We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money you can get much better!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Juan de Fuca Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Juan de Fuca Cottages to your Saves list
Juan de Fuca Cottages
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   182 Marine Dr, Sequim, WA 98382   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“For the money you can get much better!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

My stay wasn't terrible but given the time of year and our particular cottage, it should be cheaper! We didn't have a great view, everything seemed to be too cheap (fake fireplace), the bathroom was nice, front porch was nice! But my worst part of my stay was after I left, a lady called up asking if I could return a blanket, pillow, and two wooden hangers like I stole them... I told her it must be a mistake n that I didn't have any of those items... I wasn't happy because it sounded like an accusation rather than a question. Then 20min after our disagreement, she called back up and apologized saying it was her mistake. So I'm glad she apologized but how are you going to jump the gun on your customer if you didn't do your research first??? I agree with another post I just read and think she was after an extra few bucks! I don't recommend places I can't trust so take this review how you want, I don't trust Juan de Fuca Cottages whatsoever!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuandeFucaCottages, Owner at Juan de Fuca Cottages, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
We were very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us - while here you gave no indication of your dissatisfaction saying only that you really enjoyed your getaway. When the items were not found in your room, as happens sometimes, we call as soon as possible in case the guests are still in the area and can stop by to return items. Many times a blanket will be used for travel or towels used for the beach and forgotten in a car. When we did find the items in the adjoining Lodge we also called right away to let you know we found them and to apologize. It was not meant to be taken as an accusation of stealing. Why would I want to make a "few extra bucks" while getting a customer angry at us? We are in the hospitality industry. This accusation just doesn't make sense. Regarding your room -the electric fireplace and the size of our new Quail Lodge rooms are very clearly described on our website. We aren't trying to make it sound more glamorous than it is or to be deceptive in our advertising and the pictures on our website show exactly how it is. Again, we publicly apologize for any misunderstanding.
Sincerely, Missy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    26
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
57
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Juan de Fuqa Cottages are a fine place from which to explore Olympic National Park. They are located in Sequim which is unusually dry and welcome after 100 pct humidity in the cloudbanks of high ridges and cloud forest of Hoh Valley.

Our room was large and comfortable. We had all the amenities we could use including microwave, and small fridge. The room included a fireplace which was a very nice addition. The bed was very good and we slept well. The room is advertised with a private entrance and private patio. In reality these were simply a pathway around to the back of the building and an entrance from the porch via sliding glass door. The grounds are very nicely done and picturesque when the sun is out. The wireless internet worked great.

There is a modest beach across the residential street. It is a nice place to sit if the wind is not blowing.

There is no manager on site except by appointment or from about 11AM till mid afternoon. So our late night arrival had to be covered by a key left in the room. This worked fine. Guests do need to make advance arrangements. The next morning we checked in with Missy. She was wonderfully helpful with orientation, things to see and do, and places to eat. Her cheerfulness added to our overall positive experience.

Some guests –those who do not appreciate pets --may find a minor inconvenience with the Juan de Fuca’s pet-friendly position. We noticed some lingering pet odor from prior guest our first night [the odor was gone after that]. And when we walked to our car, a dog in a neighboring cottage would bark. Of course, guests with pets looking for accommodations to enjoy will find the pet-friendly policy a real plus.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We arrived late in the day and phoned. We were received and accomodated by the owners with a wonderful welcome and attentiveness. The place is a little piece of heaven. You feel like you are in a world of your own. Breakfast on the beach, the sound of distant waves to send you to sleep. Peace, quiet and privacy and a darling cottage with everything in it that you could want. Would recommend it to anyone who is looking for some time to recoup, rejuvenate or be romantic.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

My fiance and I stayed here and the owners ruined our vacation. Dogs are allowed in the cottage for a $20 per night fee on the stipulation that the dog does not go on the bed, which is fine but what the owners fail to tell you is that the cabins have off-white berber carpet and they fail to clean all of the deer and other dog feces from their yards. Therefore anything that gets tracked into the cabin by you or your dog is going to show. We stayed for two nights. After the first night, the owner left a condescending note complaining about some stains near the door. Hello, isn't that what the pet deposit is for, to clean up afterward? They should not let dogs into their cabins if they are afraid of stains on their nice carpet, especially during the fall/winter months when things are wet and muddy. And how about placing a mat inside, or at least a better outdoor mat, that might help. One owner also accused us of letting the dog on the bed because she saw hair on a sleeping blanket that we brought from home. We have cats, sometimes we can't help it if hair gets on things, sorry! We had brought a blanket especially for the dog and left it on the floor for him to sleep on. I got the feeling that the owners were trying to nickle and dime us into paying them extra. In hindsight, we should have left after that first night and asked for our money back. I was so upset after that note and did not enjoy the rest of my stay.

