We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home on bluff overlooking the bay, gracious host, excellent food, close to lots of outdoor activities.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
42 Marine Drive, Sequim, WA 98382   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Sequim B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful home on bluff overlooking the bay, gracious host, excellent food, close to lots of outdoor activities.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful home converted from barn in 1950's located on bluff overlooking bay and Dungeness Spit. House is on curve in road with gardens in back and trail/stairs down bluff to beach in front. Hostess is gracious, has lot's of good information to share about the area and is a wonderful cook. We plan to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequimFigaro, Owner at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you. I will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We only had this one day on the beautiful Olympic Peninsula and chose Bertas B&B to spend the night.
We we were totally overwhelmed by how beautiful and quiet this wonderful place is.
Berta welcomed us warmly and took care of all our needs. We had a wonderful, peaceful night, a good, long walk at the water and took so many unforgetable memories back to Germany.

Thank you again and we´ll definitely be back in early summer to see the beautiful lavender bloom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequimFigaro, Owner at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for the lovely compliments. I look forward to your next visit when the lavender is in bloom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of Berta & the Dungeness Barnhouse. The place is a wonderful getaway for weary Seattlelites who are ready to hide away and enjoy a little bit of the rainshadow during the winter. It was the perfect nook to relax after a day of snowshoeing on Hurricane Ridge...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequimFigaro, Owner at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so very much for posting the stunning photos of your snowshoeing adventure on Hurricane Ridge and visiting the "barnhouse".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Another couple of days w Berta, I think I would have. The B&B is situated in a quiet corner of the world w views of the mountains to the south and view of Dungeness Bay and beyond to the north. We had the downstairs room for 6 nights. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bath quite spacious. Berta is a great hostess and terrific cook. She spoiled us w her breakfast creations every morning. The gardens were beautiful and full of color even in October. Her great room was a nice place to spend a couple evenings reading and sipping a glass of wine. Again, the views here are great. We look forward to another stay w Berta in the coming year(s).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequimFigaro, Owner at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit. Your picture of "Pumpkin Girl" at sunset is priceless.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Seriously! 5 stars is not enough for The Dungeness Barn House B&B or Berta. They were both wonderful.
I read all the reviews and they are spot on correct and more. I was excited to return home and be able to add my name to the list of reviewers. The Barn House was amazing. The view , the location, the gardens, the food , the bed (oh! such a good sleep!), the Great Room, the coffee, the WiFii. Oh I could go on. But the hostess, Berta, was the most amazing part of the Barn House B&B. She is the heart of the this place. She is amazing. She is inspiring. A Master Gardener, a gourmet chef, a conversationalist extraordinaire (I'm afraid I chattered her ear off). Again, I could go on and not get close to being accused of over exaggerating. ( But - just to be clear. She is not overbearing type at all! Not at all. If you are the B&B guest that just wants your privacy - she would leave you be. She is not one to impose herself. I just found myself seeking her out.)
Anyway, Berta's optimism and enthusiasm was contagious. This vacation for us has renewed our excitement for our own home and garden and kitchen. We were only there for 3 days but are now making plans to do it again this spring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequimFigaro, Owner at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sending the photos of your garden and patio changes. I too find inspiration on my travels for what I create in my gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Dungeness Barnhouse was wonderful! My husband and I wished we had more time there! The view was amazing, the breakfast was outstanding and Berta is a delightful host with wonderful accommodations. Berta's garden is delightful, peaceful and the hot tub a wonderful remedy for our sore bodies after strenuous hiking! We hope to go back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Berta was a terific host. The property was beautiful. From the garden surrounding the home to the private beachfront she owns accross the street (with two Kayaks available). We enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts and the drinks and snacks that she had available for us in the upstairs common room. She was extremely helpful to us in picking out good restaurants, and helping us plan our trips to Hurricane Ridge, the wineries, Cape Flatery on the Pacific Coast, and Forks. The hardest thing was leaving.

Room Tip: The downstairs bedroom has a great waterview, is large, and has a great memory foam bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 42 Marine Drive, Sequim, WA 98382
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Dungeness Barn House Bed & Breakfast is located on Dungeness Bay over-looking the Strait, Dungeness Spit & Lighthouse. The spacious beautifully appointed suites have private baths. Enjoy walks on the private beach and beautiful sunsets from the beach deck. Watch eagles soaring overhead and ships going through the Strait of Juan de Fuca. The beautiful gardens surrounding the home are planned for year round enjoyment. Winter is special time to sit in front of the great room fireplace and watch the white capped waves marching down the Strait. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.