us in our party we had Burgers, chicken strips and the Tri-tip sandwich. Our hamburgers were huge, the fries were cooked just right and everything was prepared as requested. The tri-tip sandwich was delicious!! Our server was great about making sure our drinks were filled and that we had what we needed. The whole atmosphere of this restaurant was a great experience. I would recommend Black Bear to all my friends and family and we will be back!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearDiner, Owner at Black Bear Diner, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed great service and delicious food in our clean restaurant. Thank you for recommending the Black Bear Diner! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    57
    29
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“How VERY confusing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have been travelling around the nation for the last nine months and were eating most of our meals in restaurants. After arriving in Sequim, we were fortunate to enjoy our first meal at the Black Bear. Not only were the wait staff unbelievably pleasant and helpful but the food was the absolute best that we had experienced during those nine months. Thinking it just a lucky exception, we tried it every day for a week and found a wide variety of their food to be of the same superb quality as the first breakfast that we had enjoyed at the Black Bear. After considering some of the inferior reviews that the local folks had provided, we thought that there must be many heavenly restaurants in Sequim...WRONG. When we eat out, we opt for having the fine food with the friendly folks at Black Bear. Lastly, if you are looking for a really fine dining experience, ask to be seated in Silvi's section!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearDiner, Owner at Black Bear Diner, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are glad that you enjoyed our pleasant and helpful staff and fine food at the Black Bear Diner! We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“The Best Breakfast We Never Ate!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

And we didn’t miss out on anything!
You never know what you are going to get at the Black Bear Diner in Sequim. Go somewhere else!
We were regulars here for awhile but stopped because they are so inconsistent with the food and service.
We thought we would give them one last try! ( Again! )
We pull in and there were few cars in the parking lot. At least there won’t be a wait to get seated. We go in and the young inexperienced hostess ( re: one of the waitress! ) tried to seat us but failed. Some guy walked in and walked right by her and us and sat down at the table we were going to.... So instead of asking the very rude and arrogant guy to wait his turn she turned around to us and said.... “Sorry we don’t have a table”...... Really? My wife and I looked at each other and knew what our next move was. We left and won’t be back! This is a messed up operation.
I have been in touch via different channels with BBD of Sequim and they all failed. Despite their words and attempts to placate with coupons....... bad is still bad!
There is no discernible improvement in management, service, or the food, if anything, it’s just become worse.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearDiner, Owner at Black Bear Diner, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are sorry that you had to wait and that someone was seated in front of you. That should not have happened except that sometimes people seat themselves at the counter or smaller parties are seated ahead of larger ones. We are always striving to improve both our food and service. Our goal is to get you your food quickly, keep your drinks filled, and check back with you frequently. We apologize for any inconsistent meal you've experienced. We take pride in our home-cooked recipes and strive to prepare delicious meals with generous portions every time. We have many happy and loyal customers, and we will continue to work hard to make you one of them again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Why do people go there?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This place is amazing popular, but for the life of me, I cannot figure out why. The atmosphere is OK, the service is average, but the food is, well, not worth the time and money. But whenever you drive by, they are busy! It's a step up from fast food, but only a small step in that you get served at a table; otherwise, you may as well be at Dairy Queen.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearDiner, Owner at Black Bear Diner, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Come on in and try us! We think that you'll enjoy our friendly service, home-cooking and generous portions that make the Black Bear Diner so popular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Probably Won't Be Back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Have dined here a couple of times before. It seems things have gone down hill since they opened. This time the service was very slow for the amount of people in the restaurant. Also, the restaurant was very cold. Since it was chilly outside we were hoping to come into a nice warm cozy place to eat. Both my wife and mother-in-law had to eat with there jackets and scarfs on. When our orders finally came I had to send my chilli back because it was at room temperature!
So, I think we will cross this diner off our list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret W, Owner at Black Bear Diner, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Ruffjrj, We are sorry that you were cold when you visited our restaurant. We had some issues with our heating unit, but they have been resolved. Our restaurant is nice and warm once again. Please visit us again we'll seat you in front of the gas fireplace! Sincerely Bret W - Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.