I also want to complain that there is no staff available when you need them. They say they have 200 movies available yet there is no one around to let us into the office/lobby to see them. Forget asking for anything. I wanted more coffee but had to go to the store to buy some because the owners don't show up until eleven and are gone before people are back from activities. We wanted to talk with them face to face when we were leaving the last morning, but instead we had to call and they argued with us over the phone. Terrible customer service! (Also, the wi-fi claim is a joke, good luck with getting any internet access there) These guys want to run a business without putting in any effort, it doesn't work like that. This might be a nice place for older couples but I don't recommend it for families with children or dogs. If things are not left pristine, they will make your stay hell. The owners simply cannot accept accidents can and do happen. That is the cost of doing business.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuandeFucaCottages, owner at Juan de Fuca Cottages, responded to this review, December 8, 2009
Wow. This is our opportunity to share our side of this story. Thanksgiving weekend was quite wet around the Northwest after a month of wet. We had five other groups of guests staying with us. Several had children and one also had a dog in our other pet friendly cottage. We had no problems with any other guest concerning the internet or with access to videos or coffee. Even with all of those feet and paws, we had no issues with dirty carpets in any other unit. We have been running the cottages for four years now and I have never seen so much mud on a carpet, especially after just one night's stay. It wasn't just by the front door - it was the entire front room. I thought it must have been the puppy but our guests said it was from their shoes from the middle of the night. Several points - we let our guests know right away so they would have an opportunity to fix the problem - and they did make a very nice attempt to clean up. We did not have to call the carpet cleaners and even though it took me an extra 45 min. to scrub by hand, we did not charge anything extra to our guests because I could see that they had made an effort to fix things. No nickel, no dime. Yes, we have a light colored carpet - have for at least six years with only occasional extra cleaning due to accidents. Have considered replacing the carpet with a darker one but concluded I would rather be able to see the dirt and get it clean then to have a darker carpet and not know if there is a stain. Seems fresher and more sanitary even if it is more work on our part. Also, we have a 3' x 5' commercial grade outdoor mat for wiping your feet on made by Consolidated Plastics using coarse nylon fibers and recycled rubber tires, located on the covered front porch of every cottage.
As far as a guest ever needing us or needing anything. We are always available - 24/7. Coffee, towels, extra blankets, travel arrangements, maps - always available for our guests. We even have a phone in our gazebo to call us if it is after hours and we are just minutes away. We are in the hospitality business. We want to please our guests. We are sorry this guest had a bad experience. - Tom and Missy Rief - owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Stayed in unit 6, the front unit in a multi-unit cottage. The great view out the windows was of Dungeness Spit and the Straits of Juan de Fuca beyond. It had a nice porch with a couple of chairs to sit on and watch the ships and birds, including bald eagles, go by. The unit had been extensively updated and was very comfortable. Even though the unit was one of several in the building, it was exceptionally well sound insulated; we rarely were aware of anyone else. The proprietors were extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgable of the things to do and places to eat in the area. We rented a couple of kayaks and headed out to see if we could find some of the baby seals which the proprietor said were born a few days before. We got to the island where the mothers leave the pups, and there were no pups to be seen. The tide was changing, and the mothers were in the water feeding them. The mothers would catch the food, then go nose to nose with the pup and pass them the meal.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Staff friendly, location gorgeous on a clear day with views of water and of Hurricane Ridge. Cottages are funky and style is old, beds aging. Kitchen appliances all new and very nice. Bathroom small but newer and nicely done. There's a shared lanai in the middle full of games and magazines that was pleasant - there are also lots of bbq grills around which is nice until someone right next door uses lots of lighter fluid and the stink fills your cottage. You can walk right down to the water and I believe the site has kayak rentals. Generally, this was a good stay, but the price is pretty steep for what you get. I would not take their advice on restaurants though - they sent us to a snooty yacht club place that catered to the geriatric set that we didn't enjoy, and which was quite expensive. Friends of theirs?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

They rent kayaks!!! We had such a blast paddling into the NWR. The room was beautiful in its simplicity. The grounds were beautiful as well. We enjoyed hanging out in the round glass gazebo in the center of the property overlooking the Spits. The fireplace was already set up for us. All we had to do was strike the match. Can't say enough about this place. What a find!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Juan de Fuca Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juan de Fuca Cottages

Address: 182 Marine Dr, Sequim, WA 98382
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Juan de Fuca Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in sunny Sequim, Washington, the Juan de Fuca Cottages and Suites are perched on a 50’ bluff at the edge of Dungeness Bay with our own private beach. The Juan de Fuca Cottages and Suites offer spectacular views of the Dungeness Spit, the New Dungeness Lighthouse, the Strait of Juan de Fuca, Hurricane Ridge, the Olympic Mountains, and Victoria, B.C., just across the water. We share our beach with the National Wildlife Refuge. All of our cottages have Queen beds, completely equipped full kitchens, whirlpool tubs/shower with skylights, CD player, cable TV, VCR/DVD and over 200 classic movies to entertain you. The suites each enjoy all of the above as well as a fireplace and a two-person whirlpool tub. Wireless Internet access with a view!Three Diamond hotel rating - the highest rated accommodations on the Olympic Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Juan de Fuca Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juan De Fuca Cottages Hotel Sequim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juan de Fuca Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.